how to import midifiles with it's original BPM?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Verhext
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:43 am
Contact:

how to import midifiles with it's original BPM?

Post by Verhext » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:05 pm

sorry, but i tried everything i guess... and stil no chance :oops:

thanks for clearing this out.
Last edited by Verhext on Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2322
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: how to import midifiles with original the BPM?

Post by MrSoundman » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:52 pm

There might not be any tempo events in your MIDI file.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Verhext
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: how to import midifiles with original the BPM?

Post by Verhext » Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:37 am

MrSoundman wrote:There might not be any tempo events in your MIDI file.
eww... :(

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2322
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: how to import midifiles with original the BPM?

Post by MrSoundman » Fri Jan 07, 2011 12:43 am

Verhext wrote:
MrSoundman wrote:There might not be any tempo events in your MIDI file.
eww... :(
In Preferences, you will also need to have unchecked the option "MIDI / MIDI File / Import Options / Ignore Master Track Events on Merge" as well.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

roger-s.
Member
Posts: 263
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: how to import midifiles with it's original BPM?

Post by roger-s. » Fri Jan 07, 2011 8:51 am

Hi!

Open Cubase and DONT CREATE a new project, but import directly the MIDI file using
File- Import -MIDI Files. Then a new project will be created with the tempo information included.

When you import a MIDI file to a project, that´s already open, Cubase will ignore tempo messages.
Besides, there is an option of export and import Tempotracks.

Hope this helps. All the best.
Roger

www.fo-co.com/fama
Steinberg Training Center FAMA Foco Audio & Music A. , Mexico City

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2322
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: how to import midifiles with it's original BPM?

Post by MrSoundman » Fri Jan 07, 2011 10:39 am

roger-s. wrote:When you import a MIDI file to a project, that´s already open, Cubase will ignore tempo messages
Not if you've unchecked the option "MIDI / MIDI File / Import Options / Ignore Master Track Events on Merge" in Preferences.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests