Missing Flow?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Wed Jul 10, 2019 12:48 am

I have a single flow of a work that is now about 250 bars long. Starting to map structure for the additional movements, I created 3 additional flows. They show up in Setup, I've named them, all good. But when you click on each of them, nothing happens. Only the original (first) flow appears. Moving to Write mode or any other mode has no effect. The flows do not exist, except in Setup mode, where they are of course completely non functional. I created a new document just to ensure I'm not completely insane and quick created a handful of flows, and it all works normally: they show up, you can navigate between them in Setup and elsewhere. What could be wrong with my original document? This is the cherry on the sundae of a particularly buggy Dorico week.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:45 am

When you select said flows in Setup mode, does anything highlight in the right and left panels? If not, assign layouts and players to them. It sounds like they’re currently unassigned.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 14957
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:48 am

Welcome to the forum, qraig. I'm sorry you're having problems with flows. As Leo suggests, I suspect that the flows either have no players assigned or are not assigned to the layout you're looking at. You may find this video helpful. If you need further help, please attach the project itself, per the advice in this thread.

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:30 pm

Hi Leo and Daniel... yes, when I select each flow all players (4 individual strings) show up (checked) but the flow did not change. Repeated relaunches of Dorico did nothing. However, a random reboot of the system (I'm sure I did it before) seems to have set things right.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:42 pm

A reboot is highly unlikely to be responsible for “fixing” this problem. You said that when you selected the flow, the four instruments highlighted in the left panel. You didn’t mention the right panel. As I said before, the flow (bottom panel) needs to be assigned to both the player(s) (left panel) and the layout(s) (right panel) or the music won’t appear.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:22 pm

OK, I think this should probably go under a new thread, but I'll try here once more. (I watched the video referenced above, it did not address my problem.)

I have a file for string quartet, 1 movement, 1 original flow. I import a flow from another file (2nd movement). Everything is checked. Absolutely everything, both sides, players and layouts. I have also tried importing "merging" players and creating "new" players. (The latter obviously isn't wanted, so we'll ignore that.) Importing these new flows, they appear in the Setup box beneath the score, but clicking on each flow shows ONLY the 1st movement/flow. If I go into individual player layouts, the subsequent flows DO show up as direct run-ons to the previous flow (although this is weird to me, don't know why they wouldn't start on a new page). But returning to Full Score mode, NONE of the other flows appear besides the first.

This really shouldn't be this hard. I'm just trying to figure out if I'm dealing with a bug or my own inability to understand what I need to do to get 3 simple flows merged into a single project.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:26 pm

Is there any chance you’ve fiddled with the Filter at the top of the music frames on the master pages?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4359
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by dankreider » Fri Aug 23, 2019 8:08 pm

pianoleo wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 7:26 pm
Is there any chance you’ve fiddled with the Filter at the top of the music frames on the master pages?
That was my thought as well. It should be MA.
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3, Windows 10
Laptop: Dell Precision 7520, Intel Xeon E3-1545M v5 Processor (Quad Core, 2.90 GHz, 8M Cache), 32 GB RAM
Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 2700, 8 physical cores, NVMe SSD, 32 GB RAM

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:56 pm

No I most certainly have not. It says Default Full Score. I don't know what MA means.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4359
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by dankreider » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:22 pm

Engrave mode, Frames tool. What capital letters are listed at the top of the blue music frame?
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3, Windows 10
Laptop: Dell Precision 7520, Intel Xeon E3-1545M v5 Processor (Quad Core, 2.90 GHz, 8M Cache), 32 GB RAM
Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 2700, 8 physical cores, NVMe SSD, 32 GB RAM

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:02 am

And more importantly, to the right of that, what does it say next to the word “Flows:”?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:16 am

Ah right, I had my head in setup mode, didn't even consider Engrave. Yes, in the (full score) visible flow, it says MA. Then Flow: the name of the 1st movement flow. (A reminder: this is the only visible flow in full score mode, the other 2 are invisible.)

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:23 am

That’s what I’m saying. It sounds like you’ve filtered Flow 1. Are the other flows available to you if you expand that filter? (And Dan and I are both talking about the master pages, available from the right panel of Engrave mode, not the individual pages of the score.)
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4359
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by dankreider » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:27 am

We’re sorta shooting in the dark. Can you attach the project here, please? You need to zip it up first.
Dan Kreider

Orchestration, transcription, engraving
Dorico training for individuals and teams
www.dankreider.com
---
Dorico 3, Windows 10
Laptop: Dell Precision 7520, Intel Xeon E3-1545M v5 Processor (Quad Core, 2.90 GHz, 8M Cache), 32 GB RAM
Desktop: AMD Ryzen 7 2700, 8 physical cores, NVMe SSD, 32 GB RAM

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:34 am

The other thing, rereading your recent post, is:
What happens if you select your second flow from the Flows (bottom) panel of Setup mode? Again, you need the Full score layout ticked in the right panel (along with each of the four part layouts).
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:39 am

Yes, I hoped I'd made that clear earlier… if I select the 2nd or 3rd flows (and everything in both panels doesn't change, all checked), nothing happens. The full score viewport doesn't change at all. Nothing. That is what is so confusing to me.

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:41 am

Shall I upload the file? Not sure I see how to do that...

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:43 am

As Dan said, you zip it and then you add it to your next post as an attachment. You’ll need the “Full Editor & Preview” button, and then “Attachments” is beneath the “Topic review” section.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:50 am

Blast. At 2.5mb apparently it's too large, zipped. Good grief.

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:51 am

Hold on, maybe if I remove the cover page it will be small enough...

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:51 am

Save the project under a different name, then go into Play mode. Then go to the Play menu, select Playback Template, select Silence and hit OK. Then re-save, compress and upload - it will likely have significantly shrunk!
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Derrek
Senior Member
Posts: 2874
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by Derrek » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:52 am

Go to play and change the Playback Template to Silent and see if that makes the file small enough (in its zipped form) to send.
You can do this to a copy of the file if you have a playback configuration that would be hard to reset.

[You are too fast for me, Leo!]
Dorico 3.0.10, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Mojave as alternate)
US English Keyboard

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:59 am

Removing the cover page took the size to 1.2mb. Using the Silence template did nothing to the file size. Let's see if it goes through!

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6387
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by pianoleo » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:08 am

As I suggested, your Master Pages are set to filter only the first flow. Untick the box for Flow 1, the filter will reset to "All" and those flows will appear in the score.

Image

Off the top of my head I can't imagine how you did this by accident, but judging from the number of individual pages that have overrides (44 out of 47) you've definitely been fiddling ;)
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

qraig
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing Flow?

Post by qraig » Sat Aug 24, 2019 1:13 am

I fiddled with frame breaks, that's for sure. But perhaps I misunderstood you before. Thanks for your heroic efforts on my devil file.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daniel at Steinberg, David Tee, dazzjazz, MarcLarcher and 6 guests