Piano Plugin woes

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Thu May 16, 2019 10:02 am

Downloaded and installed CB 10.0.20 yesterday. Obviously a lot to figure out from 6.5 :)
The only problem I've found (so far) is that when I try to create an instrument track with 4Front's TruePianos it causes CB to freeze.
I've downloaded and installed the latest version of TruePianos (seems that development stopped a couple of years back). It is (apparently) a 64bit vst.
Is there any reason why this plugin is incompatible with CB 10? Anything I can try to get it working?

Any help to get my "go to" piano working much appreciated.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17721
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 16, 2019 1:35 pm

Hi,

You can try to rescan all your plug-ins in the VST Plug-in Manager.

If TruePiano would become blacklisted, then there is something wrong with it. You can try to reactivate it manually afterwards, on your own risk.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Thu May 16, 2019 4:49 pm

Thanks for the reply, Martin.
I had already rescanned the plugins. The TruePianos 32bit is blacklisted, as expected.
However, "TruePianos x64" is listed in VST Instruments... I'm just not able to use it :(
Any more suggestions appreciated.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17721
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri May 17, 2019 6:30 am

Hi,

Does it freeze or crash? If it crashes, could you please attach a crash dump file?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Fri May 17, 2019 8:44 am

Thanks Martin,
It freezes. No actions within CB10 are possible. The only option is to force close CB in Task Manager.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17721
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri May 17, 2019 8:49 am

Hi,

Then the only chance how to get any information what's going on, is via Task Manager > Create dump file.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Fri May 17, 2019 11:56 am

Thanks Martin,

Unfortunately, the task manager 'frozen' CB10 dump file is a whopping 1.23GB :o , so too big to attach here!
The 'unfrozen' dump file is a slightly less whopping 975MB, but still too large to attach here.

For whatever reason, it seems that TruePianos x64 and CB10 just don't get along!
TruePianos x64 worked flawlessly in CB 6.5
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

jamesd
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by jamesd » Fri May 17, 2019 1:15 pm

Interestingly, I have a similar problem with Pianoteq. Three instances and it's fine, add a fourth and it hangs, with a split second here and there where I can move the mouse. If I can actually manage to remove the fourth instance everything is fine again.

I wouldn't have usually mentioned it here, but it is a virtual piano as well. I can't say when this problem arose as I have been away from Cubase for a bit, but I think it's within the last few months. Both 10 and 9.5 are affected. Possibly a windows update?
Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Bitwig 2.5 | Reason 10 | UR242 | Studiologic SL88 Grand

Win 10 Pro | i5-4460 :( | 32GB

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17721
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri May 17, 2019 1:22 pm

KevetS wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 11:56 am
Thanks Martin,

Unfortunately, the task manager 'frozen' CB10 dump file is a whopping 1.23GB :o , so too big to attach here!
The 'unfrozen' dump file is a slightly less whopping 975MB, but still too large to attach here.

For whatever reason, it seems that TruePianos x64 and CB10 just don't get along!
TruePianos x64 worked flawlessly in CB 6.5
Hi,

Share the dump file via Dropbox or similar, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Fri May 17, 2019 5:22 pm

Thanks Martin, here's a Dropbox link to the dump file:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/bsh9z4tuq9mzi ... n.DMP?dl=0
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by DaveAbbott » Fri May 17, 2019 11:23 pm

Hi All

I often use 4front piano in C10, never had any kind of problem at all.

Best Regards, Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

jamesd
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by jamesd » Sat May 18, 2019 9:10 am

KevetS wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 11:56 am
Thanks Martin,

Unfortunately, the task manager 'frozen' CB10 dump file is a whopping 1.23GB :o , so too big to attach here!
The 'unfrozen' dump file is a slightly less whopping 975MB, but still too large to attach here.

For whatever reason, it seems that TruePianos x64 and CB10 just don't get along!
TruePianos x64 worked flawlessly in CB 6.5
What audio interface do you have?
Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Bitwig 2.5 | Reason 10 | UR242 | Studiologic SL88 Grand

Win 10 Pro | i5-4460 :( | 32GB

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Sat May 18, 2019 12:49 pm

Hi jamesd,
I normally use a Focusrite 2i4 (2nd gen), but have to confess that I've been checking some of the CB10 features without hooking it up.
My work as a bass player means that I'm often on the road, and sometimes use the travel/hotel time to edit CB projects, with no need for an interface.
I may be wrong, but I don't see how the lack of interface effects a plugin's ability/inability to load.
In CB 6.5 I had no such problems.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Sat May 18, 2019 12:52 pm

Hi Dave,
That's interesting! I've so far, only tried CB10 on my laptop. Over the weekend I'll install onto my desktop and see if that works.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by Nickeldome » Sat May 18, 2019 1:09 pm

KevetS wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 12:49 pm
Hi jamesd,
II may be wrong, but I don't see how the lack of interface effects a plugin's ability/inability to load.
In CB 6.5 I had no such problems.
You won't! Everything will work! You'll maybe just get some more latency not using a quality audio interface? But overall all plugins should work with the embedded sound device.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

KevetS
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Piano Plugin woes

Post by KevetS » Sat May 18, 2019 6:50 pm

Just to update:
I installed CB10 on my desktop - TruePianos loads and works as it should! :)
I copied the TruePianos .dll to my laptop, so it was exactly the same file - no joy! :(
I should add that the 64bit works fine on the laptop as a standalone.
There is a conflict somewhere.
Cubase 10
Win 10 64bit
Laptop: Intel i7-7700HQ
16GB RAM
C: Drive 250GB SSD
Desktop: Not used so much these days!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: arieln, greggybud, tc7four and 5 guests