Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:03 pm

So that there is no confusion this listed below is what i have and am trying to do

Roland
FA06 on inputs 3/4
Fantom XR on spdif a
XV-5050 on spdif b

Kontakt 5

1 x Audio track with recorded guitar

the ultimate for me would be to monitor the inputs of the ur824 ie all of the above
At the moment can see signal on front of ur824 from inputs 3/4 FA06. BUT NO Sound coming from monitors from any of the inputs ONLY the recorded guitar on output 1/2 (Monitor mix)

If i use the dspmixfx outside of cubase i get all three inputs playing fantom/fa/xv-5050/

The interface i had before was ur-44 and all mu vst instruments i could hear correctly, but was using an external mixer so had the synths into mixer and output from ur44 into mixer all worked fine.

So i had the smart idea (NOT SO SMART NOW) doing away with the mixer getting interface that had more inputs and that would be it
was led to believe that ur824 full integrated with Cubase and could be controlled from within Cubase.. "that's a laugh"

What i would like is for some one to simply tell me how to set up cubase. I do not want to confuse things saying what i had tried suffice to say
it involves ins/outs/control room/ direct monitoring and so on..
THIS SHOULD BE SIMPLE maybe i should have got a MOTU
All i want to do is monitor inputs when it comes to final mix will route al channel's to a stereo track and output




Hope you can all understand my rantings
Thanks in advance
Martin
Attachments
Outs.JPG
(66.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Inputs.JPG
(60.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by geldartm on Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:10 pm

I think direct monitor with the integration can only work by creating a track and enabling the monitor button on it.

So tick the direct monitoring box.

then either create 3 stereo audio tracks with the 3 sets of inputs you listed assigned or you could probably set them up as Cubase external instruments and add as instrument tracks. Hit the track monitor buttons and you should hear everything.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:05 am

thanks for the reply i should not have to do all that why can it not just monitor the input tracks, the other thing is the Kontakt 5 plugin that worked fine with my ur44 no issues at, it works fine when running it outside of Cubase
can i ask another question

which driver should i be using

Yamaha asio usb driver
sorry will update with correct names not at home at the moment
Thanks Martin

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:33 am

i should not have to do all that why can it not just monitor the input tracks
Well for better or worse, that's how it was designed.....if that doesn't work for you changing your interface is probably the best option.

Re: Kontakt 5 . You'll need to say something about what the problem actually is....the interface should have no effect on a plugin working or not.

Yes....Yamaha Steinberg USB ASIO driver is what you should select.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3034
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by peakae » Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:19 pm

The only difference with the UR interfaces to other interfaces is that you can't use the dspmix when Cubase is open.
So you create tracks, connect them and enable monitoring on them, you would have to do that anyway if you actually want to record anything. That's how most work anyway regardless of interface used, save a template if this really is to much work for you.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:44 pm

So in simple terms there is no way to monitor the inputs of the interface ie

as if it was a mixer studio monitors, with mutable inputs and listen to them, what is the point of the large knob at the end of the UR824, and the monitor outputs
if you cannot monitor the sources

Sorry but I have just got rid of my Roland VS-2480 and gone to a multi input audio interface to do this so probably wasted my money (although i do have a version of Cubase 9 to sell as came with the interface)
Basically i do not record anything till the end and then it is to a stereo master (Other than Guitars).

In other DAW's i can monitor.

Thanks will need to speak to Steindberg as still believe there is a driver issue as Plugins still not working now.

Martin

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:11 pm

peakae wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:19 pm
So you create tracks, connect them and enable monitoring on them, you would have to do that anyway if you actually want to record anything. That's how most work anyway regardless of interface used, save a template if this really is to much work for you.
I respectfully would have to disagree with this statement.
Most interfaces allow direct monitoring of input to output without any need to create any tracks in the DAW in the same way dspmixfx does outside of Cubase. Being forced to create a track for every direct monitored input is strictly a UR/Cubase thing.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:36 pm

geldartm wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:44 pm
So in simple terms there is no way to monitor the inputs of the interface ie
In simple terms yes there is a way to do it...you create tracks in Cubase and arm monitoring as I said.
what is the point of the large knob at the end of the UR824, and the monitor outputs
if you cannot monitor the sources
It controls the volume of the monitor outs....and of the sources too once you accept the fact that you have to monitor the sources by making tracks in the DAW.
geldartm wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:44 pm
Basically i do not record anything till the end and then it is to a stereo master (Other than Guitars).
Martin
I'm assuming you already create a midi track and record the midi......So if you were to add the devices as External Instruments and load to an instrument track instead of a plain midi track there would be nothing else to add in the project.
The external instrument setup should take care of the monitoring. Or at least I think so...Maybe someone using External Instruments can confirm??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:09 pm

Thanks for all your input. i have been trying today creating the audio tracks and monitoring them, the only issue i have with it is latency.

And i am glad someone else thinks like i do, Grim :)

Maybe should have gone for one of the Motu interfaces i know that they allow you to monitor directly, to late now, the only other silly thing about this is if i use Sonar then there is no issue only Cubase, I have been a user since version 2 on the Atari 1024 ST

Thanks a lot
Martin

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Sat Sep 23, 2017 11:09 pm

geldartm wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:09 pm
Thanks for all your input. i have been trying today creating the audio tracks and monitoring them, the only issue i have with it is latency.
Well you'll always have some latency if your midi passes via the DAW....just make sure direct monitoring is ticked so you're not doubling your latency with the audio delay and then it's down to lowering your buffer as much as poss and avoiding plugins with latency or using constrain delay compensation to disable them while playing.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by shanabit » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:02 pm

If you Uninstall the Steinberg MR Extension you can monitor your inputs with Cubase running. Thats what I did here so I can run Logc , StudioOne, Reaper etc and use the MR Editor here. The Steinberg Extension app takes over the Console software so everything is running THROUGH Cubase if you will.

Doing it this way I can use the console software with Cubase open as well. You will lose the direct integration through

How do you do this??

1. Run the Tools Installer
2. Select UNINSTALL on the Steinberg Extension
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:30 pm

Thanks for that i will try all these things, Maybe Steinberg will see the light. LoL

I have been looking in more detail at the MOTU 828 i think (the one with the led channel lights and it can defiantly switch to direct monitor of source.)

The other odd thing is that two of my synths are connected via SPDIF and that is already Digital so strange it will not pass that through as well) anyway i cannot return this one now.

It is obviously not a physical issue of the interface

Thanks again
Martin

geldartm
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 7:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by geldartm » Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:46 pm

shanabit wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:02 pm
If you Uninstall the Steinberg MR Extension you can monitor your inputs with Cubase running. Thats what I did here so I can run Logc , StudioOne, Reaper etc and use the MR Editor here. The Steinberg Extension app takes over the Console software so everything is running THROUGH Cubase if you will.

Doing it this way I can use the console software with Cubase open as well. You will lose the direct integration through

How do you do this??

1. Run the Tools Installer
2. Select UNINSTALL on the Steinberg Extension
I have the UR824. i cannot see a choice to not install the extensions
That is it all sorted Thanks for that that is exactly how i want to work :) :)

Thanks

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by shanabit » Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:56 pm

geldartm wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:46 pm
shanabit wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:02 pm
If you Uninstall the Steinberg MR Extension you can monitor your inputs with Cubase running. Thats what I did here so I can run Logc , StudioOne, Reaper etc and use the MR Editor here. The Steinberg Extension app takes over the Console software so everything is running THROUGH Cubase if you will.

Doing it this way I can use the console software with Cubase open as well. You will lose the direct integration through

How do you do this??

1. Run the Tools Installer
2. Select UNINSTALL on the Steinberg Extension
I have the UR824. i cannot see a choice to not install the extensions
That is it all sorted Thanks for that that is exactly how i want to work :) :)

Thanks
For you PC guys:
Control Panel\Programs\Uninstall a Program, find the EXTENSION and Uninstall
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by shanabit » Sun Sep 24, 2017 5:02 pm

geldartm wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 3:30 pm
Thanks for that i will try all these things, Maybe Steinberg will see the light. LoL

I have been looking in more detail at the MOTU 828 i think (the one with the led channel lights and it can defiantly switch to direct monitor of source.)

The other odd thing is that two of my synths are connected via SPDIF and that is already Digital so strange it will not pass that through as well) anyway i cannot return this one now.

It is obviously not a physical issue of the interface

Thanks again
Martin

1. The UR Extension is locking you out
2. If you Uninstall the Extension then you can adjust the fader inputs for the SPIDF
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3034
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by peakae » Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:54 pm

Yes this would have been my second suggestion. But as you loose the integration in Cubase, I didn't think this was the obvious choice.
Although I did that when I was using the MR816x as my main interface.
The UR824 performes better than any of the motu usb interfaces, I think it's a great interface in that price range.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Help ur824 and Cubase 9

Post by shanabit » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:12 am

As was mentioned, this is ONLY an issue with the Steinberg interfaces as they are designed to integrate Cubase functionality with them. IF you are using ANY other interface you wont have that issue

OPTIONS:
1. Uninstall the UR Extension App but you will lose the Cubase integration and maybe the plugins on input

2. Get a diff interface. RME, MOTU, Focusrite, any will do what you need in that regard
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: currentsound and 7 guests