How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am

Hi there,

How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Like it used to work in all previous versions of Cubase where you can simply drag a midi clip from one track to another and then glue
Last edited by WellBassd on Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:49 am

That still works. You can also select MIDI -> Bounce MIDI.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by WellBassd » Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:21 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:49 am
That still works. You can also select MIDI -> Bounce MIDI.
Thank you but you are talking about something different

i have midi on 2 channels ( they share the same space in time ) and i want to combine them in to 1

like you could do in earlier cubase

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4261
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by svennilenni » Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:32 am

WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am
How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?
What are MIDI Clips? No such Thing in Cubase. If you mean MIDI parts as Romantique TP says, works the same as always (Cubase Pro 8 and Pro 9.5)
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am
Like it used to work in all previous versions of Cubase where you can simply drag a midi clip from one track to another and then glue
What are "previous versions"? What is the Version you are using?
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:21 am
i have midi on 2 channels ( they share the same space in time ) and i want to combine them in to 1
You want to Combine different MIDI channels into 1 or you want to glue parts? What exactly is it you are asking?

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by JMCecil » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:45 pm

from the manual

Code: Select all

Merging MIDI Events into a New Part
You can merge all MIDI events, apply MIDI modifiers and effects and generate a new part.
PROCEDURE
1.
Do one of the following:
●
Mute the tracks or parts that you do not want to include in the merge.
●
Solo the track that contains the events that you want to include in the merge.
2.
Set up the left and right locators to encompass the area that you want to merge.
NOTE
Only events starting within this area will be included.
3.
Optional: Select a track for the new part.
If you do not select a track, a new MIDI track is created. If several MIDI tracks are selected,the new part is inserted on the first selected track.
4.
Select MIDI > Merge MIDI in Loop....
5.
In the MIDI Merge Options dialog, activate the desired options.
6.
Click OK.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by JMCecil » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:47 pm

from the manual

Code: Select all

Bouncing MIDI Parts
You can combine MIDI parts on different lanes to one MIDI part. This is useful, if you want toreassemble a drum part that you dissolved to lanes.
PROCEDURE
1.
Select the MIDI parts on the different lanes that you want to combine.
2.
Select MIDI > Bounce MIDI.
RESULT
The selected MIDI parts are combined to one part. Any muted parts are removed. Transpose andvelocity values that are set for the parts are taken into account.
691
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by WellBassd » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:54 pm

svennilenni wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:32 am
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am
How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?
What are MIDI Clips? No such Thing in Cubase. If you mean MIDI parts as Romantique TP says, works the same as always (Cubase Pro 8 and Pro 9.5)
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:01 am
Like it used to work in all previous versions of Cubase where you can simply drag a midi clip from one track to another and then glue
What are "previous versions"? What is the Version you are using?
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 2:21 am
i have midi on 2 channels ( they share the same space in time ) and i want to combine them in to 1
You want to Combine different MIDI channels into 1 or you want to glue parts? What exactly is it you are asking?
In earlier versions of cubase << 5, 6.5 >> before 9 you could

play chords on track 1
and the bass on track 2

You could just drag the bass over the chords and glue them > this would create a new midi part with both the bass and the chords
Last edited by WellBassd on Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by WellBassd » Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:57 pm

JMCecil wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:47 pm
from the manual

Code: Select all

Bouncing MIDI Parts
You can combine MIDI parts on different lanes to one MIDI part. This is useful, if you want toreassemble a drum part that you dissolved to lanes.
PROCEDURE
1.
Select the MIDI parts on the different lanes that you want to combine.
2.
Select MIDI > Bounce MIDI.
RESULT
The selected MIDI parts are combined to one part. Any muted parts are removed. Transpose andvelocity values that are set for the parts are taken into account.
691
Thank you but the lanes do not work

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by JMCecil » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:32 pm

I usually merge during record so haven't tried with lanes for quite some time. Lanes got a major overhaul when they updated the take & track version systems. I think it's still possible, but I don't remember the specifics. If I get a shot, I'll see if i can figure it out in a few.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by JMCecil » Fri Feb 16, 2018 8:44 pm

You need to change your recording mode to Mixed-stack. Then slice and use the comp finger to mute things you don't want to hear. Other than that, lanes use the same Merge process now.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:23 am

thanks guys but i posted this to the wrong forum, waiting for mods to move it to 9 ( edited topic )

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by JMCecil » Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:36 am

WellBassd wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:23 am
thanks guys but i posted this to the wrong forum, waiting for mods to move it to 9 ( edited topic )
doesnt matter. Works the same.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:14 am

JMCecil wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:36 am
WellBassd wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 12:23 am
thanks guys but i posted this to the wrong forum, waiting for mods to move it to 9 ( edited topic )
doesnt matter. Works the same.
This is an issue with the lanes not working like they used to in cubase 9

May have been broken in 8 too

( dragging a midi part from another channel erases the lanes )

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1660
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by planarchist » Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:16 pm

WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:54 pm


In earlier versions of cubase << 5, 6.5 >> before 9 you could

play chords on track 1
and the bass on track 2

You could just drag the bass over the chords and glue them > this would create a new midi part with both the bass and the chords
This still happens for me with 9, can't see that anything has changed here.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one?

Post by WellBassd » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:58 am

planarchist wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 4:16 pm
WellBassd wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 7:54 pm


In earlier versions of cubase << 5, 6.5 >> before 9 you could

play chords on track 1
and the bass on track 2

You could just drag the bass over the chords and glue them > this would create a new midi part with both the bass and the chords
This still happens for me with 9, can't see that anything has changed here.
Are you sure?

Could you test this?

1.create 2 instrument tracks
2.create different midi parts for both
3.drag one of the parts over another
4.glue
5.check if both midi is contained

Also are you on win or osx?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:51 am

The repro works here, as others have also said. If you read the others signatures, you will see what OS they are running.

Also tried Bounce Midi with two lanes populated, that worked too.

Can you check to see if you have "Delete Overlaps" turned on?

If that's not it, one might suggest troubleshooting with the usual steps– Cubase safe start, initialize prefs, etc.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:55 am

I suspected that Delete Overlaps was turned on on your system, then after I posted I noticed that you said,
WellBassd wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:14 am
( dragging a midi part from another channel erases the lanes )
That is what happens when "Delete Overlaps" is active. So, turn it off, and it will work the way you want it to, which is also the way it has worked in previous versions.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:13 am

-steve- wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:55 am
I suspected that Delete Overlaps was turned on on your system, then after I posted I noticed that you said,
WellBassd wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:14 am
( dragging a midi part from another channel erases the lanes )
That is what happens when "Delete Overlaps" is active. So, turn it off, and it will work the way you want it to, which is also the way it has worked in previous versions.
Thank you very much

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:32 am

WellBassd wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:13 am
-steve- wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:55 am
I suspected that Delete Overlaps was turned on on your system, then after I posted I noticed that you said,
WellBassd wrote:
Sat Feb 17, 2018 1:14 am
( dragging a midi part from another channel erases the lanes )
That is what happens when "Delete Overlaps" is active. So, turn it off, and it will work the way you want it to, which is also the way it has worked in previous versions.
Thank you very much
Just to be sure- that fixed it for you?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:16 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 5:32 am
WellBassd wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 4:13 am
-steve- wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 2:55 am
I suspected that Delete Overlaps was turned on on your system, then after I posted I noticed that you said,That is what happens when "Delete Overlaps" is active. So, turn it off, and it will work the way you want it to, which is also the way it has worked in previous versions.
Thank you very much
Just to be sure- that fixed it for you?
Thank you for checking in, yes ( it felt like you were correct and to confirm ) now that i checked it, yay! it works

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:11 pm

Great, please consider in the future that your setup or prefs need troubleshooting when experienced users tell you that what you want is already possible– would save everyone a little time. :D
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by WellBassd » Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:36 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Feb 19, 2018 6:11 pm
Great, please consider in the future that your setup or prefs need troubleshooting when experienced users tell you that what you want is already possible– would save everyone a little time. :D
I did > that is why i ask “how can i do this” in the topic title

( they weren t experienced enough to point out the setting you did )

Thank you again everyone

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9358
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by -steve- » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:04 pm

Well, actually you insisted that no one understood, and didn't mention the most important thing about the problem, that
dragging a midi part from another channel erases the lanes
until post 13. Had you done so, I think all participants would have known right away what was up. Also, using Cubase-specific vocabulary is an immense help.

Some thoughts for next time. :)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: How can i combine 2 midi clips in to one? ( wrong forum could this be moved to 9 ? please )

Post by JMCecil » Mon Feb 19, 2018 8:33 pm

yeah, I thought we were talking about the take lanes.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests