Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1931
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by suntower »

If you have multiple CPRs open and you close one, the next one automatically activates.

MADDENING!

When I have several CPRs open at once and I close one I OFTEN may want to choose to open ANOTHER CPR that is NOT from among the ones I currently have open.

So I have to wait for Cubase to load up the next underlying CPR.... which in my case may take several minutes. I say again...

MADDENING!

This is the kind of teeny, tiny change that -should- be attended to in a .0x release.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 352
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by dmbaer »

What, you don't trust Cubase to know *exactly* which CPR you want to work on next?

Seriously, there's no justification in any sane world for this design decision. If one uses heavy-duty Kontakt instrumentation, load times can be excruciating. Please fix this immediately, Steinberg,
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 8-core hyper-threaded; 16G RAM; Dual SSD drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 10 Pro 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 10.5 64-bit
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1931
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by suntower »

Sadly, I was fired right before the mind-reading beta cycle back in 2005. :D

---JC

dmbaer wrote:What, you don't trust Cubase to know *exactly* which CPR you want to work on next?

Seriously, there's no justification in any sane world for this design decision. If one uses heavy-duty Kontakt instrumentation, load times can be excruciating. Please fix this immediately, Steinberg,
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3982
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by Prock »

My annual +1 for this ;)

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 11, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1931
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by suntower »

And what REALLY makes me APOPLECTIC? I'm about 100% sure it would take the dev 5 minutes to implement this feature. I mean what's to do.

if ( pref )
load_project() // current code behaviour
else
// do_nothing

... I mean... WHAT'S TO DO?
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1893
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by Stephen57 »

+1

It would be more helpful to have a preference option to 1) do nothing and let me select which project to make active, 2) activate the last opened project. I agree. Not activating the previously active project would be a better default.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Svengali
Senior Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:26 am
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by Svengali »

+1
Setup: Cubase Pro 10 on HP Z 620 /Cubase Elements 9.0.3 on Microsoft Surface Tablet, Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Native Instruments Komplete 10, UAD-2, Plugin-Alliance, Waves, Fabfilter, Toontrack, CC121, UR12, UAD Apollo

Evertone
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by Evertone »

+1
This would be nice!
Cubase Pro 11
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Post by profezeus »

Absolutely +1

Such an option would be really convenient.
I lost a lot of time because of this.
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.20 & 10.0.60
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various electronic and acoustic instruments.

RichardTownsend
Member
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by RichardTownsend »

+1
2014 MacBook Pro 15", 16Gb RAM, 500Gb SSD, 2Tb CIE Rugged External HD, BENQ GW2765 display at 2560 x 1440, Mac OS Mojave, Cubase 11.0.x, Dorico 3.5.x, Mytek Brooklyn DAC, NI Kontrol 6, Neumann KH120 monitors, KEF LS50W monitors, Focal Elear phones, NI Komplete 12, Omnisphere, Kontakt libraries, Serum, Synthmaster 1 and 2, Pigments, Superior Drummer 3

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by alexis »

+1

I think the workaround is to never close a project, just keep opening new ones? I can't imagine that ends well during long sessions, however ...
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by djw »

+1

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1875
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by mozizo »

+1
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1534
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by In_Stereo »

+1
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by DTS Recording Studio »

+1
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by peakae »

+1
Cubase Pro 11, Wavelab Elements 9, I9 9900K , win10x64, 32Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Outspan
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 2:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by Outspan »

+1

dbh
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by dbh »

+1 drives me nuts too..



mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by mitchiemasha »

This is the single most annoying thing that makes me want to die every time it happens. People complain about accidentally clicking the loop on and off but it's nothing compared to closing a project and forgetting you had another one loaded or even worse, it reverts to the 1 you didn't want. The sense of dread, the NOOO! as you await the load bar you had no desire to finish.

PLEASE STEINBERG REMOVE THE AUTO ACTIVATION OF UNDERLYING PROJECT.

Make it do nothing... we can then simply click the activation or x, of what ever we require.
W10, CP11, i7 9700k OC 4.8, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1931
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by suntower »

The -really- frustrating thing?

There is a backlog of about 50 requests like this... requests that a decent developer could knock out in a couple of days... that go untouched for TEN YEARS.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by profezeus »

Just want to quote a post I've written in another thread (hope it helps somehow):

"Yes, this is annoying but I use a workaround for this.
I always start Cubase/Nuendo with a blank project than open all other loaded projects that I’m actually working on. Whenever I close any project, I don't need to think about which will be activated next, the blank project gets activated automatically in a second, then I can choose which other loaded project I want to activate.
It always defaults to the first blank project.
This can save you a lot of time."
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.20 & 10.0.60
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various electronic and acoustic instruments.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 808
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by mitchiemasha »

What about if multiple have been opened? Does it always revert to the first empty project? I can't see me doing it but that's genius.
W10, CP11, i7 9700k OC 4.8, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
profezeus
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Post by profezeus »

Yes, it always reverts to the first empty project. It does not matter how many projects are open at the same time.
System 1: Custom ADK 9700Z Laptop with 4 internal SSD's, i7-4790K CPU, 32GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 8.1 64bit, Cubase Pro 10.5.20 & 10.0.60
System 2: Custom ADK 8600 Laptop with 3 internal SSD's, i7-2820QM CPU, 16GB RAM, RME Babyface - Windows 7 64bit, Cubase Pro 9.5.50
VSL, VEP5, East West CC, Arturia V Collection etc., CC121, various electronic and acoustic instruments.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests