External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
cobra2935
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:29 am
Contact:

External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by cobra2935 »

I've been trouble shooting this issue all day and I'm at my wits end. Hoping someone can provide some guidance.

I'm setting up my Alesis QS8.1 as an external instrument so that I can use it like a VSTi within Cubase. I'm able to configure everything as instructed in the manual and in the handful of YouTube videos that I've watched on the subject. However, when I go to create an instrument track and select my external instrument, it will not assign to the track. I select the instrument from the drop-down list, but after I select it, the value returns to "No VST Instrument" and the assignment fails.

The connections and configuration are as follows:

QS8.1 left and right audio outs into a small line mixer. Line mixer outputs to the aux in of the Omni I/O break-out box, and routed to inputs 3/4 of the Delta 66 card. Inputs 3/4 are free and available for use with the line mixer. Created a new MIDI device using the QS7 device in the device list, and connected to output A of the MIDISport 4x4. The QS8.1's MIDI ports are connected to input/output A of the MIDISport 4x4. In VST Connections, the QS8.1 MIDI device is configured to return audio to input 3 (left) and 4 (right) of the Delta 66.

I've tried configuring the external instrument many times now, with no luck in being able to select it when creating an instrument track.

The hardware/software details are as follows:

Cubase 8.0.40
WIndows 7 SP1 (Intel i7 CPU, ASUS P4P-700DX Mobo, 16GB RAM)
M-Audio Delta 66 PCIe Audio Card wit Omni I/O break-out box
Midiman MIDISport 4x4 USB MIDI interface
Alesis QS8.1 Synth

All drivers are updated to the latest versions.

Can anyone provide some ideas on what the issue might be? It's been highly frustrating to configure this exactly as instructed and demonstrated in YouTube videos yet have it now work on my system!

Thank you.
cobra2935

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Could you attach a Screenshot of your External Instrument settings, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

cobra2935
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:29 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by cobra2935 »

Thank you for your reply. Here are three screenshots of the setup:

Cubase - MIDI Device Manager.jpg
(47.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase - VST Connections.jpg
(86.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase - VST Instruments List.jpg
(47.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet

As can be seen, I've added the MIDI device and connected it to the appropriate output of my MIDI interface, added the external instrument in VST Connections and setup the return bus inputs to which the external synth is connected, but the external instrument does not appear in the drop down list of VST instruments when creating an instrument track.

I'm at a bit of a loss. Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
cobra2935

cobra2935
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:29 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by cobra2935 »

Anyone have any ideas?
cobra2935

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1326
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Raphie »

Seems you did everything right. I don't know your port names, but this is what I normally do. if this doesn't work, please trash your preferences, something else must be wrong.

1. Create a new external instrument and assign the right audio inputs inputs (seems ok)
2. got to midi device manager and create a new midi device, linking the correct midi outport port
3. link the midi device to the external instrument in the same window as 1

press F11 and see if it's vissible in both RACK and TRACK instrument (rack being for multitimbral and TRACK being for a single INSTRUMENT channel)
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 32gB DDR4-4400
Windows 10 x64 1909 - Cubase Pro 10.5x - Wavelab Pro 10.x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

cobra2935
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:29 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by cobra2935 »

Thanks, Raphie. I'll try trashing preferences.
cobra2935

jame0087
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by jame0087 »

Hello,

I am having the exact same problem with Pro 9.5 as cobra2935. Did you ever resolve this issue?

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by joedaddario »

Hi, found this thread today while experiencing the exact same issue but it only occurs in C10 and C10.5. VERY frustrating.
C10.5.0 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

It works to me here on Cubase 10.5.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by joedaddario »

Martin it would be more helpful if you would tell us how you got this to work. Screenshots Etc.?
C10.5.0 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I was just following Raphies' step by step description. And it worked.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

cobra7
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by cobra7 »

I recall having followed Ralphie's instructions and it still didn't work for me, but I did eventually get it to work, though I don't remember how at this point. I'll check in my system when i get home tonight and see if I can remember what I did to resolve the issue and post back if so.
cobra7

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Please see attached animated GIF. I hope this helps.
Attachments
External_Instrument.gif
(1.93 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by joedaddario »

Martin,

Thank you for the video. Looks like you put a lot of work into it.
Unfortunately it still doesn't work on my system. I did notice that your layout and windows etc look entirely different than mine. Most likely because your on MAC and I am on WIN. It sure is baffling. Maybe it's only broken on Windows version?
C10.5.0 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23158
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I have just tried in Cubase 10.5 on Windows. The result is the same. It just works to me here.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
joedaddario
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:37 am
Contact:

Re: External Instrument Can't be Assigned to Instrument Track

Post by joedaddario »

Dang Martin. I'm jealous. Thanks for the feedback bro. Fortunately this is feature I don't use often. When I do need it I can launch C9.5 workaround that way. If you find any new info on the subject I'd appreciate it.
Joey
C10.5.0 64-bit ,Intel Core i7, Win 7 64 bit Home Ed.
Crowns Of Creation Ministries
"Stirring up goodness, peace, joy from the Lord."

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests