Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
Post Reply
My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Hi all,

Ai appear to be tying myself in license and activation knots!
I've been using Cubase 10.5 on old PC (PC 1) for a while now but need to move it on to my new PC (PC2)

I followed the instructions on;
https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... ion-codes-

I installed the Elicenser control centre on PC2 and reactivated the license on the Steinberg website, which gave me a new license code(20 digit, 10 - 10)
I then requested a new activation code which I received by email.

I installed Cubase 10.5, but when I go to activate it on PC2, using the code received in my email, and also available in MySteinberg, I get a message stating the activation code has already been used.

I tried reactivate my license on the website but I can't update the Soft-eLicenser as the code hasn't changed.

Any idea what to do next?

Any help would be very much appreciated! this is slowly driving me insane!

Regards

My_Whitty

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi and welcome,

Do you talk about Cubase AI or Cubase LE, right?

How did you request a new activation code, please? You should get one during the reactivation process.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Hi Martin,

Sorry, I should have stated it's Cubase AI 10.5.

It was through the reactivation process that I got the new activation code, it was issued by email as well as being available in MySteinberg.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

It's unusual you would get an Activation Code which has been used already. Are you sure a new Soft-eLicenser Number has been generated, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Good morning,

Definitely, I still have the eLicense control centre on my old PC (PC1) and that and PC2 have different Soft-eLicenser numbers.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Is the new Activation Code different from the old one?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

I've just checked the activiation code I received when I first installed Cubease AI on PC1 back in July 2019.
I'll not post them here unless you say I should, but they are different.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

No, don't post it here. I'm just wondering if the code is different from the one you got while reactivation.

You could also try to use eLCC Helper to generate a new Soft-eLicenser and then Reactivate again to get another Activation Code.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Ah that's what I was trying to do before posting on here but I couldn't work out how to do it.
Sorry to ask but where do I find the eLCC Helper?

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Ignore that, I've found the software

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

I was just about to update to say it's worked! The I ran the software and got a new Activation Code for Cubase AI, When I loaded up Cubase AI it asked for the new code, after I put it it said he had worked correctly! Great!
Then I tried to load the software again, this time thinking it was already activated, but when I loaded it I get a no License found message.

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

I've been through the whole process again and still no luck, I can download the license, but when I boot up Cubase it' doesnt see the license and when I register the code through the software rather then eLCC it states it's already in use.

This may be a daft question, but do I need to uninstall the software off my old machine first before it will work? I've not done this yet as I don't want to be without the cubase.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Are you sure it's Cubase AI 10.5 license? Isn't it Cubase AI 10 license by any chance?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

Ah, in eLCC it states Cubase AI 10

The software I have downloaded is called Cubase LE AI Element 10.5

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23719
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Oh, this is it.

Download and install Cubase AI 10.0.60, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

My_Whitty
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Activation on New PC states activation code has already been used

Post by My_Whitty »

That's sorted it!

So obvious in the end!

Martin you're a star, i owe you a beer! thanks for your help

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE and Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests