super-computer ?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
aleksa77
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:34 pm
Contact:

super-computer ?

Post by aleksa77 »

Hi all,

I’m looking for a computer for a new studio that can handle a huge processing demand. Today I’m running a iMac 27” 2016 with a core i7 4GHz. And the projects that I’m planning will need x4 that processing power.

I have tested a dual Xeon workstation. The WS scored 1200 in cinebench r15. But this is not enough.

Any ideas how I can get/build a super-computer ? All motherboards i have found have max 2 CPU even the server version.

Im using the universal audio external HW and DSP power to improve the situation today. But its not enough.

Are the any other generic external DSP machines that will help cubase with instruments and all internal pluggs ?

Thanks for any ideas..

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by Strophoid »

I think you'll need a multi-PC solution.
Use Vienna Ensemble Pro to synchronize your project across multiple computers. That should get you where you want, probably cheaper than trying to get everything running on a single computer.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by mroekalea »

cores do not add exponential, every core could be as effective as maximal 60%. The more cores the more synchronisation has to happen, even more when more cpu sockets are in the game.
Indeed multi-PC configuration could be the way, but also consider the old fashion overdubs and printing methods.
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

aleksa77
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by aleksa77 »

Thanks, i was not aware about Vienna. Im trying to understand if the actual audio feed is pushed back to the cubase mixer ? or do you have to use the Vienna mixer ? and merge in mixer.. but if not, then this is a good solution. you could run many separate instrument computers and convert in cubase. Only thing is to keep track of all the save files and project.. But its absolutely a solution worth investigating. Thanks !!!

Manomars
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:56 pm
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by Manomars »

aleksa77 wrote:

Im using the universal audio external HW and DSP power to improve the situation today. But its not enough.

Are the any other generic external DSP machines that will help cubase with instruments and all internal pluggs ?

Thanks for any ideas..
Your projects must be huge.
For eq and dynamics and maybe some verbs u could use something like the x32 core with adat.
Nice dsp cards are sonic core scope Xite.
If u use a lot of vst like isotope ozone and other powerconsuming monsters u dsp will load up very quick.
Most of the time u can do the same thing with lighter vst's

Using Vienna would be an option you also could slave systems with adat. That gives u the option to mix hardware and software in a very easy way and may turn out must cheaper and more effective.

aleksa77
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:34 pm
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by aleksa77 »

Yes they can get very heavy in high resolution.. :(

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1326
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: super-computer ?

Post by Raphie »

Can you share a bit about what you try to achieve, which plugins you are using, you want to go to windows?
What soundcard? Budget, intended workflow, Etc etc. Context is everything in these topics
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - SAMSUNG 970 PRO 1TB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 32gB DDR4-4400
Windows 10 x64 1909 - Cubase Pro 10.5x - Wavelab Pro 10.x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests