How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
RenTenTen
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:26 pm
Contact:

How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by RenTenTen » Fri Oct 06, 2017 10:08 am

Hi there,

so when I use hotkeys in Cubase with a Windows system, but focus a plugin window, then the hotkey does not work anymore.
This applies to the default hotkey "Go to Project Start" (Num .) for instance.

I want to be able to use Cubase (playlist) hotkeys even when I have a plugin window focused.
However I cannot find a "global" checkbox in the shortcut overview window.

Can anyone help me out with this, and is it even possible?
Happy composing,
Philipp

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18619
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:13 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately this is not possible. Cubase Key Commands are based on focus.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

RenTenTen
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by RenTenTen » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:38 am

Hello Martin, thanks for your reply.

I understand. I would be happy to have this feature in one of the future version. I love the program :)
Cheers,
Philipp

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18619
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:57 pm

Hi,

Send it to the Feature Request thread, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

RenTenTen
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by RenTenTen » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:27 pm

Thanks, done.

Have a nice day!

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Oct 09, 2017 8:47 pm

Link? would like to +1.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

RenTenTen
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 1:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by RenTenTen » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:16 am

@mitchiemasha I see you already found it :D

For everyone else interested, the link for the Feature Request thread to this topic is:
viewtopic.php?p=675815#p675815

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3052
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: How to make GLOBAL HOTKEYS/SHORTCUTS in Cubase 9

Post by peakae » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:51 pm

Generic remote is worth exploring, just to name a different approach.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests