Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression please!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression please!

Post by m203 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:16 pm

Hi everyone, I grouped all my vocal tracks into one group. I set the send level to 0db for each one. Once I did this the volume for all vocal tracks increased a lot. I'm not sure why this is happening because I don't understand SENDs well enough. I need a quick primer to help me . Here's what I'm trying to do: add some light compression to the group track to get all the vocal tracks to gel a little better together and prevent a few of them from spiking at certain parts (limit them)

Please help

Thanks
"What worries you masters you"

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by Grim » Fri Jan 13, 2017 8:26 pm

To compress a group of vocals together use the insert slots on the group track.

Sends are for FX that add to the signal rather than effecting the signal....reverb, delay and other FX that can be set 100% wet.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:38 pm

Thank you!!
"What worries you masters you"

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:56 pm

Also, where do I set the output for a VST instrument to go to the Group?
"What worries you masters you"

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by Grim » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:20 pm

In full Mixconsole/Routing rack or open the channel editor (e buttons)
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 7:01 am

Sorry Grim, I don't see them "(
"What worries you masters you"

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by Grim » Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:59 pm

You don't see what?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:53 pm

I can't find where I assign a VST instrument output to a group ?
"What worries you masters you"

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by Grim » Sat Jan 14, 2017 10:56 pm

Did you press any button with e on it to open the channel editor? they're all over the place, quite hard to miss....in the inspector in 2 places for instrument tracks, in the track list, in the MixConsole full or lower zone version on every channel!
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:35 am

Yes of course , and every time I open them they say "stereo out" and there is no way to change it
"What worries you masters you"

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 2:37 am

Look at the image.. it's the editor window for RMX... the red button lower right says stereo, that is output, but there is no way to change it
Attachments
Untitled-8.jpg
(133.01 KiB) Not downloaded yet
"What worries you masters you"

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by Grim » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:42 am

Where it says 2 Targets is where it should say Stereo Out and where you would (and should still be able to) change it.

You have assigned the group via direct routing which is why it says 2 targets. It won't be a problem unless you assign this channel back to the stereo out and then the group direct routing will stay active. I'd suggest you lose the direct routing altogether.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Mon Jan 16, 2017 5:49 am

But I haven't made any direct routing assignments. This is what Cubase assigned when I added the instrument. I have no idea how to lose the direct routing and assign the VST to a group. I have spent hours now combing through the manual and trying every button imaginable and I just don't see how the VST its routed to a group. So frustrated
"What worries you masters you"

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3767
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by svennilenni » Mon Jan 16, 2017 9:54 am

m203 wrote:But I haven't made any direct routing assignments. This is what Cubase assigned when I added the instrument. I have no idea how to lose the direct routing and assign the VST to a group.
You don´t have direct routing, so forget about that, the 2nd target is the send.

m203 wrote: I have spent hours now combing through the manual and trying every button imaginable and I just don't see how the VST its routed to a group. So frustrated
Well, as has been said before click on where it says "2 targets" and assign the group there. You can also use the "Add group channel to selected channels" command in the mix console, or as also mentioned already, the routing rack in the mixconsole. There is reall not much more to explain about that - straightforward, very simple, and also well documented in the manual. Maybe start reading it once more.

m203
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Help with how to use SENDS 4 group track compression ple

Post by m203 » Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:10 am

Thank you I see it now. Thanks
"What worries you masters you"

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests