Tutorials For People Coming From Another Host

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
wrbones

Tutorials For People Coming From Another Host

Post by wrbones »

Hi, I just bought Cubase Pro 10 to replace Synapse Audio's Orion, which was discontinued several years ago and is struggling to keep up today. I have been using it for around 20 years, after 16 or 17 years of working with hardware before that. The problem for me is that Cubase is so completely different to Orion that I can't really get started and all the video tutorials I can find on YouTube are aimed at beginners. I really don't have time to be sitting through explanations of what ASIO or MIDI are, I need a quick, concise guide as to where everything is and how to use it. e.g. I cannot for the life of me work out a simple way to restart playback from the first bar. Also, the piano roll seems incredibly basic and I can't see how to do simple things I take for granted in Orion, like adding notes with my mouse that are the same length as the last note (which is what you'd want 95% of the time, isn't it?) or a simple way to cut notes in half. Even deleting notes seems a chore. I assume these features are there, I just need to know how to get at them.

So I am wondering if there are any good videos/tutorials that assume you know everything about music production but nothing about Cubase? Something that can get me up and running in 10 or 15 minutes, preferably, and that doesn't cost me anything (but my time). I would have thought Cubase would ship with a few sample projects but it doesn't seem to, unless they are well hidden.
NOVAkILL 4.0 : Dell G7 (Core i7, 8GB RAM, Win10) . Cubase Pro 10 . Steinberg UR44C . Roli Seaboard Block+Lightpad Block M . KeyStep
SOFT: DUNE . Hive . Thorn . TRK-01 . Aparillo . ArcSyn . Battery . Substance . Equator . Factory . Cyclop . RePro 1/5 . Synthmaster One