Help I'm a cubase newbie!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
heronbirduk

Help I'm a cubase newbie!

Post by heronbirduk » Mon Jan 03, 2011 11:14 am

Hi there, Im Judi and I have Cubase studio 5. First of all if I am posting in the wrong place would someone kindly tell me so, I have no idea how to navigate these things! I dont know how many new to cubase people come on here but I was wondering whether someone might take a little bit of time with me on here to help me. I would be so grateful. I'll tell you a little bit about my experience so you can understand. Ive wanted to make music most of my life (im 28). I finally got cubase about 1.5 years ago (after doing a short introductory course-it was great but not long enough) and was just completely overwhelmed. I tried to read the getting started manual and that helped a little, as well as tutorials but I got discouraged and just left it. Well ive decided to give it another go but I have simple questions that if I can get them answered I know I will progress a lot! Forgive me, my knowledge is VERY basic, Im creative but need guidance. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me btw. My first question is this: Im starting very basic and just want to create a full track with one of the beats in groove agent one-vinyl loops. Basically I want to know how to record this so that it doesnt play for the whole song but only in the places I want it. Sorry if this has a very obvious answer. I have selected it in the instrument track and changed it to 110bpm but it just plays the whole time. I want it to come in after a few bars of music. Thank you so much for anyone who is willing to help me, its taken a while for me to pluck up the courage to write on here as I feel like I dont know anything!

Have a great day everyone,

Judi
Success is getting what you want; happiness is wanting what you get.
-- Ingrid Bergman

Split
Grand Senior Member

Re: Help I'm a cubase newbie!

Post by Split » Mon Jan 03, 2011 12:23 pm