Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
SteveH
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:31 pm
Contact:

Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by SteveH » Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:55 am

Hello Everyone,

I am looking into 2 RME products to use with Cubase (WIN 10 x64) and an 02R96.

HDSP 9652
DIGIFACE USB

Are there any significant issues performance or otherwise about using either of these products on a Cubase system?

I look forward to any suggestions and advice.

Thanks,

Steve.

vinark
Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by vinark » Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:36 am

PCI(e) is always preferable, as there are less possible issues then with usb. That said if your usb subsystem is working 100% ok there will be very little difference.

SteveH
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by SteveH » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:53 pm

Thank-you.

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by marQs » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:58 pm

Good experiences with RME. Used to have a RME PCI card, then owned two Fireface 800 (FW). For some years now a UFX (the old version) which I use via USB. And an old Babyface as redundancy as well.

RME drivers are great and stable. Zero problems on desktop and laptop. 30 ch in/out simultaneously via USB2 works as advertised, also with low latencies.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

R
Junior Member
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by R » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:56 am

I used a RME HDSPe MADI FX with a ADI-648 connected to ADAT cards on a Yamaha DM2000VCM. The RME drivers were rock solid. I had the entire system clocked from the HDSPe madi card. The recordings were open and blissful on the top. Good mid range and the bottom was tight.
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Nuendo 10, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX MADI
ASRock Fatal1ty X399
EVGA RTX 2080Ti
AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX 32 Core
128GB DDR4 3600 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726, ML530
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels with Colin Broad P2MMC-USB for transport control from desk to Nuendo and PT
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7, PCM Native, Waves Mercury, Izotope 8, Slate Trigger 2

SteveH
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by SteveH » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:02 am

Thank-you. I am replacing an RME DIGI9652 card that was very good, for all the reasons you mentioned, in a 32-bit O.S., which is no more. I am just curious about sending all the audio data through a USB cable with the DIGIFACE as opposed to a PCI card. It just seems amazing that this is possible.

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2201
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by marQs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:28 am

SteveH wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:02 am
... It just seems amazing that this is possible.
Indeed ;)

Years ago I had a live recording with 50+ tracks - my first time to use an RME Madiface that came with the Vi6 the show was mixed on. I was in doubt if my laptop would handle the task, had no first hand experience with it. Chained my two FF800 together to have a backup solution just in case.

The laptop was a dual core (2 x 2 GHz). CPU load on test recording via the Fireface cluster was @ 50%. Worked but felt slaggish. CPU load via Madiface was @ 5%. Felt like I was arrived in the future :lol:

There's something RME do excellently right in terms of sending data reliably through absurd busses.
Cubase 10.5 | WL 10 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

gbakerjr
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by gbakerjr » Thu Jan 04, 2018 12:57 pm

I don't have direct experience with the two specific RME products you mentioned, but I've had a Fireface UFX since August of 2011, and a Fireface UFX+ since November of 2016. Both have worked absolutely flawlessly with Cubase (and other DAW's). I started with Cubase Pro 6, and have upgraded consistently through 9.5, and have had multiple computers (Win7 Pro 64 and Win10 Pro 64). Not as much as a hiccup through multiple versions of Cubase, multiple systems, and multiple Win OS's. The UFX I ran both USB and Firewire, but stuck with USB as I got slightly better performance. The UFX+ I run Thunderbolt. For my money, RME has been as rock solid as it gets. They're very active on their forums as well, so it's easy to get help/advice if you need it.

SteveH
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by SteveH » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:57 pm

Thank-you. I suppose my only remaining concern is if there are versions (REV) of the HDSP 9652 that I should be concerned about. There is a used one available to me at a very attractive price.

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by toader » Fri Jan 05, 2018 5:51 am

I love RME - HOWEVER... be aware that "hardware insert delay compensation" in Cubase does not work properly with some RME interfaces... and unfortunately, this has been broken for MANY MANY years (Cubase always reports 0ms latency). If you search on the forums here, you will find many posts about the issue. If you don't need hardware insert delay compensation, you're good to go and RME is amazing. If you need it... well, sorry... Many of us are waiting and hoping for a fix someday.
Computer 1: Cubase 10.0.15, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.40, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

vinark
Member
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Choosing RME Audio Product for Cubase

Post by vinark » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:31 am

toader wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 5:51 am
I love RME - HOWEVER... be aware that "hardware insert delay compensation" in Cubase does not work properly with some RME interfaces... and unfortunately, this has been broken for MANY MANY years (Cubase always reports 0ms latency). If you search on the forums here, you will find many posts about the issue. If you don't need hardware insert delay compensation, you're good to go and RME is amazing. If you need it... well, sorry... Many of us are waiting and hoping for a fix someday.
There is no issue with the HDSP9652 as it has no onboard converters. The problem starts when you use external converters (via adat for example) that are faster then the onboard, which makes their latency less then the reported ones (by the driver) and would result in a negative ping (which cubase does not support).
I am not aware of a hdsp9652 hardware revision that is problematic. I believe that that was with the hdsp cards for the multi and digiface.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests