Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
sensorychaos
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by sensorychaos » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:02 am

Can anybody tell me how it possible cubase puts my waveshell to blacklist?
Can anybody tell me why can't I reactivate it?
Can anybody tell me HOW such a HUGE problem appear with the most common brand of plugin available with the most popular daw on the market?

I'm so frustrated today....to loose my time...to scratch my head to simply make my legit plugin work in my legit daw...
Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX+UFX2
Cubase 9.5.1 pro
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A ---Genelec 8050B
Moog Sub37 - Moog subphatty
DSI Tempest - DSI Tetra -
Tom Oberhein SEM expander
Mutable Shruti
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2 - Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO - Beatsteppro
NI Maschine mk3

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1615
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by planarchist » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:21 am

Which version of the Waves plugins, the 32 bit ones as well as/instead of the 64bit ones?

No problems running Waves plugins on any of my systems or many others on here so I assume there’s something specific to your system/setup causing these problems. Is it a new issue? Have you successfully run Waves plugins in the past on this system?
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

sensorychaos
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by sensorychaos » Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:39 am

Thanks for your reply. Yes of course...I don't know what's going on...There is always something new since 9.5.1....(and yes...this time I'm in a screaming state...I have no time to loose)
The 64 bit dll and the vst3 are blacklisted....now...making all my projects containing a single wave plugin useless.....
I deinstalled everything...reinstalled....still blacklisted....then the wavecentral didn't propose me where to re-install ( I guessed the path was saved somehow somewhere but nope...) I had to go on wave site to see that everything is copied in x86 folder....I had to remove the 64dll from there to my 64 vst plugin folder....but it doesn't change anything....( I did the reinstall 5 times now.....) I just bought the new schep channel strip...Not working and my api collection, torque and other stuff don't work no more as well. Waveshell is blacklisted. Period. Cubase keeps on saying it can't reactivate it....
ok...maybe let's trash cubase and buy another daw...
Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX+UFX2
Cubase 9.5.1 pro
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A ---Genelec 8050B
Moog Sub37 - Moog subphatty
DSI Tempest - DSI Tetra -
Tom Oberhein SEM expander
Mutable Shruti
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2 - Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO - Beatsteppro
NI Maschine mk3

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by Nickeldome » Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:31 am

I had this with Waves plugins a few times before also. Have you just simply tried to reactivate them (the 64 bit! version) from within the Cubase plugin manager? This usually does the trick for me.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by Grim » Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:33 am

ok...maybe let's trash cubase and buy another daw...
Good luck with that....a small selection of quotes from another forum.
I have a big issue with the latest v9.92 incorporating the Scheps Omni channel: 60-70 % of the waves plugins failed to validate under Logic 10.3.3 !
Yes, same exact issue -- I wiped all my Waves
goddam thing didn't recognize in Reaper (my other Waves do), then trying to "repair" it through their stupid, bloated downloader, it wipes ALL my Waves (8 of them)
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

sensorychaos
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by sensorychaos » Fri Jan 26, 2018 6:26 pm

The only trick I found: deinstal everything, deinstal wavecentral. Reinstal wavecentral....Now it works only as vst3 64 bit....64bitdll are not targeted in the right folder by the wavecentral....and moving them in the right location doesn't help...At least I have them in vst3.... :(
Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX+UFX2
Cubase 9.5.1 pro
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A ---Genelec 8050B
Moog Sub37 - Moog subphatty
DSI Tempest - DSI Tetra -
Tom Oberhein SEM expander
Mutable Shruti
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2 - Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO - Beatsteppro
NI Maschine mk3

sensorychaos
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by sensorychaos » Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:18 pm

And finally the waveshell vst3 won't allow cubase 9.5.1 to even open....crash while scanning it....Please pinch me....
Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX+UFX2
Cubase 9.5.1 pro
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A ---Genelec 8050B
Moog Sub37 - Moog subphatty
DSI Tempest - DSI Tetra -
Tom Oberhein SEM expander
Mutable Shruti
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2 - Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO - Beatsteppro
NI Maschine mk3

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by orchetect » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:17 pm

Nickeldome wrote:
Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:31 am
I had this with Waves plugins a few times before also. Have you just simply tried to reactivate them (the 64 bit! version) from within the Cubase plugin manager? This usually does the trick for me.
That usually fixes it. Also make sure you've installed the latest Waves version from their website and you're using the 64-bit version.

You might find the 64-bit version is fine but the 32-bit gets blacklisted (and it will stay that way). Does anyone know offhand if you've loaded 32-bit Waves plugins into a Cubase project if you have to re-instance them as 64-bit versions or do they transition seamlessly to using the 64-bit versions of the same plugins? Just a thought to consider. (I don't use Waves stuff, sorry - can't test it)
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

sensorychaos
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by sensorychaos » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:53 pm

I appreciate your inputs guys...but there is CLEARLY *knuf* up....
Wave support told me to erase my wave préférences in roaming folder and reinstall everything....It doesn't change anything to the problem...
I'm so *quiz* off that I will NEVER buy waves product again that's for sure....I never had good experience with waves (even 8 years ago)
The scanning process only works just after a fresh repair or whole reinstallation....after a computer shuttdown....the scanning process makes cubase crash... THIS is so ridiculous....I LOST CLIENTS, TIME AND REPUTATION on this one....(many thanks to wave and Steinberg....)....
trust me....I tried everything...all the tricks...everything....nope it doesn't work-----there is something corrupt...and I will ditch all my wave plugins aqnd buy something which works.... I'm so upset that I won't try to look further...this is a joke. Thanks for your inputs....I'm done with waves...and maybe with Steinberg....This blacklist system is the worst thing I have ever see inb a daw....Instead of perfrecting their midi controller management....Steinberg adds new useless functions to sell their product with more marketing strategy than ever.....Long time request are never taken in consideration...and they dilute problems with new buggy features....Sorry but you can feel my pain on this one....I'mjust tired to LOOSE MY TIME AND WORKFLOW.
Windows 7/8 ultimate 64 bit
i7 3960x -- 4.3 Ghz (oc)
Asus p9x79
16 Go Hyper-X 1866 Mhz RAM
ASUS GTX 560 DCII TOP
OCZ Agility3 240 Go SSD
Barracuda 7200.12
Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 800W
Corsair hydro series H100
------------------------------
RME Fireface UFX+UFX2
Cubase 9.5.1 pro
Neve 8816 summing mixer
Genelec 1031 A --- Genelec 1092 A ---Genelec 8050B
Moog Sub37 - Moog subphatty
DSI Tempest - DSI Tetra -
Tom Oberhein SEM expander
Mutable Shruti
Arturia Minibrute
Novation Supernova 2 - Roland JP-8000
Keith McMillen QUNEO - Beatsteppro
NI Maschine mk3

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by balinas » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:50 pm

Might be repetitive, but I would delete my Cubase preference files/folder. Then start over. I think I read where you deleted the Waves preferences, but I didn’t see where you did that with Cubase’s. I had to do this at one point with a few other plugins and several other issues in Cubase.
WIN 10 (1903), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, Yamaha Classic Motif 6, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by keyxmusic » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:33 pm

I guess I'm lucky to never have had any problem with the blacklist...until today. And it's so frustrating! And you know what the best part is: Padshop and Retrologue got blacklisted!!! I mean, that's just totally messed up and I don't want to spend time to deal with that.

Can't steinberg just treat the blacklist as a suggestion list, letting you know what plug-ins *might* cause trouble, without making you reactivate and sh!t everytime? Just seems like such a stupid and unnecessary feature the way it is now.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by Romantique Tp » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:33 pm

If something got blacklisted, it's either a redundant plugin (like a VST2 version of a VST3 plugin) or something that seriously misbehaved during scan. Go to the blacklist tab and click reactivate on the plugins that you're sure aren't just redundant VST2 versions.

If they're sent back to the blacklist, then there's something wrong with the plugin and you're supposed to investigate. Check if there are any updates, and/or try to reinstall the latest version.

Comments about Cubase being unstable have basically disappeared since the blacklist was implemented. I know it can be annoying to have plugins blacklisted, but this is all done to save you a headache in the long term. It's better to have to troubleshoot a few plugins once than trying to figure out which of your 50+ plugins are making a huge project crash.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

ceemusic
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by ceemusic » Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:42 pm

keyxmusic wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:33 pm
I guess I'm lucky to never have had any problem with the blacklist...until today. And it's so frustrating! And you know what the best part is: Padshop and Retrologue got blacklisted!!! I mean, that's just totally messed up and I don't want to spend time to deal with that.

Can't steinberg just treat the blacklist as a suggestion list, letting you know what plug-ins *might* cause trouble, without making you reactivate and sh!t everytime? Just seems like such a stupid and unnecessary feature the way it is now.
It's rather ironic.
Never had any issue with Waves but with the normal Daylight Savings Time rescan today Padshop was blacklisted for the first time.

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by keyxmusic » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:36 pm

ceemusic wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:42 pm

It's rather ironic.
Never had any issue with Waves but with the normal Daylight Savings Time rescan today Padshop was blacklisted for the first time.
No way, it happened to you too? :shock:

keyxmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 6:03 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by keyxmusic » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:42 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Sun Mar 11, 2018 9:33 pm
Comments about Cubase being unstable have basically disappeared since the blacklist was implemented. I know it can be annoying to have plugins blacklisted, but this is all done to save you a headache in the long term. It's better to have to troubleshoot a few plugins once than trying to figure out which of your 50+ plugins are making a huge project crash.
Agreed, but I think it would be much better if Cubase showed the list of blacklisted plug-ins as a warning first, and let the user choose whether to leave it or keep it at his own risk. That way situations such as OP's here would be prevented, where for some reason the Reactivate function doesn't work, and you have an important session ahead..

denizen
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:17 am
Contact:

Re: Vst3 scanner error, blacklist....and *quiz* off long time cubase user...

Post by denizen » Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:58 am

sensorychaos wrote:
Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:18 pm
And finally the waveshell vst3 won't allow cubase 9.5.1 to even open....crash while scanning it....Please pinch me....
Hey man did you find a way to fix this problem?
I'm getting the "VST 3.x Plug-In Scanner Manager has stopped working" message on Win 10 and can't figure out how to sort it!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests