Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
GlennO
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by GlennO »

skijumptoes wrote:
Fri Aug 16, 2019 11:10 am
That's only my personal experience, but after years and years of tinkering with control surfaces it may be a valuable lesson for anyone who finds themselves caught in that loop as it's easy to forget about the artistry of music and get overly focused/obsessed on technicalities, workflows etc. Not saying you are of course as this is about me, but i definitely had 70-80% of my focus as a technician more than an artist/musician.
Same here. Over time, I've come to increasingly value a simple workspace, which only has aesthetically pleasing gear. That's one reason I like my Artist Mix. The design makes it look nice on any desktop.
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

GlennO
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by GlennO »

I have an Artist Mix, but I'm always interested in keeping tabs on what else is available. Is there anything besides the Artist Mix that can do all of these?

1) Motorized faders
2) Level meters
3) Bank selection on control surface follows selected track in Cubase project window or mix console
4) Less than $1500
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

JohnfromSonar
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by JohnfromSonar »

Mackie Control Universal.

GlennO
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by GlennO »

Bump. Are there any control surfaces, besides the Artist Mix and MCU, that can meet these criteria?
GlennO wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:30 pm
I have an Artist Mix, but I'm always interested in keeping tabs on what else is available. Is there anything besides the Artist Mix that can do all of these?

1) Motorized faders
2) Level meters
3) Bank selection on control surface follows selected track in Cubase project window or mix console
4) Less than $1500
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

JohnfromSonar
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by JohnfromSonar »

GlennO wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:29 pm
Bump. Are there any control surfaces, besides the Artist Mix and MCU, that can meet these criteria?
GlennO wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 3:30 pm
I have an Artist Mix, but I'm always interested in keeping tabs on what else is available. Is there anything besides the Artist Mix that can do all of these?

1) Motorized faders
2) Level meters
3) Bank selection on control surface follows selected track in Cubase project window or mix console
4) Less than $1500
Are you changing the question?

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by greggybud »

JohnfromSonar wrote:
Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:58 pm
Are you changing the question?
Mackie Control Protocol does not include automatic bank switching. I'm told MCU auto bank switching in Logic works, so it must be something thats modified within Logic.

However this guy spent some time and actually made it work. Scroll down a bit and see where he made auto-bank work.
https://vi-control.net/community/thread ... st-4347327

The basics here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esOnlGyvTs4

Good luck! It's way too much for me. :)
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

GlennO
Member
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 5:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by GlennO »

That's my understanding too, so I was surprised to see Mr. Sonar reply to say the MCU can do all 4 things on my list. Writing a program to serve as an intermediary sounds like way too much trouble. I'll stick with my Artist Mix for now since it seems like that's still the only control surface can do all 4 things I want. Although the S1 is coming out soon and looks interesting.
Cubase 10, MacOS 10.13, Avid Artist Mix

Ian s
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by Ian s »

I've had both an Avid Artist Control and a cc121. I got rid of the Avid in the end becase it didn't get used to the fullest extent of it's feature set, but keep with the cc121. It gets a lot of use for automation tasks and is indispensible for routine EQ and transport duty.
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by skijumptoes »

Does the CC121 EQ control include the Pre low/high cut controls?

Mackie only gives you the standard 4 bands and you can't adjust the EQ type for each band via the standard EQ controls either, so i have to use EQ as an insert to control them how i want - wish Steinberg just added an extra page for standard EQ. :(

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by beatpete »

I still think Artist Mix is the best one for me, it handles Cubase EQ very well and with touch sensitive encoders, it's great for EQ and send automation. Not to mention easy quick control automation...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Ian s
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by Ian s »

beatpete wrote:
Fri Aug 30, 2019 3:46 pm
I still think Artist Mix is the best one for me, it handles Cubase EQ very well and with touch sensitive encoders, it's great for EQ and send automation. Not to mention easy quick control automation...
I think I would have prefered Artist Mix over Artist Control. Control was what I got (not a choice - it just arrived in the studio one day!) and it just didn't gel with my workflow - too many touch screen buttons that I already had the key commands for hard wired into my brain I guess...
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by beatpete »

Ian s wrote:
Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:37 pm


I think I would have prefered Artist Mix over Artist Control. Control was what I got (not a choice - it just arrived in the studio one day!) and it just didn't gel with my workflow - too many touch screen buttons that I already had the key commands for hard wired into my brain I guess...
Yes, I had the control first and the artist is way better in my mind for me.
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

skidalgo
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by skidalgo »

Old thread and newb member but: does anyone know if the Avid S1 does bank switching "correctly" in Cubase as the Artist Mix apparently does? Any other drawbacks anyone knows about with S1 vs Artist Mix?

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi All

I’ll second the CC121 post, I’ve had mine for 5 years now, very solid, very simple, very useful.

Best Regards, Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1160
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Control surface for Cubase (buying question)

Post by beatpete »

I've gone back to using my AlphaTrack and a mouse...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests