[SOLVED] Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by LarsErik » Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:36 pm

Ok, so I'm scratching my head here. . I've got an project that according to the project file was created with version 9.0.30 (using XVI32 binary editor to see file headers) and now in the latest version 9.5.21 it's silent.. The tracks are there, the vst instruments are there, the mixer shows VU meters bouncing but no audio output..

Trying out different project some really old stuff works like this Cubase 7.0 project from 2012. Don't even know if I'm barking up the wrong three here thinking it has something to do with project files and version but anyways.

I've checked the VST Connections and all settings on my Rme UCX audio card.. what am I missing here?
Last edited by LarsErik on Sun May 27, 2018 7:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by LarsErik » Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:56 pm

And now I'm officially freaked out.. Holding my breath hoping it's not my project files that somehow have been corrupted.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by LarsErik » Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:46 pm

And i'm *knuf*.. Metronome audio click is the only sound I get out of quite a lot of my projects..
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by -steve- » Wed Apr 18, 2018 6:49 pm

Have you done the basic generic troubleshooting test, starting up with initialized prefs?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by LarsErik » Thu Apr 19, 2018 4:54 pm

Yes.. tried "Safe Start Mode" but it didn't help.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by LarsErik » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:05 pm

Investigation further it seems all my projects saved with verion 9.0.30 has this problem. Haven't found a single one that works so far. The projects last saved with 9.0.20 works fine.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:08 pm

It looks like you need to setup your Studio Connections again. Check if this fixes it, and if it does, be sure to save the setup as a preset.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 no sound on some projects?

Post by LarsErik » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:10 pm

-steve- wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:08 pm
It looks like you need to setup your Studio Connections again. Check if this fixes it, and if it does, be sure to save the setup as a preset.
Yeah I was thinking this as well but loading my current "vst-connections" presets or creating a new from scratch doesn't help either.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:14 pm

Can you zip and upload one of the problem .cpr files by any chance?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by LarsErik » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:29 pm

I've created a support ticket with support now.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:30 pm

That's probably best.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by LarsErik » Sun May 06, 2018 4:03 pm

It's been 17 days since I created a support ticket on "my steinberg", no response yet. Is it the correct way to get hold of Steinberg support?
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by -steve- » Sun May 06, 2018 5:58 pm

Presumably, yes. But as reported here in the forum they can be slow to respond.

If you are in the EU you can call them on the phone also.

- Do you have any routing that could be causing the problem? Group tracks, Direct Routing, etc)

- Are you able to import the tracks into another project?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1280
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by silhouette » Sun May 06, 2018 7:10 pm

I know this is a faff, but perhaps you could create a new project and import all the tracks from one of your affected projects. I saved one troublesome /corrupted this way. At least this would tell you that your projects can be salvaged.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

D-JeeP
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:41 am
Contact:

Re: Problem: Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound _ My Fix

Post by D-JeeP » Fri May 11, 2018 12:58 am

Hi guys & girls,

History:
The day after I putted a lot of work on a mix, there's was no sound output anymore from the master output fader.
Every faders, groups & VGA faders were showing activity, but no output on the master.
I checked everything over & over, made sure all drivers are the latest, etc... Hours & hours... You know the drill...

Fix:
Then I checked the console again and felt so stupid that I didn't noticed that all channels didn't have any output buses assigned anymore.
I guess this was a weird unsuspected glitch of some sort that I never experienced before Cubase 9.5 & Cubase 9.5.21
One day, all is fine, the next day, all channels are off. Never had that before.
Must be me ;-)
Anyways I reassigned all channels output busses and all was back to where it was.

Hope this can help save you a few hours of troubleshooting.

Musically,

JeeP

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Cubase 9.5.21 and 9.0.30 projects = no sound

Post by LarsErik » Sun May 27, 2018 7:38 pm

And I solved it, I'm an idiot.

An unauthorized plug-in muted the sound.. MAJOR FACEPALM!!! AAAAHHHH!!!
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: electrow and 3 guests