Laptop recommendation for Cubase 8.5

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Chriss00
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:15 am
Contact:

Laptop recommendation for Cubase 8.5

Post by Chriss00 »

I would like buy new laptop just for Cubase recording. (vocals, guitar, some virtual drums) so I can do a little bit recording stuff and mix on the road.

So, I think to buy this laptop, price is arround $570
Lenovo IdeaPad S340-15API 81NC00EUSC, 15,6 FHD IPS, AMD Ryzen 5 3500U 2,10GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD PCIe NVMe, AMD Radeon Vega 8, Free DOS.

Would that be good choice for Cubase 8 or Cubase 8.5, I have to check my version I have :)

And some USB Audio Interf. like Steinberg UR22 MK2.

Any recommendation would be helpful.

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Laptop recommendation for Cubase 8.5

Post by Norbury Brook »

from what I've read and my limited experience with my partners Ryzen Laptop I think that should be OK. Ryzen laptops seem to have great DCP latency which makes for a decent DAW machine.

I'd always wipe a new machine though and format the disk and install a vanilla version of the latest windows 10. You're guaranteed to have no 3rd party bloatware etc then. As it's a new machine you've nothing to loose either if you mess it up :) make a note of the windows serial number in case it doesn't automatically authenticate. It should as it's the same hardware, just being cautious.



M
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

Chriss00
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:15 am
Contact:

Re: Laptop recommendation for Cubase 8.5

Post by Chriss00 »

Norbury Brook wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 10:01 am
from what I've read and my limited experience with my partners Ryzen Laptop I think that should be OK. Ryzen laptops seem to have great DCP latency which makes for a decent DAW machine.

I'd always wipe a new machine though and format the disk and install a vanilla version of the latest windows 10. You're guaranteed to have no 3rd party bloatware etc then. As it's a new machine you've nothing to loose either if you mess it up :) make a note of the windows serial number in case it doesn't automatically authenticate. It should as it's the same hardware, just being cautious.
M
Thank you for reply and other info :)

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests