BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Unfolded
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:27 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by Unfolded » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:49 pm

Reaching the same result, same process (48kHz / 64 bit here), same erratic results, any resolution or fix in sight?
Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Win 10 Pro for Workstations | HP Workstation z440 | Intel Xeon e5-1650 v3 12x 3,5 GHz | 32GB RAM | Dante PCIe | RedNet 1,2,3,4 | (UR824 | Tascam US-20x20) | Macbook Pro 2011

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Fri Jul 13, 2018 9:55 pm

Close the Tempo Detection Panel before editing using the warp tool. Then it works as expected at any sample rate.

It seems more likely to me that if there's a bug here, it is allowing the user make any adjustments while the Tempo Detection is still in process. (while the panel is still open) because once those gross adjustments available in the panel are made, there's nothing else for it to do. It should be closed, and then the warp grid tool should be applied where you need it.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

galoz
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by galoz » Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:01 pm

Why close the pannel?? it should work WITH the pannel opend, thats whay theres a "Direction of reanalysis" anyone can edit tempo without reanalysis, but thats not the idea...
Cubase 9.5.3 pro
Windows 7 64bits - Core i5 - SSD - 8Gb - Motu PCI 424 - Motu 2408MKiii - Motu 1296 -

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:23 pm

Ahah! :oops:

Thanks galoz, for giving the info I needed (again) to understand this. As embarrassing as it is, I hadn't understood, and even missed it in your first repro. My apologies to you. I think I was able to generate a crash dump too, (Cubase crashed after trying the repro,) which I sent along. Thank you for the brevity of your steps, and for not assaulting me! :shock:

If you have a crash dump, or can generate one by running the repro, could you zip and upload it?

I was able to get this reported: CAN-16587.
Here's what I asked the rep to report:
Attempting Tempo Detection at sample rates other than 44.1k appears to be broken.

Repro:
Set project and audio files to 48khz (or any value more than 44.1k)
do tempo detection
leave tempo detection panel active and reanalysis arrows where they are.
with the warp tool, move the grid.
Unexpected result follows, and Cubase becomes unstable.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:08 am

Thank you -steve- for getting this reported.

Please excuse us as a community for getting frustrated with this. We have all been genuinely trying to explain this issue for about 8 months, and we've tried all forms of long, short, videos and crankiness. Bugs (no doubt related) exist in this functionality even when a crash dump is not generated.

galoz
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by galoz » Tue Jul 17, 2018 2:46 pm

-steve- wrote:
Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:23 pm
Ahah! :oops:

Thanks galoz, for giving the info I needed (again) to understand this. As embarrassing as it is, I hadn't understood, and even missed it in your first repro. My apologies to you. I think I was able to generate a crash dump too, (Cubase crashed after trying the repro,) which I sent along. Thank you for the brevity of your steps, and for not assaulting me! :shock:

If you have a crash dump, or can generate one by running the repro, could you zip and upload it?

I was able to get this reported: CAN-16587.
Here's what I asked the rep to report:
Attempting Tempo Detection at sample rates other than 44.1k appears to be broken.

Repro:
Set project and audio files to 48khz (or any value more than 44.1k)
do tempo detection
leave tempo detection panel active and reanalysis arrows where they are.
with the warp tool, move the grid.
Unexpected result follows, and Cubase becomes unstable.
Thank you Steve!!
I'll try to generate a crash dump, but I think that my cubase doesn't crush, it just gets erratic. But today at the studio I'll check that!
Thanks again Steve for your time!
Cubase 9.5.3 pro
Windows 7 64bits - Core i5 - SSD - 8Gb - Motu PCI 424 - Motu 2408MKiii - Motu 1296 -

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by Larioso » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:36 pm

Is it possible this is also a problem with Process Tempo?
I run 48k projects, and could not get this simple thing to work and give a correct tempo.

EDIT: I found this out - that Process Tempo is broken completely and posted separate thread on this.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

bns23
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by bns23 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:52 pm

Are there any updates on the issue?
I can still reproduce this with the latest 9.5. release (9.5.50). And it looks like the bug exists in Cubase 10, too (see viewtopic.php?f=286&t=157039&p=842902&h ... on#p842902).
---
Cubase Pro 9.5, Halion 6.1, Steinberg UR44
AMD Ryzen 1700; 16 GB RAM; Curcial MX300 525GB; Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:37 pm

On my system with C9.5.50 I can't reproduce this. No crash at 48k.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

bns23
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by bns23 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Have you tried to "fiddle" a bit with the "warp markers" after you did the analysis? For me, with 9.5.50, this works fine for 44.1kHz. On 48 kHz sampling rate, the markers tend to jump and overlay each other as soon as you try to move them. And after a few attempts, Cubase freezes.
I use a 4.20 minute long audio track - perhaps it is a matter of the size of the track, too?

There are other odd things to observe:
- Analysis is way faster on 44.1 kHz as it is on 48 kHz (I guess around factor 3 or 4)
- On 48 kHz, it seems to be less accurate (I get some positions in the song with wrong detection that raises the need to use the warp markers)
- The "smooth tempo" button is always deactivated for unknown reason
---
Cubase Pro 9.5, Halion 6.1, Steinberg UR44
AMD Ryzen 1700; 16 GB RAM; Curcial MX300 525GB; Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Wed Mar 20, 2019 10:50 pm

I followed the repro I spelled out above: Start Cubase in Cubase Safe Start mode to rule out corrupt pref problems. (You can also save a preset of your prefs)

This thread is about the one specific bug, and nothing else. Please, just start another thread for anything else.

Repro:
Set project and audio files to 48khz (or any value more than 44.1k)
do tempo detection
leave tempo detection panel active and reanalysis arrows where they are.
with the warp tool, move the grid.
Unexpected result follows, and Cubase becomes unstable.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

bns23
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by bns23 » Wed Mar 20, 2019 11:35 pm

I followed exactly the steps you describe in your last post, and I can still reproduce it.
The warp grid "markers" jump unexpectetly, and after a few moves, Cubase freezes.
---
Cubase Pro 9.5, Halion 6.1, Steinberg UR44
AMD Ryzen 1700; 16 GB RAM; Curcial MX300 525GB; Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Thu Mar 21, 2019 12:05 am

Since you're getting that result and I'm not, maybe verify the version you're running? and rule out corrupt prefs by using Cubase Safe Start Mode... The audio file I used was about 5 minutes long.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... ences.html
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

bns23
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:15 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by bns23 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:58 am

Hi.
I used Safe Start Mode in the last tests already (disabled my preferences, middle Button in the dialogue that pops up on holding CTRL+ALT+SHIFT on startup).

In the "About Cubase" popup, it says it is Version 9.5.50 Build 345 - Built on Feb 2 2019.
---
Cubase Pro 9.5, Halion 6.1, Steinberg UR44
AMD Ryzen 1700; 16 GB RAM; Curcial MX300 525GB; Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050

jamesd
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:47 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by jamesd » Sun Mar 31, 2019 4:02 pm

I'm working with one track of MIDI and I get this bug. As others have said, when you change to 44.1k it works. (Checked in Cubase 10.0.15 and the latest version of 9.5)

The history shows two events each time I attempt to move a marker: 'Warp Tempo' and 'Iterative Beat Correction'. It seems like the second stage is bugged as the bar/beat line shows at the intended position when you undo.
Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Bitwig 2.5 | Reason 10 | UR242 | Studiologic SL88 Grand

Win 10 Pro | i5-4460 :( | 32GB

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:06 pm

Studio One and Harrison Mix Bus under evaluation in my studio.

I won’t be upgrading from Cubase 9.5.

Will post results here.

In short, it’s been 16 months since I first raised this issue. Bottom line, unless you are only using 44.1 Cubase is unable to perform tempo map functions which makes it unsuitable and unviable for professional use.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by -steve- » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:58 pm

I hope the people who continue to see this problem report it in a support ticket. I can't reproduce it on my system. I reported, and it was fixed- but not for every case, apparently.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Mon May 06, 2019 5:09 am

I can confirm the bug still exists with 9.5.50.

Have tried to log a support ticket but have no option.....

See viewtopic.php?f=253&t=159627

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Tue May 07, 2019 10:29 pm

In desperation to finish an existing Cubase project I’ve upgraded to Cubase 10.

In doing so, I uninstalled all Steinberg software, tracked down all Steinberg folders and removed them and did a completely fresh install of 10.0.20.

Confirming: the bug still exists in version 10.

Reported here : viewtopic.php?f=286&t=159692

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17310
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 09, 2019 4:16 pm

Hi,

I tested this on Mac and Windows in Cubase 10.0.20 and Cubase 9.5.50. Both works as expected. I can Warp the tempo manually. No crash, no freeze.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Fri May 10, 2019 1:01 am

Hi Martin, thanks heaps for testing. Can you confirm a couple of things?

Likewise, I can manually warp the tempo by using the warp tool in the tempo track.

My crash occurs when the Detect Tempo window is still open after using the Analyse function. My workflow (used to be) to analyse, then working through the event, adjusting manually for anything that wasn’t correctly detected, with the detect / analyse function still open and working to adjust points to the right of my manual corrections. This is the scenario that crashes.

Do you also have the detect window open after having first done the analyse in say a 96k project?

Many thanks.
Brendan

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Fri May 10, 2019 1:56 am

Here is a screen capture of the crash.

(Note the child windows and menu drop downs don't show). At the end the Cubase is frozen. Note the Detect Tempo child window is open (but not shown).

https://youtu.be/Dc5Yr2aSwww

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17310
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri May 10, 2019 9:17 am

Hi,

Now I can reproduce it. Btw, it's Windows only. Reported to Steinberg CAN-22700.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by BrendanMcL » Sat May 11, 2019 5:27 am

Many thanks Martin. Much appreciated.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17310
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Cubase 9.5 Tempo Detection only works properly at 44.1k

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue May 14, 2019 10:16 am

Hi,

A workaround is:
1. Once the Tempo Detection is done, click to the Object Selection tool (or any other tool).
2. End the tempo detection session by clicking to Continue.
3. Select the Time Warp tool again and adapt the map.

Or simple just close the Tempo Detection window. :-)
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests