NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
tomtomlog
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:08 pm
Contact:

NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by tomtomlog » Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:56 pm

NI Komplete S-Series integration worked perfectly until updating to 9.0.10 from 9.0.1.
Before an own device was created under devices which is gone now.
Also have Cubase 8.5 installed on my Maschine, there it is still working.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18559
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:10 am

Hi,

That's strange. The opposite should be true. There was an issue in Cubase 9.0.0 and 9.0.1, which was fixed by 9.0.10.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Jay Weigel
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Jay Weigel » Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:24 pm

I have the exact same issue.
Jay

Nuendo 10, Dorico 2, Cubase 10, Wavelab 9.5, MacOSX, RME Fireface, VSL, Omnisphere, Trillion, LASS, CineBrass, Waves, Komplete, Play, Berlin Strings, UAD, etc

Scotty_123
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Scotty_123 » Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:26 am

It is working here on Windows 7 64 bit. I keep forgetting that track focus only works on track instruments. Also the transport is functioning as well. I have saved and recalled several sessions as I was having some issues before . It seems fine now on my machine. If you want to send me a test project I am happy to see what happens on my end.



Jay Weigel wrote:I have the exact same issue.
ASUSP97X-17HexCore,RME - RayDatX2,OASYS-PCI,Cubase 9,KorgLeg,Avalon737SPX2+2022, UA LA610MK2X2,UA 6176, UA-DCS, UA-1176D, Golden Age 73MKII +Compressor, IK ARC,UAD2OCTO,AdamA7X,YamA4000, BCF+R2000s/,Subphatty.Volcas, Minibrute,ProsonusFSX4+Central Station,YamahaCS5,Ensoniq DP-4,VirusC,Scope25DSP, Arturia,Plugiator, NI KONTROL

mbira
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by mbira » Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:34 am

Hmm...I have had so much trouble with the Komplete Kontrol wrapper for the VSTs that I gave up on it. (in both Ableton and Cubase). I actually just got a Nektar controller to replace my S-25 keyboard. I really like the feel of the keyboard, but it has been too frustrating of a workflow....
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

tomtomlog
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by tomtomlog » Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:26 pm

mbira wrote:Hmm...I have had so much trouble with the Komplete Kontrol wrapper for the VSTs that I gave up on it. (in both Ableton and Cubase). I actually just got a Nektar controller to replace my S-25 keyboard. I really like the feel of the keyboard, but it has been too frustrating of a workflow....
I don't know what problems you had, but for me it worked perfectly before the update to 9.0.10 (also with Live it works pretty well - maybe you had some configuration issues)

mbira
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by mbira » Sat Feb 11, 2017 5:22 am

tomtomlog wrote: I don't know what problems you had, but for me it worked perfectly before the update to 9.0.10 (also with Live it works pretty well - maybe you had some configuration issues)
My main issue are usability issues. I find Komplete Kontrol to be very clunky and slow as compared to just opening the standard plugins.
Cubase Pro - usually the latest version | Cubase Elements (because of the damn dongle) | Wavelab Pro | Dorico 2 Pro | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7 16 G RAM, OS 10.10| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

Mark90
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Mark90 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:33 am

Having the same issue with track focus on windows 10 64bit, cubase elements 9 latest update.
The transport controls work along with the main encoder but the last instance of komplete kontrol is displayed on the keyboard and doesn't change when navigating up and down the tracks.

User avatar
Quietly
Member
Posts: 302
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Quietly » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:34 pm

Sorry cannot help as working perfectly here and has done on the two Pro 9 updates.
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 8 etc

peachy
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by peachy » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:38 pm

Focus was all wrong on 9.0.01 but in 9.0.10 its fully working now... at least on my system.
Intel i7 8700K @4.8, Intel Z370 , 32 gig corsair RAM, Nvidia 1080, 4k monitor, Windows 10 64 bit, Steinberg UR824, Cubase 10 Pro, HALion 6, Groove Agent 5. SoundToys, U-He, NI, Moog. and 30 years of other kit....

tomtomlog
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by tomtomlog » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:04 pm

Solution if it doesn't work: Enable "DirectMusic" Midi-Devices. If enabled Komplete Kontrol appears as Device and it's functional again, but the new HotPlug-function from C9 isn't working anymore.
I think (but can't test it anymore and don't want to reinstall C9) with 9.0.1 this was not a problem it also worked with "DirectMusic" Midi-Devices disabled.

Mark90
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Mark90 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:47 pm

Solution if it doesn't work: Enable "DirectMusic" Midi-Devices. If enabled Komplete Kontrol appears as Device and it's functional again
Just tried this suggestion and the track focus still doesn't work :cry:

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by xenteq » Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:21 pm

I've just connected a Kontrol to Cubase 9.0.10. This is the first time I've connected to any version of Cubase, so I'm not exactly sure how it should be working.

I'm on Win 10 (PC Spec Below). Track focus seems to be working ok on the keyboard - i.e. the keyboard updates when I switch tracks. However, it plays MIDI on any of the Komplete tracks with monitoring enabled. Is this normal? I have to switch monitoring on and off for each track as I navigate. I was expecting the keyboard to only transmit to the selected track.

*Update*

No, it's not working properly, it isn't changing to MIDI mode when I navigate to a normal MIDI track
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

tomtomlog
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by tomtomlog » Wed Feb 22, 2017 7:24 pm

For me it's working perfectly.
If it's not working for you check following kb entry:
https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... TE-KONTROL

And make sure only Komplete Kontrol is enabled under all settings. ext and daw should be hidden and not enabled under all midi-devices.

If all is setup correctly all is working as excepted with the only exception with direct music on Plug’n’play for midi-devices on windows won't work - BUT Komplete Kontrol works perfectly under Cubase 9.0.1 with direct music disabled!

Mark90
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:21 am
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by Mark90 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:44 pm

If it's not working for you check following kb entry:
https://support.native-instruments.com/ ... TE-KONTROL

And make sure only Komplete Kontrol is enabled under all settings. ext and daw should be hidden and not enabled under all midi-devices.
Tried this and the focus is still not working (Gets stuck on the last Komplete Kontrol instance).

I have raised a support request on both Steinberg and NI so will wait for an answer.

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by xenteq » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:34 pm

I'll try the tip above. I've put a ticket into NI, so we'll see what they say. There is a thread on this on the NI forum.

https://www.native-instruments.com/foru ... -9.312762/

This was before the latest patch, but NI and Steinberg do seem to communicating on the issue.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

xenteq
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 5:59 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by xenteq » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:42 pm

There is an update for Komplete Kontrol to v1.8

I've installed that, ensured that Komplete Kontrol-EXT and -DAW are removed from 'All MIDI In' and activated 'Direct MIDI'.

Track focus working fine now.
Cubase 9.0.10 Pro (64bit) Windows 10 Pro, i7 4790 3.6GHz, 32Gb RAM
ESI ESU 1808 Audio Interface, ESI M8UXL MIDI Interface

tomtomlog
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: NI Komplete S-Series integration gone with 9.0.10 Update

Post by tomtomlog » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:59 am

The bug which I have in Cubase 9.0.10 is not directly related to direct music or Windows midi - both are working fine and it doesn't matter if it's Komplete Kontrol 1.7 or 1.8.

I have the bug if Komplete Kontrol is added as Windows midi device it's not stored when closing Cubase, so every restart it's gone and I have to add it again.
THIS was working perfectly working under Cubase 9.0.1. - please fix this Steinberg!!!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests