Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:27 pm

I updated to the new Cubase 6.0.4.

On this update, whenever I launch Cubase, the VST meter stays constantly spiked in the red.

I tried all the obvious quick fixes to no avail - reset my audio device (in devices menu), removed all plugs, trashed all preferences, removed external audio devices.

I wondering if anyone knows a fix for this, or if this is just a bad update and I need to roll back to Cubase 6.0.2?

Thanks -

Nathan
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by Grim » Sat Oct 22, 2011 7:50 pm

Presumably you mean when opening an existing project & not in new empty projects?

I have had some issues with CPU overloading during updates of both Cubase & most recently with Slate VCC.

Usually turns out that the update sets off some other plug (possibly just a single instance) & once tracked down removing that one plug takes me back to normal use & adding it back in again just gives me the expected small increase.

Try hiding your plugin folder (by renaming) & see what happens.
EDIT...sorry I see you did say you removed all plugs.... Did you definitely remove rather than switching off?
I'd try renaming the folder anyhow to double check.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:41 pm

Yep. I removed everything - plugs, preferences.

This happens immediately after I launch Cubase. Before any projects are loaded, with empty projects and with existing projects. All of them always at 100% in the red.

Any one else see this before or know of a fix?

This is a serious show stopper. I'm thinking this is a bad update.

I may have to roll back to 6.0.2 so I can get my work done today.
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3324
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by jaslan » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:49 pm

I saw that you reset your audio device but, just to be sure, since it was not specifically mentioned, did you check the ASIO buffer setting? Make sure the update didn't set it to an extremely low latency?
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:40 pm

Yes. The buffer is at 1024.
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

Kai Stahlenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by Kai Stahlenberg » Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:35 pm

Could you try renaming "Steinberg/Cubase 6/Components/videoengine.dll" to ".../videoengine.dll_old" -before running cubase obviously-
Please let me know if this makes any difference.
Asus Prime Z370-A, Intel i7-8700K, 16GB Ram, SSL MX4, Win10 Pro 1903, C10 64Bit, Wavelab, UAD Quad, Waves Mercury + SSL + AR, FabFilter, Altiverb, SSL Duende native...

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by mkok » Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:51 pm

There is a setting that makes your CPU run at 100% to stop it going to sleep. I'm not in front of my computer and can't remember where it is. Try a search. I'm sure I saw it on here in the past
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:24 pm

Thanks for the ideas, guys.

As per my signature, I'm on a Mac. No .dll files to change.

Also, my computer is also set to never sleep.

I'm doing an uninstall 6.0.4 and reinstall of a previous version today. For me, the 6.0.4 update completely messed things up and seems to be unfixable.

Thankfully, I'm smart enough to keep a backup system partition running so that work is not stalled....
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by jose7822 » Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:38 am

I was having random crashes with Cubase 6.04 (didn't bother figuring out what it was), so I went back to 6.03. Things are MUCH better here!
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by NYC Composer » Wed Oct 26, 2011 7:04 pm

Hi Nathan-ltns. I hope you are doing well.

I've read enough stuff about 6.04 to keep me on 6.02, so I think your rollback is the right thing to do.
(Btw, haven't really seen much that looks hinky on 6.03, but since 6.02 is working wonderfully for me, I'm just staying put for a bit.)
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

C5.5 and 6.02, Mac Pro 2.8 dual quad core Harpertown with 18 Gig RAM, 4 internal SATA drives,10.6.8, UAD 1-e, plug-ins and VSTis up the wazoo, MacBook Core 2 Duo 2.4, 2 gig RAM, 10.6.7, Mac Mini slave for VE PRO, 2012 2.6 Quad, 16 gig RAM, two external SSDs, 10.85

btrox
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by btrox » Wed Oct 26, 2011 8:59 pm

NYC Composer wrote:Hi Nathan-ltns. I hope you are doing well.

I've read enough stuff about 6.04 to keep me on 6.02, so I think your rollback is the right thing to do.
(Btw, haven't really seen much that looks hinky on 6.03, but since 6.02 is working wonderfully for me, I'm just staying put for a bit.)

Yes, same here. 6.02 is rock solid and while some are ok with 6.04, others are having issues. More here:

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 19&t=13844
Cubase 9.5.21
MacPro- 2.8 Quad Core Intel Xeon
22 Gig Ram
OSX 10.11.6

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by ffg » Wed Oct 26, 2011 10:07 pm

C6.04 working pretty well all day here on 2008 8-core mac. Running 10.6 though - Nathan is there any reason why you still run 10.5? Not saying that's the reason but 10.6 has MUCH better performance for me - something like 2 extra buffer steps and no cpu glitches unless I'm really caning it.
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.3
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800

PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Fri Oct 28, 2011 6:12 pm

NYC Composer wrote:Hi Nathan-ltns. I hope you are doing well.

I've read enough stuff about 6.04 to keep me on 6.02, so I think your rollback is the right thing to do.
(Btw, haven't really seen much that looks hinky on 6.03, but since 6.02 is working wonderfully for me, I'm just staying put for a bit.)
Hey Larry -

Yeah, I haven't been around the new forums much. Life's been busy. Looks like quite a few of the 'old crew' from the old forum(s) are no longer here as well. Too bad.

I did the roll back (and some generic Mac maintenance) and everything has been running great again. Cubase 6.0.4 is not a good update. I'd stay put until the next one.
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

PookyNR
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by PookyNR » Fri Oct 28, 2011 6:17 pm

ffg wrote:C6.04 working pretty well all day here on 2008 8-core mac. Running 10.6 though - Nathan is there any reason why you still run 10.5? Not saying that's the reason but 10.6 has MUCH better performance for me - something like 2 extra buffer steps and no cpu glitches unless I'm really caning it.
I'm still on 10.5.8 because it's been rock solid for me. If it ain't broke, I'm not fixin' it. :) So, I guess the answer is that I'm lazy. :)

I have 10.7.x on another partition and once I'm satisfied that it's good for prime time, I'll use that.
Nathan
Mac OS
Cubase user since VST and every version since...

kihikihi
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.0.4 update CPU problem

Post by kihikihi » Sun Dec 18, 2011 11:46 am

Sorry to hijack this thread but if I may ask, how do you rollback a version on a mac? It's something I've not had to look into until now so have no idea how to do it.

Thanks!
Cubase 7.05
OS 10.8.4
2.8 gHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
16 GB Ram
Metric Halo ULN2 2d expanded

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests