How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

All topics on HALion 4, HALion 5 and Steinberg's VST workstations HALion Sonic 1 and HALion Sonic 2
User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:17 pm

How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Sorry I can't figure it out!

Usually, as long as you are playing legato (always having a note pressed in the keyboard), the first played sample should be transposed to the new frequency (even if you transpose it 3 octaves and sounds really awful). However, Halion 4 starts a new sample when you enter its zone. Is there any way to avoid this behavior?
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Thu Nov 24, 2011 8:54 pm

Bump!
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

novaburst
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by novaburst » Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:11 am

As long as you have solo/musical mode on with legato should not retrigger
Windows 7 cubase 5 , Halion 4, and some other stuff

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Cantankerous » Fri Nov 25, 2011 5:13 am

novaburst wrote:As long as you have solo/musical mode on with legato should not retrigger
Found in the Audiowarp tab, this is correct.
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:47 am

Sorry, that doesn't work either. As I said, as soon as you enter a new key zone the new sample is triggered from start, no matter if you are in legato mode or using Audiowarp.

You can not have a monophonic legato glide between different key zones. This should be selectable by the user!

Attachment included. Notice how the new sample is triggered when a new key zone is entered.

[The extension mp3 has been deactivated and can no longer be displayed.]

Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

novaburst
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by novaburst » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:08 am

dorremifasol wrote:Sorry, that doesn't work either. As I said, as soon as you enter a new key zone the new sample is triggered from start, no matter if you are in legato mode or using Audiowarp.

You can not have a monophonic legato glide between different key zones. This should be selectable by the user!

Attachment included. Notice how the new sample is triggered when a new key zone is entered.
halion 4 test.mp3

the only time my sample starts again is when it has ended, but say I wanted to load a ten minute sample i could play legato up and down the keyboard with out retriggering, untill the ten minutes is over,

im sorry if im on the wrong track here, but just dont get retriggering in legato


maybe some one with more exp......
Windows 7 cubase 5 , Halion 4, and some other stuff

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Sat Nov 26, 2011 3:11 am

Well if you have olny ONE sample, then there is no new zone to trigger.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

beerbong
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by beerbong » Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:45 am

i would like to know this too. Kontakt has a feature to mono-mode. I also haven't seen it yet. I would have thought it would be a midi-module but not sure yet either.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

novaburst
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by novaburst » Sat Nov 26, 2011 2:44 pm

dorremifasol wrote:Well if you have olny ONE sample, then there is no new zone to trigger.

you are talking about multible samples being played together on different zones of your keyboard, and when you go to your new zone the sample starts a fresh, or retrigger.

never used samples in this way I always use one at a time , but doing it with different zones would be great when you are playing live.

sorry for misquote
Windows 7 cubase 5 , Halion 4, and some other stuff

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:08 pm

I'm talking about monophonic sounds. For example you sample a minimoog, on different keys, then you try to press one key and make a solo with legato and glide for example.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:27 pm

Bump!

All my synths can do this except any Yamaha Motif synth and any Halion version. Bad influences? :mrgreen:

Please.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Cantankerous » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:11 pm

Aren't the Halion 4/Sonic presets based on the Yamaha Motif :o

strange coincidence?
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:27 pm

Steinberg was bought by Yamaha some time ago, but I wouldn't expect anything bad of this, all the contrary (except for the sample retriggering thing :O) ).
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Marcus » Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:59 pm

Hi @ all,

sure our fantastic HALion 4 has this feature.
You will find this feature you are looking for in the Programm Voice management.
You can activate or deactivate the "retrigger" mode.
I have attached a screenshot with further information.

Greetz

Marcus
H4-Poly-Mono.png
(230.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:30 pm

Hello Marcus.

Yes I know HALion is capable of mono-legato playing, but it doesn't work between sample zones. Please hear my attached file above. It clearly shows how you can play a mono-legato sound with glide, but as soon as you enter a new sample zone the new sample is triggered from the start, instead of transposing the old sample which is what it should do.

