Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
mister2b
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:09 am
Contact:

Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by mister2b » Wed Oct 19, 2011 4:47 pm

Hi Guys,

I recently purchased Elements 6 and I'm having difficulty with something.

Having read and watched several tutorials, I'm still finding problems in what I'm trying to do.

I routed one audio channel to a group channel by selecting it in the output bus and now I want to record from the group channel to another audio channel. In the new audio channel I try to change the input bus to the group channel; but, the only option I have is either 'no bus' or 'stereo in'.

Is this a limitation in Elements 6 or am I completely missing something?

Many thanks.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:12 pm

mister2b wrote:Hi Guys,

I recently purchased Elements 6 and I'm having difficulty with something.

Having read and watched several tutorials, I'm still finding problems in what I'm trying to do.

I routed one audio channel to a group channel by selecting it in the output bus and now I want to record from the group channel to another audio channel. In the new audio channel I try to change the input bus to the group channel; but, the only option I have is either 'no bus' or 'stereo in'.

Is this a limitation in Elements 6 or am I completely missing something?

Many thanks.
It is a limitation of Elements 6
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

mister2b
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:09 am
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by mister2b » Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:29 pm

Ah that explains it.

I'm trying to create a reverse reverb, so I guess I'll have to export the audio after I've reversed it, re-import and then apply the reverb, export again and then finally re-import and reverse the sample back... Or is there a better way of doing it?

Thanks

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by thinkingcap » Wed Oct 19, 2011 6:33 pm

mister2b wrote:Ah that explains it.

I'm trying to create a reverse reverb, so I guess I'll have to export the audio after I've reversed it, re-import and then apply the reverb, export again and then finally re-import and reverse the sample back... Or is there a better way of doing it?

Thanks
Might depend on your soundcard. some have routing capabilities, that can do some kind of "internal recording".
Reversing audio should be possible without ex- and re-importing even in CE 6.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

hazybrain
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by hazybrain » Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:33 am

One possible way : Copy the audio track you want reverse reverb on to another track, and take a note of the start point. Solo the track if you like and put a reverb plug on it set to half wet half dry and adjust the verb to taste, then make sure it is 100% wet. Solo the track and export making sure the box is ticked for it to be re-imported to an audio track. Now reverse that and make sure it begins at your noted start point.

Have fun, delays are a lot of fun too !

Hazy

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1296
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by matjones » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:12 am

hazybrain wrote:One possible way : Copy the audio track you want reverse reverb on to another track, and take a note of the start point. Solo the track if you like and put a reverb plug on it set to half wet half dry and adjust the verb to taste, then make sure it is 100% wet. Solo the track and export making sure the box is ticked for it to be re-imported to an audio track. Now reverse that and make sure it begins at your noted start point.

Have fun, delays are a lot of fun too !

Hazy


EXACTLY the way i've always done it... bit like the old days of tape when you had to physically flip the reel over... might take a few goes to get it right the first time but it's pretty easy to do... can sound great in the right place :D
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by Split » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:13 am

hazybrain wrote:One possible way : Copy the audio track you want reverse reverb on to another track, and take a note of the start point. Solo the track if you like and put a reverb plug on it set to half wet half dry and adjust the verb to taste, then make sure it is 100% wet. Solo the track and export making sure the box is ticked for it to be re-imported to an audio track. Now reverse that and make sure it begins at your noted start point.

Have fun, delays are a lot of fun too !

Hazy
That will not produce the classic reverse reverb!

mister2b already explained the correct way. (almost :lol: )

Ok I'll elaborate :P

Take part and reverse, slap on reverb 100% wet, Export and Import, reverse the result and align the end point to the original un-reversed part.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

hazybrain
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by hazybrain » Thu Oct 20, 2011 9:55 pm

That's exactly what I said Split, you're version is just more concise !

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by Split » Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:34 pm

hazybrain wrote:That's exactly what I said Split, you're version is just more concise !
Sorry, I know you know how to do it but when I read what you wrote it doesn't work. so it's not exactly the same.

No reversing of the original file before applying reverb, also aligning the result to the start point rather than the end point after reversing the imported reverb!

Anyway I apologise for being uber pedantic (again) :lol:
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

hazybrain
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by hazybrain » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:09 pm

Apologies Split, you're damned right ! I did forget to reverse the original file in the procedure I suggested, I submit. Also the aligning thing I got backwards too; I hold my hands up !

Hazy

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by Split » Thu Oct 20, 2011 11:11 pm

hazybrain wrote:Apologies Split, you're damned right ! I did forget to reverse the original file in the procedure I suggested, I submit. Also the aligning thing I got backwards too; I hold my hands up !

Hazy
Don't worry, I'm going for therapy soon...
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

mister2b
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2011 10:09 am
Contact:

Re: Routing group channels to input bus of an audio channel

Post by mister2b » Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:43 pm

Thanks for all your help guys. Works a charm :D

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests