Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
Post Reply
GvdB
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:38 pm
Contact:

Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by GvdB »

Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility with multiple workstations/studios/rooms to different performers possible?

This applies to a secured corporate studio facility network.

I did a test and had to enable port-forwarding in order for VST connect to create the connection. Video was transmitted without the forwarding, but the sync remained red without port-forwarding enabled.

I am not in the position to created the complete testscenario with multiple workstations (yet), nor would I want to try if it doesn't work. Better to inquire the info from the experts/developers.

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

I assume you are talking about multiple "studio" computers on the same LAN connecting to multiple REMOTE performers over the internet ?

This 'should' work fine BUT the issue could well be your "secure corporate studio facility network" !

A 'basic' firewall/router will just NAT the various addresses/ports involved and all 'should' be well....but that's not happening on your network. You enabled port forwarding and it worked (which ports assume those high numbered ones mentioned in the docs...or was it all ...i.e. a DMZ ?). This means it's very likely firewall/router is blocking some ports and that's gonna cause problems using multiple sessions.

Are you looking after the network yourself ?

GvdB
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by GvdB »

Both assumptions are correct.

We forwarded 5111-51113.

I am in direct contact with the firewall admin, so we can make alterations, but these need to be simple rules which we can turn on/off between sessions.

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

I suspect the rule is "do not block/filter 51111-51113"

Your situation is a bit more 'edge case' than most so you are going to have to experiment a bit. Strictly speaking this isn't a VST connect issue but a firewall config issue.

Let us know if your test works - be interesting to see - and to see if we can up with solutions if it doesn't

FWIW suspect video uses more standard ports that your firewall/router doesn't care about which is why that part works.

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by musicullum »

It is black and white, it either works or not. Not quite sure what you try to acheive; multiple *simultaneous* connections are not supported at all.
musi

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

musicullum wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:22 pm
It is black and white, it either works or not. Not quite sure what you try to acheive; multiple *simultaneous* connections are not supported at all.
something along the lines of ....

The facilities has 10 cubase workstations all on the same LAN - all need to work with external performers over the internet. So it's NOT multiple connections to ONE host...it's multiple connections to multiple hosts.

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by musicullum »

That won't work unless you have 10 seperate internet connections, or make sure that only one station is connected at a time. It would probably get confused as it is to be expected that the network provides messages from all performers to all studios, if this is at all possible.
musi

GvdB
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by GvdB »

Ok, clear. Thanks. It would be an interesting scenario with the current Covid situation.

Maybe with VPN's. It would make the setup too complex for the average joe then...

Maybe making the ports configurable? Then each room can use different ports.

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

musicullum wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:17 pm
That won't work unless you have 10 seperate internet connections, or make sure that only one station is connected at a time. It would probably get confused as it is to be expected that the network provides messages from all performers to all studios, if this is at all possible.
I understand why that 'might' not work on the LAN because of the way it broadcasts locally...but why not over the internet to multiple clients ? You use some kind of gatekeeper (?) that provides ID - then this just NATs back to each computer ? Where would the 'confusion' arise ?

Isn't that like saying "only one person could use Zoom" ?

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

GvdB wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:28 pm

Maybe making the ports configurable? Then each room can use different ports.
I really think that the "same ports" is a red herring....your issue is going to be the blocked ports of course...but on a more simple setup then I don't see why VST connect would behave differently from every other network application ?

I mean you don't have to limit your web surfing to one computer at once because it is using port 443/80 ? The router takes care of all that.

GvdB
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by GvdB »

Hmm you've got a point, but that's probably why the video side made a NAT connection (which actually shouldn't be allowed on the network, but was just a reckless try of mine, but that's another point), but the audio needs to run over 51111-51113?

Musicullum?

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

If I get chance I'll test it later

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by musicullum »

dr wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:32 pm
musicullum wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:17 pm
That won't work unless you have 10 seperate internet connections, or make sure that only one station is connected at a time. It would probably get confused as it is to be expected that the network provides messages from all performers to all studios, if this is at all possible.
I understand why that 'might' not work on the LAN because of the way it broadcasts locally...but why not over the internet to multiple clients ? You use some kind of gatekeeper (?) that provides ID - then this just NATs back to each computer ? Where would the 'confusion' arise ?

Isn't that like saying "only one person could use Zoom" ?
Sure, it's a snitch to set up some advanced server structure with ID processing, NAT resolvers, load balancers, relay servers, edge computers...
I will ask the Zoom guys how much that will be :-)
Seriously, it sure can be done, but we are not Zoom.
Nevertheless as said, we are working on a tech which would allow for multiple listeners, but not multiple connections to one IP.
musi

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

Just tested this and it falls over - as musi says, the gatekeeper only allows one login per originating IP address. So anybody else logging in on the LAN (via same public IP) effectively logs out the existing user.

GvdB
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by GvdB »

Thanks for testing!

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by Suprawill1 »

Hi,
Was just listening in on this conversation. I have VST Connect but hadn't ventured to use it yet, but interested.
As far as this multiple VST connection, does each connection have to have a specific IP address? If one logs the other out if joining in on the LAN with the same IP, what if the second joining party one hides the IP address, say through a VPN? I'm not fully privy of this technology yet but just throwing it out there.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

Suprawill1 wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 6:16 am
Hi,
Was just listening in on this conversation. I have VST Connect but hadn't ventured to use it yet, but interested.
As far as this multiple VST connection, does each connection have to have a specific IP address? If one logs the other out if joining in on the LAN with the same IP, what if the second joining party one hides the IP address, say through a VPN? I'm not fully privy of this technology yet but just throwing it out there.
hi - not sure you are talking about the same thing ?

VST connect is a one-to-one technology - you CAN NOT have multiple performers connecting to one cubase/nuendo session.

This thread is about the possibility of having multiple Cubase/Nuendo computers on the same network with remote clients.....

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by Suprawill1 »

dr wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 7:44 am

hi - not sure you are talking about the same thing ?

VST connect is a one-to-one technology - you CAN NOT have multiple performers connecting to one cubase/nuendo session.

This thread is about the possibility of having multiple Cubase/Nuendo computers on the same network with remote clients.....
Hi dr
I understand that as I have read through this thread. From what I could read though, it looked like you and GvdB were experimenting on how to connect more than one client to a host studio. My previous post was based on your test in your last post that you said had failed. Maybe I mistook the reasoning.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

dr
Member
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by dr »

Suprawill1 wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 7:59 am
dr wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 7:44 am

hi - not sure you are talking about the same thing ?

VST connect is a one-to-one technology - you CAN NOT have multiple performers connecting to one cubase/nuendo session.

This thread is about the possibility of having multiple Cubase/Nuendo computers on the same network with remote clients.....
Hi dr
I understand that as I have read through this thread. From what I could read though, it looked like you and GvdB were experimenting on how to connect more than one client to a host studio. My previous post was based on your test in your last post that you said had failed. Maybe I mistook the reasoning.
ahhh ok - A VPN may fool the system - worth a test ?

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1065
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by Suprawill1 »

dr wrote:
Thu May 14, 2020 8:08 am


ahhh ok - A VPN may fool the system - worth a test ?
Precisely. I'm not up and running or I'd test the theory with you. Maybe you and GvdB could?
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

JacksonWraight
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 8:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by JacksonWraight »

musicullum wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:49 am
dr wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:32 pm
musicullum wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:17 pm
That won't work unless you have 10 seperate internet connections, or make sure that only one station is connected at a time. It would probably get confused as it is to be expected that the network provides messages from all performers to all studios, if this is at all possible.
I understand why that 'might' not work on the LAN because of the way it broadcasts locally...but why not over the internet to multiple clients ? You use some kind of gatekeeper (?) that provides ID - then this just NATs back to each computer ? Where would the 'confusion' arise ?

Isn't that like saying "only one person could use Zoom" ?
Sure, it's a snitch to set up some advanced server structure with ID processing, NAT resolvers, load balancers, relay servers, edge computers...
I will ask the Zoom guys how much that will be :-)
Seriously, it sure can be done, but we are not Zoom.
Nevertheless as said, we are working on a tech which would allow for multiple listeners, but not multiple connections to one IP.
I'm glad you added the multiple listeners functionality to VST Connect Pro, However still hoping for a Single host to multiple performers option. With the rise in work-from-home and hybrid events, being able to host for multiple performers brings a level of collaboration that would corner the market.

I imagine a Host record at a festival front of house that allows for multiple remote locations to add to the performance. OR Capturing and distributing a Stream of multiple performers in the comfort of their homes/studios to a live and/or virtual audiences.

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Multiple VST Connect connections from 1 facility possible?

Post by musicullum »

second duplicate of viewtopic.php?p=1038496#p1038496, pls do not post the same message to multiple threads, it makes following and supporting the forum diffcult and takes time that we would like to save for developing improvements, thanks.
musi

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests