Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
JimH
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:25 am
Contact:

Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by JimH »

I'm not asking for a re-design. Don't make this a major feature upgrade. You don't even have to make it any easier. Just make it work the way it's already intended to work.

As far as I can tell when you set up a device panel to send SysEx it doesn't always send the SysEx. Or when you record automation and play it back, it doesn't read the automation and send the SysEx. I would just like to be able to automate synths by SysEx. It's almost there! :) Just make it work.
Cubase 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i7 920 / ASUS P6T, John Bowen Solaris, Korg Kronos, Yamaha S90ES, Hammond XK-3c, Minimoog, VAX77, Kurz K2000, etc.

Yadihinz
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by Yadihinz »

+1

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by JMCecil »

Do you have an example? It works as good as SysEx ever has .. not saying much .. But, the problems I have you can largely blame on ancient processing in the receiving machine, not Cubases ability to send/receive.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

JimH
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:25 am
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by JimH »

The reason I posted is because I only recently tried to get this to work so that I could automate a synth via SysEx. But I had trouble. I don't know how far back it goes. I also just read where someone commented (which I can't find anymore) that sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. And I had the same experience. So I don't think it's just me. I created a device panel knob to send out SysEx to adjust the filter cutoff frequency. At first it worked fine---when I adjusted the knob manually it sent out the SysEx. But when I recorded some automation and played it back, the SysEx did not get sent out. Then later I was not even able to send the SysEx by manually adjusting the knob. If I have time perhaps I can create a minimal project that demonstrates it. Although I expect anyone can try that.
Cubase 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i7 920 / ASUS P6T, John Bowen Solaris, Korg Kronos, Yamaha S90ES, Hammond XK-3c, Minimoog, VAX77, Kurz K2000, etc.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by JMCecil »

Cubase isn't going to be able to do anything to "fix" SysEx. You just have to figure out how to stand on one foot, hold your left hand to your nose and hop up and down properly ... that process will work for the first device, then you have to figure out an entirely different set of craziness to get #2 to work. This has nothing to do with Cubase capability.

If you are the same guy with the 2000, then you just need to learn how the stuff works. Nothing is "broken".
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

JimH
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:25 am
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by JimH »

I'm a software developer and I'm familiar with SysEx. Please don't condescend and assume it must be my fault. I am not "the same guy with the 2000", whatever that means.
Cubase 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i7 920 / ASUS P6T, John Bowen Solaris, Korg Kronos, Yamaha S90ES, Hammond XK-3c, Minimoog, VAX77, Kurz K2000, etc.

Gjaja
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 12:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Please make Device Panels with SysEx work.

Post by Gjaja »

+1
Cubase 9.5 (64 bit)
Halion 6
Groove Agent 5
Mopho Desktop synthesiser
Linnstrument
Roland TD11 KV
Fender Stratacaster (Squire)
Bass Peavey (24 fret)
nOb controller
Imac Sierra 10.12.5
Processor 2.7 Ghz Intel core i5
Memory 12 GB
Komplete Audio 6

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests