Just one repeat ending

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
HeiPet
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Just one repeat ending

Post by HeiPet »

Perhaps this sound a bit odd, but I would like to ask for the possibility to add just one "repeat ending" or to change the number of repeats in the properties panel to 1. As long as there is no option to add lines, this could be a possibility to have a box over one or more bars with custom text. I know that this not really a repeat ending any more ...

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

I too would like this. The repeat bracket (specifically the double-ended bracket placed over the first ending) can be useful in the middle of music placed measures away from either repeat symbol. I have, for instance, a piece were in the middle of one section there is one measure that is only played the first pass. I need the "first ending bracket" to mark only that measure with custom text "first time only" however I cannot get the 2nd ending bracket to go away.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18283
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

We did consider this when we added the repeat endings feature, but we decided that really this is a different kind of marking altogether, and should be handled differently. I’m not sure when we will address this, but it is something we do plan to come back to.

geoffD
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by geoffD »

Hello - does anyone know if this feature (just one repeat ending) has been implemented in some form? Given Daniel's comment that it "a different kind of marking altogether", I am not certain what to search on, so may be missing something. I'll feel pretty foolish if it has been in for ages!

Thanks in advance,

Geoff D.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18283
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

No, it's not been implemented as yet, I'm afraid.

geoffD
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by geoffD »

Thanks very much for the information Daniel.
Geoff D.

geoffD
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by geoffD »

Thanks Dorico team!

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

Wouldn’t the new lines option cover this? At least for optional or first-pass-only measures it would. Just use a new line and set the anchor points to barlines.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by HeiPet »

Hi Daniel,
I waited for the arrival of the line tool. Unfortunaltely it will not allow me, what I want to have in this case. Please, look at this example:

Image
ending.jpg
(48.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
This is not an "repeat" ending, but it is an ending and it definitely looks like a repeat ending:
  • same line stlye
  • same font style
  • same font postion
  • same position above and below the system
I am sure, that the functionality of the lines will be improved over time, but I would appreciate it very much, if you would allow just one ending. I would just be perfect ...

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3861
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Derrek »

I do not understand what you would change from the image above. The hooks?
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
FredGUnn
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by FredGUnn »

HeiPet wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:48 pm
This is not an "repeat" ending, but it is an ending and it definitely looks like a repeat ending:
  • same line stlye
  • same font style
  • same font postion
  • same position above and below the system
Dorico 3.1 can get pretty close though ...

Image

I'm sort of assuming line thickness and end cap length will be coming in the next update. If not, I would definitely like to add that as a feature request as the ability to individually edit these properties seems pretty essential to the lines feature. Oddly, I have never noticed that Dorico doesn't have a rhythmic dot vertical position adjustment until I tried to replicate HeiPet's example. There isn't a way to move these now is there? If not, that seems like a pretty valuable feature to add too.
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, The Grand 3, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, Audient iD14

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

you most certainly can do something that looks like this
Image
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-01-29 at 2.56.45 PM.jpg
s
(34.85 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2020-01-29 at 2.56.45 PM.png
L
(140.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

Fred, you were more committed than I was lol.
Looks like you might have placed text manually. Mine is centered because it's a property of the line itself.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

User avatar
FredGUnn
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by FredGUnn »

Romanos401 wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:00 pm
Fred, you were more committed than I was lol.
Looks like you might have placed text manually. Mine is centered because it's a property of the line itself.
:lol: Yeah, I just did Shift-X text.
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, The Grand 3, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, Audient iD14

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

This actually leads to a nice FR for D4: the ability to not only chose above/below/centered for the text but to also chose Left/right/center justified.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by HeiPet »

Derrek wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:47 pm
I do not understand what you would change from the image above. The hooks?
Derrek, the example is not Dorico. It is from an publication from Strube Verlag in Munich. It was an example, what I want to achieve.

Thanks for your all your thoughts an effort! I still think, that a possibility to have just one ending would be the quickest way to get a proper result without having to do a lot of workaround or manual adjustments - at least at the moment.

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

I’m so at a loss for how to help you.

You say you want to achieve the same as the pic you post.

Two people show you that what you want exactly can be done (it took me all of 4 minutes, and most of that time was opening dorico, creating a blank file, inputting some notes, etc.).

You’re still not pleased. What we demonstrated is that what you want is a perfect use-case for the lines feature. Dorico can’t possibly do all your homework for you.

I suppose the other option is to use first and second endings, use special text for the second ending (which will only be on top, not on bottom too) and then use affinity designer to delete the line of the first ending manually.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 719
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by HeiPet »

Thank you, Romanos401 and FredGUnn for taking the time to try out and help me, what is possible with the new lines tool. I addressed my post to Daniel, because I was referring to the older discussion. I was waiting for the lines tool to see, if it will bring me the desired result. I did this and found out, that I can't get the result without some extra tweaking (adjusting lines and text, which I have managed myself already). If the DEV team would allow to lower the number of endings to "1", there would be no more workarounds necessary for me. My perfect result is just one digit away ... Daniel, please! Dorico sometimes behaves to German - says the German.

User avatar
FredGUnn
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by FredGUnn »

HeiPet wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 2:54 pm
If the DEV team would allow to lower the number of endings to "1", there would be no more workarounds necessary for me. My perfect result is just one digit away ...
I agree, this is a good feature request. You can fake it with music frames too. Just cut off the 2nd ending so it isn't visible in the frame and start a new one. It's a lot of extra work obviously, but doable now if you need to.

Image

I'm still concerned there's no way to adjust the vertical dot position to fully replicate your example. There's not, is there? Or am I just missing it?
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, The Grand 3, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, Audient iD14

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18283
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

There is no way to adjust the rhythm dot positions, no, though in this case they're surely wrong in the original example anyway.

User avatar
FredGUnn
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by FredGUnn »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:07 pm
There is no way to adjust the rhythm dot positions, no, though in this case they're surely wrong in the original example anyway.
I would definitely like to add this as a feature request then. I just briefly looked and couldn't find an example that I've had to engrave before, but I know there have been many instances when I've had to adjust a dot vertically, especially to avoid possible confusion with adjacent notes. Take Gould's example on pg 58:

Image

Unless I'm mistaken, the only way to do that in Dorico is by switching voices there and flipping the stem, right? It would be great to add a feature in the Properties panel to allow the dot to be edited vertically as well.
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, The Grand 3, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, Audient iD14

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18283
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

It's of course been requested before, but it's not easy to achieve because there is no direct correlation between a single note and its rhythm dot, due to the fact that dots belonging to multiple notes can be grouped, and in dense chords some dots will not be drawn. Therefore setting the position of a rhythm dot cannot in general be done directly in a way that is guaranteed to give predictable results. It's on the backlog.

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3861
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Derrek »

I am really confused. Is this about dot placement or non-repeat endings?
Perhaps if someone would translate the German for me, I could better understand what HeiPet is after.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
FredGUnn
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by FredGUnn »

Derrek wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 7:09 pm
I am really confused. Is this about dot placement or non-repeat endings?
LOL, non-repeat endings. It was just when I tried to replicate his sample image exactly, I realized that it wasn't possible to exactly reproduce his augmentation dot placement either. (I agree with Daniel that the dot placement in his image is "wrong," but I've often been asked to do things by composers or publishers that I don't agree with, so it's good to have the flexibility to execute their wishes.)
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, The Grand 3, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, Audient iD14

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1677
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Just one repeat ending

Post by Romanos401 »

Daniel is correct: I mentioned this dot issue a looooong time ago and it does in fact have legitimate uses!

https://www.steinberg.net/forums/downl ... p?id=25334
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: carlo van der put, high5ths, Lillie Harris, stephane_f, Tkearneyone and 12 guests