Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
nsutton88
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:38 pm
Contact:

Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by nsutton88 »

Hi, I have somehow managed to mess up my cubase........and I am not sure how.

Basically, once imported into cubase, all audio (mainly mp3/wav samples I chop up) sounds nothing like it should. Its almost like its being run through a filter or has a input effect on it. Obviously, I checked and that is not the case......however I cannot see what it could be. I haven't messed with any settings recently but it was not a problem before.

It seems to correct itself once I export the audio and play it on winamp/itunes etc. However, sounding strange and missing musical elements makes the samples hard/impossible to work with.

Below are screenshots of my audio device set up (inc ASIO4all) & the import audio window. I am not super well educated on sample/bit rates so sorry if there is an obvious error I am making.

Audio Device Settings: http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e142/ ... ovqskw.png

ASIO4all: http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e142/ ... pynbd5.png

Import Audio: http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e142/ ... xpyopg.png

I have tried unchecking the sample size box already but with no improvement.

Equipment:
Cubase Elements 7
Windows 8 (turned off the windows 10 updates!)

Appreciate any help!
Using Cubase Elements 7 - Windows 8

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Do you have any Insert effect on your Stereo Out Channel? Could you send a screenshot of the MixConsole, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

nsutton88
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by nsutton88 »

Hi Martin, thanks for your reply. Here is an screengrab of my mixconsole.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e142/ ... eszudm.png

Does that show anything? Is it what you wanted to see or was it something else?

Cheers
Using Cubase Elements 7 - Windows 8

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

This seems to be OK. Try to increase the Buffer Size as much as possible, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

nsutton88
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by nsutton88 »

Thank Martin, just to check....what would be the recommended buffer size?
Using Cubase Elements 7 - Windows 8

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

It always depends on the system, the driver, the project and the task.

When you are recording, you try to set the Buffer Size as low as possible, to get the lowest latency. When you are mixing, you need much more power for your plug-ins, so then you increase the Buffer Size.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

nsutton88
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by nsutton88 »

Thanks again for the help. However, should the program be struggling when all it is working with is a small audio file with no plug-ins on it?

Im really trying not to have to reinstall the whole program as that can sometimes be a pain, however, its looking like that may be the only option.
Using Cubase Elements 7 - Windows 8

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Try to Safe Start Mode, before you reinstall Cubase, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

nsutton88
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by nsutton88 »

sorry, work took over my life for the last few days so didnt get a chance to work on my Cubase problems!

Do you mean safe start Windows or is there a safe start that Cubase offers specifically for the program?
Using Cubase Elements 7 - Windows 8

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sudden Huge Issue With Cubase!!

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

No, I mean this.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests