Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:41 pm

The CPU is at about 20%, Buffer is at 1024.
Audio Card: Presonus StudioLive16.4.2
WIn7 64bit, 8GB ram. HD 2TB, QuadCore i7-920 CPU.
no extra unneeded programs running in the background, Only Cubase and Plug-Ins (3x Kontakt 4s, Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, EWQLSO, Trillian) inside of it.

What is going on?
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:58 pm

I have replaced harddrives because i thought they are bad,
scanned for viruses, trojans etc,
HardDrives aren't fragmented
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by beatpete » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:07 pm

Maybe a clock issue?
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 9.5.10 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 7 64bit, I5 3450,16 gb ram, VEPro.

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:17 pm

Maybe. but I only have Presonus StudioLive and midi controller hooked up to the computer, nothing else.
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by el-russo » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:20 pm

Does the crackling occur when you just play some music through a media player (with Cubase shut)?
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:24 pm

No, only in cubase.
and sorry I didn't mention this but it isn't constant crackling but occasional sometimes every 5 seconds few crackles or every half a second than no crackling at all for about 15 seconds than again.
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Grim » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:44 pm

Are you running 64 bit Cubase?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:45 pm

Grim wrote:Are you running 64 bit Cubase?
32bit. 64bit plugins thru jbridge
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
thermionic
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by thermionic » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:42 am

Core parking? Sorry to post a Cakewalk thread but it's a DAW-wide issue;

http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.aspx?high= ... =1#1852473

I hope this helps :ugeek:

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:19 am

hd softwares (hd tune pro etc) don't show any harddrive errors.

I've also disabled core parking.

Enabled "perfromance mode" in jbridged plugins.

But the crackling/popping still occurs.
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

halljack
Member
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by halljack » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:42 am

Check out "Crackling" at the old Cubase.net web site

http://www.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic. ... c5148f0750

Hope this helps

Jack :D

Ps: Buffer size or Latency maybe the problem ;)
https://soundcloud.com/halljack505 Cubase 7.0.7 and WaveLab 7, Windows 7 Intel icore7 HP Pavllon, 18 gigs ram, Tascam US-1641 , Toontrack Superior Drummer 2.0, Drumcore Free, Alesis HR-16, HR-16 B, SR-16, Ringo Starr, 1970 Strat , 1974 P-Bass,Hofner Bass. Roland D-50 & U220 Keyboards, MXL, AKG & Shure Microphones, Line 6 Pocket Pod
Yamaha NS10'S Auratone and JBL speakers, Tascam 48 ob 8-track, Teac A-2340 4-track,
Waves Studer j37 plugin, Waves Reel ADT Tascam 22-4 and Tascam 22-2

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:56 am

halljack wrote:Check out "Crackling" at the old Cubase.net web site

http://www.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic. ... c5148f0750

Hope this helps

Jack :D

Ps: Buffer size or Latency maybe the problem ;)
I tried from 32 to 4096 buffer size, no luck,
same problem at all buffers
(except at the very low (32-64) buffers audio is stuttering sometimes, but that is normal)
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

halljack
Member
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by halljack » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:16 am

SOS magazine article - http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/oct09/a ... iolive.htm

From this article: Drivers & Latency

Installing the ASIO, WDM and Core Audio drivers is straightforward, and you use the Universal Control utility to adjust the sample rate and various buffer sizes of any PreSonus hardware connected to your computer. You’re also given a very basic DAW program called Capture. No matter how I set the buffer sizes, I couldn’t achieve software monitoring latency below about 24ms (in PC versions of Cubase 5 and Reaper 3, or with Logic 8 on a MacBook Pro). If you’re planning to do all your studio cue-mixing in the Studio Live itself, this may not be a problem, but if you want to use software monitoring (for tape-style automatic input/playback monitor switching, for example), or to play soft synths live, this degree of latency could feel cumbersome.

Universal Control utility

24ms :?: wow

My input Latency is 5.896 ms on a Tascam US-1641

TS-12: what does your input Latency say in CUBASE at the moment :?:

1. device
2. device setup
3. vst audio system - top right

Jack :D
https://soundcloud.com/halljack505 Cubase 7.0.7 and WaveLab 7, Windows 7 Intel icore7 HP Pavllon, 18 gigs ram, Tascam US-1641 , Toontrack Superior Drummer 2.0, Drumcore Free, Alesis HR-16, HR-16 B, SR-16, Ringo Starr, 1970 Strat , 1974 P-Bass,Hofner Bass. Roland D-50 & U220 Keyboards, MXL, AKG & Shure Microphones, Line 6 Pocket Pod
Yamaha NS10'S Auratone and JBL speakers, Tascam 48 ob 8-track, Teac A-2340 4-track,
Waves Studer j37 plugin, Waves Reel ADT Tascam 22-4 and Tascam 22-2

ns10fan
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by ns10fan » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:44 am

I know I'll get weird crackles and snaps if I have my wireless card enabled. Annoying, but maybe try disabling certain hardware to see if there's some unseen conflict? Best of luck!
Nashville, TN
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit, Asus Z77P-LK, Intel i5-3570k, 16GB RAM, Win7 64, Fireface800

http://www.ibelieveinhotpants.com

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:25 am

here i uploaded a short mp3 file of the glitvhing/poppng sound, you can hear the popping sound at :04, :17, :20, :22. I later made the glitching parts louder so you can hear it better:
http://kiwi6.com/file/fr59jimpts

Also, I tried kontakt in standalone, no glitching, so maybe its related to cubase?
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

Chris Beuermann

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Chris Beuermann » Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:34 am

Hello,


are you running everthing with one harddrive ?

Cheers,

Chris

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Hippo » Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:33 pm

Try turning off Multicore processing in the Kontakt vst plugin.

Hippo
i9 9900k 32gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

hikarateboy
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by hikarateboy » Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:05 pm

Definately sounds like classic example of clock issues. I've had exactly this issue when sample and bit rate in sounds card prefs were not exactly the same as the project prefs.
Running latest version of Cubase on Win 10, AMD Ryzen 3, 16 gigs Ram, 3 displays, RME 5296, 24 ch of A/D - I/O, CC121, Numerous plugins from UAD, Slate, Waves, etc. Bunches of outboard analog pres and compressors.

Nanowire
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Nanowire » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:13 pm

+1 on hikarateboy. My guess also. Clock issues.
"It's not whether you have the option, but whether you can make the decision." Keith Richards.

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:25 am

i use 2 harddrives: 1) 500gb: Windows, Programs, plugins. 2)2TB: Audio, Samples, Projects.
I tried disabling multiprocessing in Kontakt, and tried disabling multiprocessing in cubase too, tried audio boost and normal.
I have internet and other unused stuff disabled. few hours ago i disabled all non-windows services besides presonus's universal control.

I tried Kontakt in standalone, no crackling. maybe it's not kontakt afterall, because I was working on a song and when I added more patches in omnisphere the crackling seemed to happen more often. but maybe it was effecting kontakt somehow.. I have also re-installed cubase.
none of this helped.

How can i check or set the clocks?
when I go into "system" directly in presonus studiolive it says "firewire", when i turn off the computer it goes into 44.1khz, in presonus software "universal control" it is set to 44.1khz, in cubase 44.1khz 16 bit.
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

User avatar
cubic13
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Near Serre-Ponçon lake, french Alps
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by cubic13 » Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:54 am

Another track, maybe : how is your DPC (http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml) ?

I think it's worth a check... If there is a problem a more complete tool is process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb896653).
DAW : i7-870 (HT enabled) - Asus P7-P55D-E - 16 Gb DDR3-1600 - 2 x WD Black Caviar 1 Tb - Radeon 6450 GPU (512 Mb) - Windows 7 Pro SP1 (64) / RME Fireface UCX + Behringer ADA8200
Soft & plug-ins : Cubase 6.5.5 (64), Cubase Pro 9.5.50 & 10.0.30 / Emulator X3 & several VSTis
Gear : Studiologic VMK-188+ / Akai MPD32 / Akai ME30P MIDI Patchbay / Korg 05RW / Roland D110 / Yamaha TX802 / Pre-MIDI stuff.

Nanowire
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Nanowire » Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:37 pm

If Cubase derives the clock from firewire, then your PreSonus is the master. In digital chains only one device can be the master. In this case you should look in the settings and knobs on your soundcard to see whether it is set to be the master. Now what will also be important is that any settings on the master should correspond with the project settings in Cubase. So if your master says 44.1KHz, your project should also be on 44.1KHz. Don't mind the bit depth as long as Cubase is equal or higher. We'll get into that another time.
"It's not whether you have the option, but whether you can make the decision." Keith Richards.

funkman
Member
Posts: 438
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by funkman » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:02 pm

i am having a similar problem. a project i am working on is sitting about 40% aon the asio meter,but every 10 secs or so i get clciking and the orange light flashes on asio meter
i am using saffire pro 24 buffer at 1024.
i checked another much more busy project,asio meter about 60%.but no clicking,and same settings.
anyone got any clues?
PC, Windows 10,AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor,3.20GHz,8GB Ram. Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 Interface,Novation Nocturn 25.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by Conman » Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:39 pm

How low can you get that buffer? Some modern soundcards don't like to work that high. Try 256, then halve it down to a working level (128/64).
I work my lowly Emu down at these levels with no prob's. I suspect that if you get (more) trouble at these lower settings then it's time to contact your soundcard helpline to try for a solution or replacement.
Could also simply be a lead etc.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Post by TS-12 » Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:02 pm

cubic13 wrote:Another track, maybe : how is your DPC (http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml) ?

I think it's worth a check... If there is a problem a more complete tool is process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb896653).

DPC latency checker showed very low green bars. and a messege "some device drivers on this machine behave bad and will probably cause drop-outs in realtime ausio and/or video." and than it basically told me to disable each device one by one untill I find the problem.

but than I clicked "reset" and can't get pdc checker to display that messege again.

now it only shows
"this machine should handle real-time audio without dorp-outs.
even though the crackling happens the dpc latency checker doesn't see it
and, I don't have much clue how to use that process explorer, I'm not that much computer literate I guess.
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests