How to use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8902
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

How to use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by -steve- » Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:03 pm

Check out Greg Ondo's latest YouTube on the subject:

https://youtu.be/HxnDIuQiWzc
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

mbira
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by mbira » Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:10 pm

-steve- wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:03 pm
Check out Greg Ondo's latest YouTube on the subject:

https://youtu.be/HxnDIuQiWzc
Cool! I never knew that one...
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

benjaminduk
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by benjaminduk » Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:57 pm

Is there a way to edit the Midi CC from within the Midi event again once you have extracted the Automation?

Seems like once the automation is in a lane it cannot be edited from within the midi file even though you can see it.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st Gen), Intel i7 6700K, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard, 48GB Ram, Adam A7X Speakers, Icon Platform M+

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1335
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm

Interesting! When I try it, it shows all automation for everything in the session, even if I just have that event selected. Any way to make JUST the track show used automation so I can do this?
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1162
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by greggybud » Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:07 pm

mbira wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:10 pm
-steve- wrote:
Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:03 pm
Check out Greg Ondo's latest YouTube on the subject:

https://youtu.be/HxnDIuQiWzc
Cool! I never knew that one...
Neither did I. Thanks to Greg. I wonder if he lays awake at night just thinking of Cubase work-arounds?

Now I have a use for Extract Midi Automation
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
DaddyO
Member
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 2:25 am
Location: San Antonio, TX
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by DaddyO » Sat Jul 21, 2018 3:35 am

Saw that too, found it interesting. I'v'e been waiting a long time for Steinberg to implement Bezier curves for MIDI CC data editing. But doesn't MIDI Automation (as opposed to Key Editor CC editing) make the data not migrate with the MIDI part if you move it?
Hobbyist
VSL Std Core Orchestral Winds and Brass
VSL Spec. Edition Bundle Complete, VI and Synchron-ized
VE Pro, VI Pro, MIR Pro
Cubase 9.5, Dorico 2
Windows 10 - i5 9600K - 64GB - M.2 and SATA SSD's.

benjaminduk
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by benjaminduk » Sat Jul 21, 2018 10:39 pm

I wish this was how Midi editing worked by default within Cubase without having to extract the Midi through a menu. For example if you recorded CC1 or CC11 in a midi event and you open the Automation lane the Midi CC that you recorded shows up in lanes like in the video without having to go through the whole extraction process. Also if you have an existing Midi event that you import from another file and has Midi CC information it would also just be read in the Automation lane.

To expand upon this further it would be even cooler if the Automation lanes would have their own editor Window like a Midi Editor Window with the ability to use bezier curves and other tools with the look of the Automation lanes.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st Gen), Intel i7 6700K, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard, 48GB Ram, Adam A7X Speakers, Icon Platform M+

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8902
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by -steve- » Sat Jul 21, 2018 11:31 pm

You can record the CCs in automation lanes in the project work area to begin with.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

benjaminduk
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by benjaminduk » Sun Jul 22, 2018 1:40 pm

What? You can? On an Instrument Track.

How do you do this and does that data also get stored within the Midi Event?
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st Gen), Intel i7 6700K, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard, 48GB Ram, Adam A7X Speakers, Icon Platform M+

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2975
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by peakae » Sun Jul 22, 2018 3:13 pm

Did you watch the video ?
Goto 4m10s in the video and watch again.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

benjaminduk
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by benjaminduk » Sun Jul 22, 2018 4:13 pm

Oh whoops I missed that part. Thought it needed to be extracted first :D
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st Gen), Intel i7 6700K, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard, 48GB Ram, Adam A7X Speakers, Icon Platform M+

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8902
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by -steve- » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:16 pm

One thing he doesn't mention is how to get the CC data back into an editable form in the Key Editor CC lanes. This can be done using Merge MIDI in Loop.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

benjaminduk
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by benjaminduk » Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:38 pm

Thanks for mentioning this Steve. I was wondering about that.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st Gen), Intel i7 6700K, Asus Z170 Pro Gaming Motherboard, 48GB Ram, Adam A7X Speakers, Icon Platform M+

msy
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by msy » Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:21 pm

Thanks, a fully working work around. :)

I hope next update will bring curves to MIDI CC's.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1663
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Want to use the new automation curve paradigm (aka bezier curves) with midi CCs?

Post by Stephen57 » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:26 am

-steve- wrote:
Sun Jul 22, 2018 5:16 pm
One thing he doesn't mention is how to get the CC data back into an editable form in the Key Editor CC lanes. This can be done using Merge MIDI in Loop.
+1 (TY)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

emasters
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by emasters » Mon Aug 27, 2018 9:17 pm

msy wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:21 pm

I hope next update will bring curves to MIDI CC's.
+1
Ed

User avatar
da10us
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 9:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by da10us » Fri Sep 07, 2018 9:45 pm

Using automation this way for pitchbend isn't working like this for multi-timbral instruments (track/rack). I'm trying the automate pitchbend with Omnisphere 2.5 for example. I found automation numbers under the instrument lane. I could configure them for receiving pitchbend on the Omnisphere side. But that would seperate the information from my midi track (multi-timbral ;-)). Midi transformer works, but has poor resolution. Any suggestions?

How hard would it be for STeinberg to add pitchbend automation lanes to all tracks?
|i7-6800K|Win10 pro x64|Cubase Pro 9.5.41|Vienna Ensemble Pro 6|RME Fireface UC|UAD2 Octo|

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1806
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: How to use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by GargoyleStudio » Sat Sep 08, 2018 3:38 pm

I've been hoping for Pitchbend and Aftertouch in the automation lanes for a long long time.......

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8902
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: How to use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by -steve- » Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:12 pm

c'mon guys. Post in FR. This is not the place.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

jezburns
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by jezburns » Sat Oct 06, 2018 12:39 pm

msy wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:21 pm
Thanks, a fully working work around. :)

I hope next update will bring curves to MIDI CC's.
+1.. I can't believe there even needs to be a 'workaround' for this!

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 565
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Use bezier curves with midi CCs

Post by jono not bono » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:07 am

msy wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 2:21 pm
Thanks, a fully working work around. :)

I hope next update will bring curves to MIDI CC's.
This. Madness it hasn’t been implemented yet.
Please make me stop buying stuff.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests