Dorico without Instruments

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
trollcat
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Dorico without Instruments

Post by trollcat » Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:23 pm

I have been looking for an integrated scoring editor within Cubase 7. Its quite a dream come true that Steinberg actually provides one now, Dorico.

Since I already have the Instruments with me, can I have just the Scoring Software sans Instruments ?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 11924
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico without Instruments

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:27 pm

Cubase of course already has an integrated scoring editor, which it has had for more than 20 years. If you need help finding it, please do ask in the Cubase forum. It's very capable in its own right.

When you install Dorico, it won't install any of the HALion instruments and content if it finds them already installed on your computer.

trollcat
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico without Instruments

Post by trollcat » Sat Oct 15, 2016 3:34 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:Cubase of course already has an integrated scoring editor, which it has had for more than 20 years. If you need help finding it, please do ask in the Cubase forum. It's very capable in its own right.

When you install Dorico, it won't install any of the HALion instruments and content if it finds them already installed on your computer.
May be I've not used the full features of Cubase Scoring Editor. Can I work with keyboard or something with inbuilt score editor ?

User avatar
Alberto Maria
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico without Instruments

Post by Alberto Maria » Sat Oct 15, 2016 11:38 am

trollcat wrote:Can I work with keyboard or something with inbuilt score editor ?
Yes absolutely. You can even play freely, then edit the result to get a decent score. I prefer Step Input, obviously... ;)
AmM
Alberto Maria


wXpPro SP3 still working in C6.5] W10pro 64b et al. like Mac.., SX1.0.6.78, SX2.2.39, SX3.1.1.944, C4.5.2.274, C5.5.3.651, C6.5.5.176, C7.0.7.2276, C7.5.40.315, C8.0.40.623, C8.5.30.192, C9.0.40.292, C9.5.50.345, C10.0.30.288, TgSe 3.1.0.196, VidEng 1.2.1.12, H5.2.2.6.87, HsonicSe3.2.20.194, D1.2.10.139, D2.2.10.1286

trollcat
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico without Instruments

Post by trollcat » Mon Oct 17, 2016 5:24 pm

Alberto Maria wrote:
trollcat wrote:Can I work with keyboard or something with inbuilt score editor ?
Yes absolutely. You can even play freely, then edit the result to get a decent score. I prefer Step Input, obviously... ;)
As the composition progresses, writing score along the way will be very important. I don't think internal score editor lets me do that like MuseScore.

I don't mind buying Dorico given all that its letting me do. But I guess the pricetag includes the instruments I already have :? :?

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: András at Steinberg, Chakazulu, pianoleo and 8 guests