Instrument names in German version

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:29 pm

Hi Daniel,

after we got back the key commands for the German version, I started to look through the 1.0.30 update and found out, that all the instrument names are English again (at least on Windows). You do have some German beta testers, do you? :o

Heiko

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:03 pm

Sorry, I forgot, that I did a fresh installation of Dorico. Therefore the instruments names are back to English again, which leads me to the question, if the instrument names shouldn't by default match the system language (if available)?
In the German instrument list there are a lot of empty instruments especially at the beginning of the Brass list.
It looks very funny, that the transpositions are now indicated as e.g. "E Be" instead of "Es" and "F Kreuz" instead of "Fis". I assume, that this is a list very much in progress?

Heiko

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13811
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:52 am

I believe most of the instrument names are translated, but some of the very recently added ones new in 1.0.30 such as the various new horn transpositions etc. may well show names in English. This is not a bug but rather a reflection of the fact that we are making changes to Dorico more quickly than our localisation team can keep up. (The same team is handling localisation for all of our products, so they have had major new versions of Cubase and HALion and their respective manuals to work on as well as Dorico.)

The next update coming in the spring should have a more complete set of localisations for all languages. I'm afraid that there will likely be a lag between the English and localised versions for the foreseeable future.

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Thu Mar 02, 2017 1:41 am

Thank you for your answer, Daniel. That what I've exprected. Normally all items, which haven't been translated yet, are displayed in English, but in the Instrument list, there are a lot of instruments with no names now (see picture)?!
empty instrument list.png
(29.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet

UMahnken
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 7:21 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by UMahnken » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:58 am

Hi HeiPet :-)

bei mir funktioniert alles korrekt, habe allerdings ein Update gemacht.

Amadeus14
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Amadeus14 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 8:42 pm

I have the same problem after updating from 1.0.20 to 1.0.30 and inserting any player/instrument in the German version. But I think, no instrument is missing - scroll down in the lists or search for instrument and you'll find the instruments.
The difference between English and German version is, that there are no empty entries at the beginning of the English instruments lists.
In my opinion it is a problem of incorrect indexing or linking of entries in the instrument table in the german version.
Following instrument groups are affected in the german version:
"Holzblasinstrumente",
"Blechblasinstrumente",
"Gestimmte Perkussion",
"Sänger/-innen".-

@Dorico-Team: could you please check this?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13811
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Mar 02, 2017 11:31 pm

I've had a look at the German-language version myself here and I'm not seeing any empty entries in any of those families. Could you attach a screenshot for me?

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:51 am

That's what I already did. See my last post above.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13811
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:19 am

Sorry, Heiko, I missed that. Is this the case in all projects, or only existing ones?

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:38 am

In all cases.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13811
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:51 am

Could you please zip up your userLibrary.xml file from %APPDATA%\Steinberg\Dorico (Windows) or ~/Library/Application Support/Steinberg/Dorico and send it to me at d dot spreadbury at steinberg dot de? Also worth temporarily moving that file out of the way and then restarting Dorico to see if that helps.

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:07 am

There is no such file (see picute).
Folder.PNG
(19.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13811
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 03, 2017 11:56 am

The plot thickens. Could you send me the file instrumentnames_de.xml from %PROGRAMFILES%\Steinberg\Dorico\l10n?

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:12 pm

Just mailed the file to you.

User avatar
Ben at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 2:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Ben at Steinberg » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:28 pm

Hi Heiko,

Daniel and I talked about this issue this afternoon and we think that some of the instruments that have been added or amended since the last round of translation may have been missing from the localised instrument name files. (Note: they will still appear in English, but at least they won't be blank!) ;)

Could you try replacing your instrumentnames_de.xml file with the one inside this zip file?
instrumentnames_de.xml.zip
(14.05 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
Let us know if that works!
Thanks,
Ben

Amadeus14
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Amadeus14 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 6:52 pm

Hi Ben & Daniel,
I just tried your new (attached) file - in my opinion after a short check this works. There are no blank entries left in all groups!
Thanks, Wolfgang.

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 462
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:44 pm

Hi Ben and Daniel,
checked as well and the empty lines are gone. Thanks for taking your time to look into this!
English instrument names are o.k. until the localization steps forward.

Heiko

User avatar
Ben at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 2:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Ben at Steinberg » Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:26 pm

Great - thank you for confirming that!

The first phase of the translation process is underway right now, with another round due before we release 1.1, so you should find Dorico has a lot fewer English strings in the next update.

Thanks for your patience and support!

Zimi
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2016 6:05 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Zimi » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:01 pm

Where on the Mac do I need to put the file instrumentnames_de.xml?

Amadeus14
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 2:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Amadeus14 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:44 pm

See Ben's general announcment on the top of this forum
(=first Topic "Key commands/keyboard shortcuts in German Dorico 1.0.30")!
viewtopic.php?f=246&t=113823

piano_jochen
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by piano_jochen » Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:37 pm

Were there any changes to instrument names localisation in v1.2? I just created a score layout from scratch in the german version of Dorico and I was pretty sure that Dorico already had german instrument names. In my current 1.2 version, all the instrument categories are in german, the instrument names are all in english, though (see attached picture). It was quite time consuming to change all the instrument names by hand.
I looked into the instrumentnames_de.xml file in Dorico.app and all german instrument names translations seem to be there...
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2017-12-12 um 15.27.43.png
(72.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Thomas Eberth
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:08 am
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Thomas Eberth » Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:47 pm

In Engraving Options you can set the language (Sprache) of instrument names.

Thomas
_______________________________________
working for http://www.butz-musikverlag.de

Mac OS 10.13 High Sierra
Finale 3.7 to 2014.5
MuseScore 2.0.3
Dorico Pro 2.2.20

User avatar
Anja Buckley
Moderator
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 10:27 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Anja Buckley » Tue Dec 12, 2017 3:49 pm

Please go to "Engraving Options", then choose the category "Language", there you can change the language of the instrument names.
Anja Buckley, Technical Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

piano_jochen
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by piano_jochen » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:09 pm

Thanks guys... still a lot to learn! ;-)

Estigy
Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:56 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Instrument names in German version

Post by Estigy » Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:06 pm

I have to report that changing this setting does not change any instrument names here.

I just installed 1.2, did a PC reboot and started a new score using the "Concert Band" template that came with Dorico.
When I change the instrument name setting to German, the instruments stay in English.

I also tried a new score from scratch, added a Clarinet, changed the name setting to German - and it stayed "Clarinet".

BTW, I know that this has worked here in 1.1.
Dorico 3 on Windows 10
www.dorico-resources.net

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pianoleo and 4 guests