Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:19 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new in Cubase and I have a little problem : my speakers are connected on my soundcard and when I launch Cubase, and even after, the audio of the others applications of my PC (windows 10) doesn't work. Each time I have to reset my computer to have sound.
I think Cubase take all the soundcard and let nothing for others applications. Is there a solution to solve this issue ?
When I worked on Reaper, I didn't have this problem.

Thank's you!

(Sorry for my bad english)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 15482
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi,

What kind of Audio Device do you use? What kind of Driver do you use?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:19 pm

Hi,
My apologies for my late reply.
My soundcard is an Audiobox from Presonus and the pilote is Asio-GUARD.
Yesterday I tried to install the last version of the driver of my soundcard (Driver Presonus universal control) and since I live a nightmare. I received an error message during the installation of this driver. I reinstalled my audiobox (whose shortcut had disappared) but since I have cracks in my speakers ( I have good speakers) in Cubase and even in my Windows applications like VLC. I did a reinitialisation of my PC, but the cracks are still here.

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:23 pm

The buffer doesn't change anything.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:33 pm

The driver for your Audio device will be listed underneath where it says VST Audio System in the Studio Setup window (Studio/Studio Setup). I doubt it's called Asio guard as that is a Cubase Program process. More likely called "Audiobox ASIO driver" or "Presonus ASIO driver" (at a guess).

Are the speakers connected to the Presonus or the computer?

It sounds like you've got the PC's onboard soundcard hogging Cubase rather than the Presonus.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:41 pm

Thank you for your help,

Yes, in Cubase it's "Audiobox Asio-GUARD".
The speakers are connected to the Audiobox.

Have you an idea for my more recent issue of cracks in the speakers ? It's not the speakers nor the Audiobox (they work well on another PC). It's since I have tried to install this damned recent pilote on the Presonus website!

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:47 pm

Are also seeing spikes in Cubase Audio Performance Meter?

If you think it's the latest files for the Presonus causing the issue then try to roll back to an earlier driver.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

misohoza
Member
Posts: 852
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by misohoza » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:59 pm

Is your Presonus set as default playback device in Windows?

Ideally it shouldn't. You should use your computer sound card for Windows sounds and Presonus for your Daw. If you really want to use the same device for everything try unchecking "Allow applications to take exclusive control of the device" in Windows playback devices.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:40 pm

No, my Presonus isn't by default my sound device in Windows, but my speakers are connected on the Presonus : so, if I want to have sound I have to put the Presonus by default. Of course, I can keep the sound card computer for Windows with two bad speakers I have but it's sa shame to not use my good speakers for all my applications...

But now, the crackes issue is far bigger. The problem is that I have already remove the last Presonus driver I wanted to install and rolled back to the earlier driver which worked fine. In vain.
How de we see spikes audio performances in Cubase like ask me planarchist ? (I am new in Cubase).

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:58 pm

The problem of the crackes is fixed! I had connect my Presonus in a USB that work not well. Hence those crackes.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:00 pm

Bacbé wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:40 pm
How do we see spikes audio performances in Cubase like ask me planarchist ? (I am new in Cubase).
F12 brings up the Audio Performance meters ( you can also have a smaller version showing at either the top or bottom bars of the Main Cubase window).

Are you using ASIO Guard if not try turning it on, if already using try either changing its settings or turning it off and see if that has any effect.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:01 pm

Bacbé wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:58 pm
The problem of the crackes is fixed! I had connect my Presonus in a USB that work not well. Hence those crackes.
Excellent news, glad to hear!
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:41 pm

Yes, thank you for your investmnet, it was very nice!

If you have last advices (I don't want to use all your time), I have still the problem of sound of Windows : it seems that Cubase is a heavy software, so, when I launch it, Media Player in very slow without sound. VLC video work fine but doesn't have sound neither. When I close Cubase, Media Player works well again, but VLC is alway muted (I have to restart my computer).
My computer is a I7 with 16 GO : is it not enough powerful to have Cubase and VLC or Media player working at the same time ?
In the Cubase performance F12, no problems : average load and real-time peak are ver small.
Or is my little Presonus who isn't enough powerful ?

If there is a method to keep the Presonus for Cubase and the computer soundcard for Windows (and have my good speakers who are connected on the Presonus for both), don't hesitate to give me some cue!

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Tue Feb 27, 2018 6:57 pm

Most users keep the Audio interface just for Cubase and put everything else through the computer's soundcard, it just works better that way (as you've found). Sharing both audio outputs into the same speakers if you're doing it this way is only really possible with a mixer of some sort (or at least a patch bay).

I don't know VLC Video so can't comment on that but in general as I said above it's best to keep one sound source for for Cubase (the best one) and another for everything else, particularly if you're going to be using them at the same time, that's most likley your problem rather than the i7 CPU. i7's vary but my systems use i7 CPUs of different ages (though none very new) and I have no issues, but I keep my Audio interface just for Cubase and don't run other Applications at the same time (Cubase is a hungry software for system resources).
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5084
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Grim » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:08 pm

There is the release driver in background option that will allow you to switch between applications for sound.

Otherwise you can try to untick the option "allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" in the power management tab of advanced sound settings for the Presonus and maybe it will let you hear both at the same time.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:28 pm

Thank you, but I'm not sure to understand when you say :

"There is the release driver in background option that will allow you to switch between applications for sound."

Do you mean that, with Presonus, I can switch between Cubase and my others applications ?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5084
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Grim » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:42 pm

Cubase has the option release driver in background (it's in the VST Audio system settings)
With this ticked you should hear audio from whichever program is in focus/in the foreground but you won't hear both together.

For that you have to try the other option.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

KHS
Member
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by KHS » Wed Feb 28, 2018 8:34 pm

I'm using a Presonus Audiobox 44VSL, and using it for both Cubase and Windows sounds. No problems here and sound from both works well, even at the same time playing together.
Cubase 9.5 Pro - Presonus Audiobox 44VSL - I7-7700K - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo.

Bacbé
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by Bacbé » Thu Mar 01, 2018 1:13 am

Yes, With the option "allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" in the power management tab of advanced sound settings untciked, it seems to work fine (but with the option in Cubase, it didn't work).

Thank's!

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Audio problem in my computer when Cubase is launched

Post by planarchist » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:55 am

Cubase’s control option in this area will only allow other applications to use the Audio device when it’s in the background whereas the Windows one allows the full sharing (as Grim said above) so what you’re reporting is as expected.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests