How to transpose

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

Hello, I searched but I didn't find how to transpose the instruments.

The clarinet should be written a second major above and have two sharp in the armor.

The bass clarinet should be written a ninth above and have two sharp in armor.

The double bass sounds two octaves below the cello when it should sound one octave below.

And so on...

Image
(Images are not taken at the same place on the score)

Thank you for your help.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5745
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by dankreider »

Is this an XML import? If so, you may need to manually reassign the instruments to each staff to make the transpositions show. They should display automatically if you’re in transposed score.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

I imported an xml file where I copied, pasted each instrument into my template.


I just noticed that even if I open a new project or template created by Dorico, the Clarinet and other transposing instruments are written in C and have no alteration on their armors without a key in C major for example.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5745
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by dankreider »

Are you sure you’re viewing in Transposed Pitch? Sounds like you’re in Concert Pitch. Check the Edit menu.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

Indeed it was that....

Thank you for your help.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

So I can't find a way to fix the problem for the counter bass.

It sounds an octave too low, I know that on sibelius it was possible to solve this problem by editing the instrument.

Being new to Dorico I don't know how to proceed.

ChuckDimeCliff
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:44 pm
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by ChuckDimeCliff »

Contrabass should be written an octave higher than sounding in both transposed and concert scores. To do so otherwise is wrong.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

As I said earlier, my double bass sounds 2 octaves too low.

In this image it sounds an octave lower than the cello when it should sound in unison.
Image

In this image it sounds 2 octaves too low when it should sound one octave lower than the cello.
Image

The problem comes from my VST but on Sibelius there was a way to get around the problem by editing the instrument once and for all. I would write any note and the range was always the right one.

I'm looking for the same thing on Dorico.

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4138
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear Ibadez38,
You should be able to solve the problem in the vsti itself (look for an octave or pitch change. By the way, which vsti are you using?)
A little bit out of topic, if you're a french speaking user, I created a group on Facebook (groupe des utilisateurs francophones de Dorico), it might be easier to help you there 😉
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

Thank you for your answer.

I use Cinematic Studio String and it has no settings to adjust the pitch.
Maybe by tinkering directly with kontakt this may be possible but I prefer to avoid it because I don't know kontakt well enough.

The function was present on Sibelius, so I ask if it is also present on Dorico.

----------------------------------------------------

Merci pour votre réponse.

J'utilise Cinematic Studio String et il ni a pas de réglages pour régler la hauteur.
Peut être qu'en bidouillant directement kontakt cela peut être possible mais je préfère éviter car je ne connais pas assez kontakt.

La fonction était présente sur Sibelius, c'est pourquoi je demande si elle est présente aussi sur Dorico. Si elle ni est pas pour le moment peut être le sera t-elle dans de futur maj.

Merci beaucoup pour l'information Facebook. Je m'y suis inscrit.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8121
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by pianoleo »

It’s not present within Dorico itself - you’re expected to fix it yourself from within the VST.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18510
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

To solve the double bass sounding an octave lower than it should, set up your expression map to transpose the notes up by an octave.

Ibadez38
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Ibadez38 »

Thank you, but it was obvious. :oops:

User avatar
Jazzisfaction
Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Jazzisfaction »

I don't understand.
My Full Score in concert-pitch shows the bass-clarinet written 1 octave lower - actually it shows the sound which is heard:
Bildschirmfoto 2020-06-29 um 12.19.13.png
(42.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
In my bass-clarinet single part score it is showed correctly - it SOUNDS 1 octave lower than written, but it should be written 1 octave higher in my full score, too....but it isn't.
Bildschirmfoto 2020-06-29 um 12.19.30.png
(14.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
That's how Dorico does it with the double-bass and contra-bassoon. Both in full score AND part score it is written 1 octave higher than it sounds.
But with the bass-clarinet Dorico makes a difference between Full Score and Part Score. Why?
Nothing indicates that in the HSO BassClarinet Expression Map:
Bildschirmfoto 2020-06-29 um 12.19.58.png
(148.74 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Shortly:
I get a different handling of transposing instruments
Double Bass + Contra - Bassoon: In Full Score and Part Score: Notes are written 1 octave higher than they sound
Bass Clarinet: In Full Score it is written like it sounds, in Part Score it is written 1 octave higher
Peer Baierlein
Mac Pro 2009, 2 x 2,93 Ghz Quad Core, 32 GB Ram, OS X 10.13.6

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18510
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

There are different versions of the bass clarinet instrument with different approaches to handling its octave transposition. Try using the Change Instrument feature in Setup mode to choose an alternative one.

User avatar
Jazzisfaction
Member
Posts: 524
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Jazzisfaction »

cool :-)
Thanx Daniel
Peer Baierlein
Mac Pro 2009, 2 x 2,93 Ghz Quad Core, 32 GB Ram, OS X 10.13.6

Dimitris108
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: How to transpose

Post by Dimitris108 »

In general we need to transpose VST.
For instance I want to use superior drummer and that particular plugin does not have a transposition function and truly I don't what to do.
Also EZBass I can not use it.
Please let us have the capability to transpose on the play mode at least.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kenny Choy, mducharme, Rob Tuley and 7 guests