This means that, If you have for example a very detailed Moog patch with samples on every key, you will never be able to achieve mono-legato glide sounds, because the new samples will be triggered always, breaking the legato sound.

As long as you are playing legato, there should not be new sample trigger (even if you cross sample zones), only transpositions of the first sample played.

I've been waiting for this since I Bought HALion 3 many years ago :(

Cheers
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Marcus » Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:46 pm

Hi again,

you will only have to ensure, that every Sample/Zone has Glide activated as well.
It works definitively!

I have attached a picture as well.
H4-Poly-Mono-Glide.png
(232.73 KiB) Not downloaded yet
P.S.: don't forget to activate "Legato"- Mode for all Samples as well!
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:39 pm

Thanks for the reply, Marcus.

Glide works fine, but no matter what I do, the samples are still triggered from the start when I cross sample zones using legato. Maybe I'm not using the right words to explain it, sorry. I mentioned legato only because it makes the problem more apparent. Just try playing legato between 2 adjacent sample zones, and not.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Marcus
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Marcus » Mon Dec 05, 2011 5:15 pm

Hi,

I don't think I misunderstood you (hopefully). I am using this feature very often, because its very useful
for Vocals in electronic music ;-)
Additional settings to my previous posting:

- You need to use the correct playback mode as well in this case: one shot
- You need to setup the Audio Warp in Solo- Mode and activate Legato
- In Voice Management you will have to choose Legato as well/ Mono and Retrigger should be activated as well.

After you released the other key it will switchback to the first sample AND NOT start from the beginning, it will just go on with the further playback.
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Mon Dec 05, 2011 9:59 pm

Hi again,

Sorry Marcus but I'm still unable to avoid sample retriggering in legato mode when crossing sample zones, not even with Audiowarp.

I have attached a vstpreset containing a sound from my Slim Phatty. Try playing it legato, you'll eventually notice what I'm talking about (I hope so!) because the attack part of the sound is long enough to notice. I would be more than happy if someone could bring this vstpreset back with legato working as I'm trying to. In any case, I hope you enjoy the preset. :)

Sorry to be so fussy about this matter, but I really love Halion 4 and I think these details are important for the "ultimate sampler". :D

By the way, creating loops with the internal sample editor is a dream! I wish Wavelab was so good at this, but it's not as immediate or easy. 10 points for this!

Cheers

EDIT: seems that I'm not able to attach the file, so I've put it here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?t5zj8vkhpfqt6mc
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by Cantankerous » Mon Dec 19, 2011 2:00 pm

so has this been sorted then, or just left hanging?
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Wed Dec 28, 2011 5:07 pm

Bump, and happy new year! ^_^
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

DanielAyo
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by DanielAyo » Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:32 pm

Have you found a solution yet dorremifasol?

Regards,

Daniel

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:05 pm

I'm afraid I haven't. :( There is no way of doing it in Halion as it works now.

I think it shouldn't be hard to implement, just keep using the last triggered sample zone if legato+fingered status is active, instead of triggering the new zone. Omnisphere for example works this way, and does absolutely wonderful sounding legato glides with sample based sounds. But since it doesn't allow loading your own samples I bought Halion...

I hope it will possible at some point in a future release. I really want to keep using Halion, it's a fantastic piece of software! (not to mention the money I put on it)
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Mon Mar 19, 2012 1:27 pm

Please? ;)
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
Posts: 456
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: How to avoid sample retriggering in mono-legato mode?

Post by dorremifasol » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:02 am

Sorry to be annoying about this matter. Yesterday I tried Kontakt, and of course it can do legato between sample zones without retriggering them (script editor->Preset->Factory->Performance->Unisono - Portamento, then setting Mono Mode to Legato).

It's been many months since I started this thread and still I don't know if that feature (if it can be considered like that, because it's so basic IMHO) will be available at some time or not. The last thing I want to do is to buy another sampler for such a simple feature, especially when Halion 4 excels by far in all the other things.

Please! ;)
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 9, Halion 6, Wavelab 9.5 RME Fireface 802

Post Reply

Return to “Halion 5 | Halion 4 | Halion Sonic | Halion Sonic 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests