How to move Locators LR together?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

How to move Locators LR together?

Post by McSound » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:34 am

Hi guys. Sorry if the question was asked before. How can I move locators to cursor not changing the length of locators so that L be right on cursor? Simple thing but I'm stuck. I mean shortcut of course, not by mouse)
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

foobeats
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by foobeats » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:35 am

I'd simply look at the TC of the cursor and write it exacly the same in the infoline under range start. Dunnó if there's a shortcut for this....

Oswald Schwander
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: Switzerland, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by Oswald Schwander » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:06 pm

I think locators are just not meant to do that. You can do a workaround that can be packed into a macro. Like: on empty track make Part between Locators. Slip that Part to curser. Set Locators to start and end of Part.

Oswald
N8 on OSX 10.12 - Fireface 400 - BM mini monitor - Artist Control - Arturia Keylab
http://www.schwander-sounddesign.de

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by McSound » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:01 am

Thank you, guys! Oswald, great idea but there's another problem: I can't find command to make part between locators and I don't think it exists. The main task was to do everything automatically by shortcut (command, macros, PLE preset). Maybe you know how to solve it?
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

ErikG
Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by ErikG » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:21 am

I do think it is perfectly possible.
I suggest to use a cycle marker.
Perhaps Name in a special way so you can create a PLE to select it. Or create and delete it every time.
You can even create elaborate multi stage store/restore/reset functionality using PLEs and macros. But it is a bit of work.

Something like this, you probably have to use a external macro engine as Nuendo has a limit of two PLEs in a macro.

Create cycle marker
Select cycle marker marching cycle
Move/nudge (decide by how much) or cut the selected marker
Paste at cursor
Locators to selection
Delete marker matching cycle

I just made it up in my head so. Some commands are named differently and some steps will have to be added or moved in sequence to do what you want. But you need to figure out what you want the program to do.
So yes I think it can be done.
Is it worth it for you to spend the time to do that instead of learning to live with the regular functionality of the program? Probably not :-)
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

ErikG
Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by ErikG » Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:27 am

It all depends on what you want to achieve.
Is it in a musical context or not?

Do you want them to be four bars in length and adjust it 1-2-3 bars earlier or later?

Do you want it to help dealing with sound asset handling for a game?

Many different needs. Many different ways.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by McSound » Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:20 am

Hi ErikG! Thanks for spending your time for giving me fresh ideas! I thought about cycle marker, but ran into trouble on making it with special name automatically with no popup window.
If you're interested what it's all about I can tell that I
work in post production (so my grid is set on frames) and now I'm making a template in lemur environment for copy-paste-delete automation of selected events and tracks by selecting of what particular automation tracks I want to copy-delete, for example I want to copy or delete only volume and pan of some events that have volume, pan, eq and sends automation. Of course I can do it manually, but if the amount of the events is pretty big and on different tracks it seems to be very tedious work for my laziness)
Now I can copy-paste numerous events with automation only I selected by three taps on ipad. But it's not so easy with tracks.
The question of this topic is specific part of pasting all copied automation data and deleting unwanted automation on THE SAME REGION as copied one. The only way I found is coping all automation and deleting unwanted then, selecting one by one in PLE is impossible, and making all of presets that contains all variations and combinations of desired automation tracks will take my whole life. I'm not sure if it makes sense to you cause I explain badly.
But you bump me and I'll try some more, thanks !
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Oswald Schwander
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: Switzerland, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by Oswald Schwander » Wed Feb 13, 2019 12:21 pm

I can't find command to make part between locators and I don't think it exists. The main task was to do everything automatically by shortcut (command, macros, PLE preset). Maybe you know how to solve it?
You could start with having a Part long enough for all cases in the copy buffer.
Go to Left Locator - Past - Go to Right Locator - Cut end .........

Oswald
N8 on OSX 10.12 - Fireface 400 - BM mini monitor - Artist Control - Arturia Keylab
http://www.schwander-sounddesign.de

ErikG
Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by ErikG » Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:35 pm

As a Fellow post user I can’t understand what or why you are trying to do.
If you try again an maybe decide it up into different parts explaining why an what you are trying to achieve I may be able to help you in some way.
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by McSound » Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:19 am

Sorry for my English ErikG, I'm confused ( I just can't explain it by other words. Never mind, I've got some good ideas from all of you guys, thanks a lot! You've helped me to go on.
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

User avatar
Neil K
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Lexington, KY
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by Neil K » Wed Feb 20, 2019 3:40 pm

I second making a cycle marker. Just move the marker to the new spot and use the command "P" or "Locators to Selection." You could create a second marker track and just have this cycle marker on it to keep things organized.
Neil Kesterson
Dynamix Productions
Lexington, KY

http://www.dxaudio.com

Nuendo 7.x
Mac Pro Late 2013 Trashcan (3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5; 16GB 18663MHz DDR3 ECC memory)
Glyph GT062E 2Tb RAID (USB3) + many other hard drives
Yamaha n12; Steinberg MR816X
Endless pot of coffee

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: How to move Locators LR together?

Post by McSound » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:15 am

Thanks Neil K!
I've come to the same, a cycle marker is the most obvious solution! A second separate marker track! Great)
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest