Not what I ordered

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 5:51 am

I don;t know why I have to post here a forum rather than being able to email for support but there appear to be no other options.

I purchased an update for LE AI elements 9 to Elements 9.5. I paid the bucks and downloaded the 6. GB of data plus the update package. This was successful. I entered my product key to activate the software. However when I open cubase it tells me I have Cubase elements 9 not 9.5.

What is going on???

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 6:13 am

You're running the wrong executable file. Search for "Cubase LE AI Elements 9.5" using the Windows start menu, or go to "C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase LE AI Elements 9.5"

Paid Cubase updates are installed side by side so you can make sure that the new version works fine on your computer before uninstalling the previous version.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:46 am

Okay - thanks very much for that info.

I sorted everything but now am stuck on a licencing issue when using the elicences ...

I created an account, registered the product, did everything in that dept. But when I select to have the licence activated and C&P the
Activation Code that was emailed to me, I get the message;

"Currently there is no licence available which can be upgraded by your upgrade licence. Please connect an USB-elicencer which holds an upgradable licence to your computer."

I have run the online synchronization and maintenance and all 6 steps were completed.

eta I have read here about the USBelicencer but have no idea why it went that way as I just want the computer licenced rather than use a USB stick....
Last edited by W1llam on Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:50 am

Which version of Cubase did you have before exactly? Which one is listed by your eLicenser Control Center? You might have bought the wrong upgrade.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:26 am

LE AI Elements 9

As can be seen here one can choose which update is applicable...

"Upgrade from Cubase LE, AI, Essential or Seque"

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 10:30 am

That's not the exact version you have. Is it Cubase AI 9? Is it Cubase Elements 9?

Please run the eLicenser Control Center or your previous version of Cubase and tell me which exact version is shown.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:26 am

That is what is says on the desktop icon...

Image

This is what it says when I open it....

Image

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:31 am

Then you own Cubase Elements 9, and you should have picked the "Update from Cubase Elements" option from here:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/buy_p ... ts-95.html

Please contact asknet support here to request a refund. Explain that you bought the wrong upgrade:
https://steinberg.support-asknet.com/en ... /solutions

The reason why the desktop icon says "Cubase LE AI Elements" is because the same executable file is used by these 3 versions. The version that's loaded depends on what license you have.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:37 am

Should I have selected Update from Cubase Elements rather than Upgrade from Cubase LE, AI, Essential or Sequel? Ah I see you have posted saying as much...

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:39 am

The link you gave gives many options but nothing which appears specific to my problem - how do I actually contact a sales rep?

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:48 am

Okay sorted - I found the New support ticket function, Have asked for a refund and will now delete the software from my computer. Thanks for you help here. It can be confusing

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 11:53 am

Hold on, you don't have to delete it. You can just buy the right upgrade and use Cubase Elements 9.5 while you wait for asknet to respond.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:09 pm

No I can't because I cannot activate 9.5

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:15 pm

You couldn't activate Cubase 9.5 because you had bought the wrong upgrade license. If you buy the correct one, it will work. Then you just have to wait for your refund.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:18 pm

So lets see if I understand you here...I can keep what I have already downloaded and when I pay for the correct upgrade license i shouldn't have to download anything else and just get the new access code for my new purchase and use that and that should work?

W1llam
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:03 am
Contact:

Re: Not what I ordered

Post by W1llam » Sat Apr 28, 2018 7:46 pm

I do have another question related to this - checking out my products it shows Cubase AI 9 and Cubase Elements 9.5
Image
but as noted the download size for 9.5 is only 93MB

When I view my eLicensers all that shows is one for the 9.5

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests