Printing bug

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 6:56 am

There's a bug while printing with text in stave.
I use repeat measure signs. While they are perfectly represented in engrave mode, they are completely off when I switch to print mode.
I can't see how to overcome this bug. (I can place them with an offset in engrave but this is far from normal behaviour and it's not an acceptable workaround for large scores!)
When I print, it actually prints with caracters off their position.
Attachments
This will be the day.zip
Bug with piano layout
(384.37 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
Print.png
The way it appears in Print mode
(31.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Engrave.png
Engrave mode selected
(15.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by kx3kx3 on Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by pianoleo » Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:53 am

Are you definitely printing the same layout you’re looking at in Engrave mode?
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:13 pm

pianoleo wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:53 am
Are you definitely printing the same layout you’re looking at in Engrave mode?
Yes, definitely.
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

Estigy
Member
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:56 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by Estigy » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:21 pm

Could you attach the file here?
Dorico 3 on Windows 10
www.dorico-resources.net

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:28 pm

Estigy wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 1:21 pm
Could you attach the file here?

Yes I edited the original post to include the zip file.
I edited the file so the printing is in the right place when printing. But it's wrong in engrave mode....
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by pianoleo » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:32 pm

I've just tried to export your file to PDF, and (despite looking right in Print mode) it comes out looking like it does in Engrave mode (wrong!). Have you actually tried printing at your end, or are you going on what you see in the Print preview (that Print mode shows you) ?

I believe this has come up before, and is on the developers' radar, and that the issue is that Print mode doesn't display things exactly as they'll print but Engrave mode (and Page View in Write Mode) show things correctly.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:34 pm

I’ve not looked at the file you’ve attached, but perhaps you’re using Bravura for some characters in Shift+X text objects? If so, I would recommend you edit those text items to use Bravura Text instead – ideally using the ‘Music text’ character style chosen from the top right-hand corner in the text edit popover.

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5459
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by pianoleo » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:40 pm

Actually the file seems to use Courier, which is an entirely different font. It may be, of course, that Dorico is substituting Courier in place of a font that I don't have on my machine.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:10 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:34 pm
I’ve not looked at the file you’ve attached, but perhaps you’re using Bravura for some characters in Shift+X text objects? If so, I would recommend you edit those text items to use Bravura Text instead – ideally using the ‘Music text’ character style chosen from the top right-hand corner in the text edit popover.
For shift+X "repeat measure", I copied from SMuFL glyph.
Wich was a workaround suggested to overcome the current state of Dorico on this matter.
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:13 pm

That’s fine, of course, but you need to make sure the font is set correctly.

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:19 pm

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:13 pm
That’s fine, of course, but you need to make sure the font is set correctly.

It's OK when I switch to Bravura Text.
Is it a known bug or some font cannot print correctly per se?
For instance, can I expect Inkpen to print correctly?
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:25 pm

Provided you explicitly set the font, it’ll print fine: the issue is that you hadn’t set the font. Dorico was managing somehow to show the right character from the Bravura font, but only by chance. If you want to use a specific character from a specific font, you need to choose that font explicitly.

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:45 pm

Ok thanks!
Can I assume all copy-paste from SMuFL are 100% compatible with Bravura?
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13434
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:49 pm

Absolutely, yes.

kx3kx3
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:45 am
Contact:

Re: Printing bug

Post by kx3kx3 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:13 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:49 pm
Absolutely, yes.
Thanks! I understand that I don't understand how fonts work at their core. :D
Some homework on my To Do list!
Dorico 3.0.0.1038
Win10s and 7

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dankreider, EmBee1972, Frigolito, gljm99, joalter, pianoleo and 19 guests