Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Bodegaempire » Mon May 20, 2019 2:49 am

Hey all,

Today I was using Logic and noticed it had a handy feature in the mixer called Audio Device that lets you set the device's input level from Logic's mixer. See the attached pic.

I regularly use Input Channels but I've never seen a way to adjust the audio device itself - mine's an RME Babyface, for example. Is there something I'm missing or is this a Logic-only feature for now?

thanks!
Matthew
Screen Shot 2019-05-19 at 6.46.22 PM.png
(68.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon May 20, 2019 1:59 pm

Hi,

Are you sure you really adjust the Audio Device input gain? Isn't an input from the Audio Device to DAW (Logic)? You can do so in CUbase by the red (input) faders. But you can't adjust the Audio Device gain.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Bodegaempire » Mon May 20, 2019 3:11 pm

Ah well. Maybe a future version will have it. Thanks for the info.
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue May 21, 2019 7:25 am

Hi,

I'm really wondering about this. Can you really see int or Total Mix FX, the Gain increase/degrease, while controlling from Logic?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Bodegaempire » Tue May 21, 2019 4:03 pm

I just see the preamp gain. Maybe there’s a way to view totalmix fx too - I haven’t dug very far into it.
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Adjust Audio Interface input gain from mixer?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue May 21, 2019 8:16 pm

Hi,

I had a look to the feature in Logic. It's really handy. As far as I understand, it works with Class Compliant driver, or any Core Audio driver vendor can adapt their driver to implement this. Cubase is using ASIO driver. And on Mac, there is an ASIO to Core Audio translator. As far as I know, there is no such a feature in ASIO.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest