HSO Sound Instruments Set in Halion 6

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
claudiotomasoni
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:35 pm
Contact:

HSO Sound Instruments Set in Halion 6

Post by claudiotomasoni » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:41 am

Hi all.
I have made a clean install on a new hard drive of apps and instruments, Halion 6 and HSO among other stuff.
HSO instruments are not available in Halion 6 (nor they are in SE or LE):
- when I open Halion 6, I switch from Category to Plugin Name in the Media Bay,
- for a small time I can see that HSO is listed,
- when the list is populated HSO suddenly disappears from the list (Halion 6 does not find any instruments and hides the plugin name);
- if I go to Browser, I can see HSO,
- but when I explore the Program folder, all the sounds have a no-entry symbol;
- in the Library Manager HSO is properly installed and registered.
Can anyone please help?

Not actually sure whether it's an HSO or a Halion 6 issue, but I think it's more related to Halion.

Thanks in advance!
Claudio

claudiotomasoni
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2012 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HSO Sound Instruments Set in Halion 6

Post by claudiotomasoni » Sun Mar 03, 2019 6:59 pm

Hi all, I'd like to share the solution: the issue was related to the filesystem type.
When I reinstalled MacOS on a brand new drive, I chose case-sensitive APFS (but it could have been case-sensitive HFS+ as well). The default choice is actually a case-insensitive file system.

Switching back to a case-insensitive APFS solved the issue, but it's a quite tricky operation.
- First you have to find conflicts in file names: you can use the python tools from here https://github.com/cr/MacCaseSensitiveConversion; chances are that you have to copy-paste the content, make the file executable with a "chmod a+x casecheck.py", and correct the "python2" first string to "python".
- Naming conflicts can't be automatically solved; manual intervention is required, so hope not to find too many conflicts and, in case, consider reinstalling MacOS from scratch.
- Then backup your disk with Carbon Copy Cloner to a case-insensitive APFS or HFS+ partition on an external drive; do not use Time Machine, or it will bring back the case-sensitive APFS.
- Reboot your Mac in the external back-up disk (either setting the startup disk from the Preferences, or by pressing the option key at the startup).
- Use Disk Utility to format the Mac internal drive as case-insensitive APFS or HFS+, do not encrypt the filesystem or FileVault won't work anymore.
- Restore the backup with Carbon Copy Cloner, and when everything's done, change the startup disk back to the internal drive.
- Reboot MacOS and restore FileVault (if you were using it before).

Hope it will help anyone with the same issue.
Thanks and Best Regards.
Claudio

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests