Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:56 am

Cubase 9.0.30.

I have a DI guitar track, mono. I'm routing it analogue 3 out of my Audient id22 into my outboard device. I do not want to hear the raw DI track playing back only the reamp sound.

i can go to the software mixer of audient and MUTE there but this is not desired. is there a way to route the DI as it is so its coming out of output 3 but NOT playing back? i hope I am wording my question right... im looking for some sort of "route to nowhere" option?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 16957
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:49 am

Hi,

If you mean while recording, disable Record Enable.

If you mean while playback, set the output to Not Connected.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:00 am

The route to 3 should only go to the hardware and not be heard in the mix. Probably something wrong in how you're routing or in the iD settings.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3588
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by svennilenni » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:49 pm

AMPAGE wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 2:56 am
Cubase 9.0.30.

I have a DI guitar track, mono. I'm routing it analogue 3 out of my Audient id22 into my outboard device. I do not want to hear the raw DI track playing back only the reamp sound.

i can go to the software mixer of audient and MUTE there but this is not desired. is there a way to route the DI as it is so its coming out of output 3 but NOT playing back? i hope I am wording my question right... im looking for some sort of "route to nowhere" option?
Are you routing the track output, or using a send?

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:23 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:49 am
Hi,

If you mean while recording, disable Record Enable.

If you mean while playback, set the output to Not Connected.
Martin - If I set the output to NOT CONNECTED then it will not route through the analogue out 3, no?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:26 pm

[/quote]
Are you routing the track output, or using a send?
[/quote]

I am not using a send. I have the output of the DI track going to the bus I called REAMP which is Analogue 3L of my Audient id22. This then plugs into a Radial reamp box.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 5:30 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:49 am
If you mean while playback, set the output to Not Connected.
yes it is while playback. How do I set the DI playback to "Not Connected" but still have it go out Analogue 3L to my reamp box?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:40 pm

Go in your iD mixer/system panel and choose routing other than Main Mix for out 3.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:09 pm

Grim wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:40 pm
Go in your iD mixer/system panel and choose routing other than Main Mix for out 3.
I can MUTE that output but it's not what I want to do. There must be something in Cubase I am doing wrong. I need to know how to route the DI track to my physical hardware output ANALOGUE3 but NOT have it play through any of the playback busses. It must be a BUSSING issue?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:25 pm

Don't MUTE anything....read what I said again and do that.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:35 pm

It is already set to NOT send to Main Mix. It sends as DAW THRU (aka full signal, bypassing hardware volume knob to reamp).

It is coming out of 3/4 in the mixer of the Audient soft panel.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:45 pm

Well it is supposed to be coming out 3/4 (or at least out of 3) as it can't get to your reamp otherwise.
But your speakers are presumably connected to 1/2 so you should not be hearing it over the speakers?
And you definitely are using output routing not direct routing in Cubase (which is an alternative path)?
And you don't have out 4 routed back into the ID somehow and are direct monitoring that?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:57 pm

Doh....I apologise. This does get monitored by the ID even though it is coming from out 3 and shouldn't really be there from my understanding.

Turning it down at the iD fader/muting the channel is the only way to stop it.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:08 pm

Yes - that's why if I mute (or lower fader) of 3/4 in the Audient soft panel it mutes the DI playback sound so I hear just the reamped signal.

Since my DI signal is coming out of ANALOG 3L to a reamp box, why then is it coming out of my Yamaha HS8 which are connected to outs 1/2 via hardware?

I would have thought that anything coming out of 3L would only be audible by whatever would be plugged INTO the output. There has to be some BUSS or virutal routing issue at play? Maybe Martin Jirsak can confirm?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:31 pm

I think you're searching for something other than the obvious (correct) answer....the ID mixer by default mixes all it's sources to 1/2 unless you mute them.
Outputs 1+2 receive the Main Mix of the iD22 mixer. Anything that you want to hear coming out of Outputs 1+2 has to be turned up and unmuted on the iD22 mixer (and everything you don’t want to hear has to be muted).
But I agree it's odd which is why it took me a while to realise it was only working for me because I had 3/4 turned down already....probably because of hitting exactly this issue in the past.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:35 pm

Do you also have Audient id22?
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3588
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by svennilenni » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:40 pm

AMPAGE wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:35 pm
Do you also have Audient id22?
Read his signature...

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:43 pm

svennilenni wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:40 pm
AMPAGE wrote:
Wed Oct 04, 2017 10:35 pm
Do you also have Audient id22?
Read his signature...
That's an affirmative :D
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Wed Oct 04, 2017 11:05 pm

Dudes. Why so snarky. Sorry I did not read his signature. I see it now he has iD22. I will just keep trying to fix this. Thanks for the input.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by Grim » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:08 am

No snarkiness intended.

But there is nothing to fix.....you saw the quote I posted from Audient that confirms this is how it works??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

drgamble
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 6:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by drgamble » Sun Oct 08, 2017 12:29 pm

Do you have input monitoring on? There are several options in Cubase that allow you to monitor different things. I would make sure that input monitoring is off, I often reamp through an Axe Fx and don't use any input monitoring through Cubase at all. I monitor everything through my Saffire Pro 40 and the Mix Control software.

AMPAGE
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:33 am
Contact:

Re: Routing a DI guitar track to nowhere / make it silent on playback for reamp

Post by AMPAGE » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:26 pm

It's not a direct monitoring issue because this is on playback.

It's a very simple mono track with a DI guitar recorded to it The reason I am confused is because I am routing the output of that DI track to Analogue 3L out on the Audient which goes to a reamp box. It is going to a completely separate physical output on the interface and thereby should not be coming out of my studio monitors at all, only sending signal to my reamp box -> tube amplifier.

The "workaround" is to MUTE the output 3/4 of the software mixer which is the very first thing I did but I am struggling to comprehend why a signal being sent to a different physical output on my interface is being played back through my Yamah monitors connected to 1/2. Perhaps I should email Audient.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30 - Windows 10 - CC121 - Korg Taktile49 - Audient iD22 - Yamaha HS8 - Mogami Cable

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests