Absolute 4

All topics on VST Sound Instrument Sets, VST Sound Loop Sets and Sequel Content Sets
zz0zz
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 12:08 am
Contact:

Absolute 4

Post by zz0zz » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:28 pm

Any news on the release of Absolute 4?

Medusalab
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Medusalab » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:33 pm

Yes, any news on this?

I wanto to upgrade to C10 but won't until I can do the same with GA...and since I own Absolute3...

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:08 pm

+1
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by HowlingUlf » Fri Jan 18, 2019 11:56 pm

Purchase Absolute 3 now and update to Absolute 4 for free in January

Consisting of the top range of Steinberg’s acclaimed VST instruments, Absolute 3 offers over 6,800 presets and more than 70 GB of first-class sounds, VST technology and advanced sound design. Absolute is the perfect tool for music production, composing and live performance of all styles, combining exceptional quality and premium value at a fantastic price.

https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/v ... start.html

:o :shock: :o 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

sd1989
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by sd1989 » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:20 am

January is half over id rather they didn't say when it was coming if it was going to be late in the month
windows 8.1, amd fx 6300 3.5ghz , amd radeon 7850 2gb gfx card, GA-78LMT-USB3 rev 6.0 , 16 gb ram , 7200 rpm hd , behringer umc202hd, cubase 8.5 pro , absolute 3

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by HowlingUlf » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:44 am

Soon-ish is good enough. I'm not in a hurry about that.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by andyjh » Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:01 pm

I hope Absolute 4 is not just Absolute 3 with GA5, that wouldn't justify the wait, seeing that GA5 has been about for a while
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

Medusalab
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Medusalab » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:51 am

Not in a hurry either but I just want to be able to upgrade to GA5 and C10...as an Absolute customer i'm feeling a bit on the let down here.

maggie
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by maggie » Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:29 pm

Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

yogi62
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by yogi62 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 2:27 pm

Absolute 4 is out now but I cannot see any difference from absolute 3 other than the updated Groove Agent 5?

Cost to upgrade from A3 to A4 - which basically means just an update of groove agent is £85

Manike
Member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Manike » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:56 pm

It's got the bundled sound packs but yeah - mostly its GA5.

A cut down version of Iconica would have been nice. Or maybe the Ensemble version.

A cinematique instrument maybe.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2153
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by HowlingUlf » Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:13 pm

yeah, that was a little lame ...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.0.20 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by andyjh » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:31 pm

Not so sure this should have been called Absolute 4, more Absolute 3.5,

Nothing there for me, I don't use Groove Agent........
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

yogi62
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by yogi62 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:34 pm

Just checked the Steinberg download assistant so I could compare the two versions of Absolute.

Result is:
Updates are mainly for the GA5 - 299mb + 31.14gb content (A3 has 7.46gb total)
Halion sonic 3 (I believe this was in Cubase anyway?) 801mb
Prime Cuts - 142mb
Granular Guitars - 2.33gb
Rock Essentials (GA5) 77.77mb

All other plugins/content are identical and the same download size, so no changes at all. No updates for any other plugins.

imho this should really be marketed as a GA5 update NOT an Absolute update. If you look at the cost of Groove Agent 4 I don't believe the £85 upgrade cost for A4 is justified for existing Absolute users. Would have been better to upgrade the GA for a more reasonable cost.

If you want an accurate precise comparison, open download assistant and switch between A3 and A4

just my thoughts

Medusalab
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Medusalab » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:19 pm

Kinda of why should I?
Don't much value in it to be honest.

Manike
Member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Manike » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:51 pm

Might wait for Absolute 5! :D

Halion 7 by then hopefully.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

sd1989
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by sd1989 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 1:57 am

I will wait and see if they do a sale some time in the future I was hoping there would be some new things besides ga5 but instead it feels like they were rushed to put it out
windows 8.1, amd fx 6300 3.5ghz , amd radeon 7850 2gb gfx card, GA-78LMT-USB3 rev 6.0 , 16 gb ram , 7200 rpm hd , behringer umc202hd, cubase 8.5 pro , absolute 3

mbiermann
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:14 am
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by mbiermann » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:20 am

So, it looks like 4 is out and available now. I bought 3 a month ago anticipating the free upgrade to 4. I logged in to the shop to download 4 and I am being asked to pay a $99 upgrade fee. What gives?

User avatar
jamesn81
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 5:30 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by jamesn81 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:44 am

I just spent way too long trying to work out what the difference between 3 and 4 is ... and it's basically just Groove Agent 5.

Quite disappointing but hopefully a big update is coming next time and having the V4 upgrade will be worth it then.

BatteryPack
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Central IL
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by BatteryPack » Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:06 am

andyjh wrote:
Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:01 pm
I hope Absolute 4 is not just Absolute 3 with GA5, that wouldn't justify the wait, seeing that GA5 has been about for a while
And that's ALL it is.. And guess what? Steinberg will probably come out with a new version of HALion within the next year or so and we'll have to pay for that upgrade as well! I'm tired of them nickel & diming us to death.
  • Cubase 9.5.2 Pro
    Absolute 3 VST Collection
    Panorama P4
    ATH-M50x
    Live 9.7.6
    Push 2
    Windows 10
    i7 6700HQ
    32GB DDR4 Ram
    256GB SSD
    500GB SSD SAMPLE DRIVE
    GTX 970m 3GB


User avatar
Leonard_A
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by Leonard_A » Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:11 am

Over the years I bought most of the absolute plugins and expansion sets individually.
(Groove Agent 5, HALion 6, HALion Sonic 3, Padshop Pro 2, Retrologue 2, Prime Cuts, Neuro Mindset, Future Past Perfect, Colliding World, Metronomic Cinema, Granular Symphonies).

So I don’t have the following plugins and expansions packs.
The Grand 3, Rock essentials, Dark Planet, Hypnotic Dance, Triebwerk, Granular Guitars.

However, to upgrade from my collection to Absolute 4, I will have to pay a full blast of £300. :shock: So, Steinberg is considering just ONE of my plugins as an option to upgrade. Absolutely unfair to customers who already have more the one plugins and/or expansions packs.

Sort it out, Steinberg.
Last edited by Leonard_A on Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10 Suite | Pro Tools 2018| WaveLab Elements 9 | Cubasis | HALion 6 | Groove Agent 5| NI Massive | Xfer Serum | Vacuum Pro | Lennar Sylenth1 | UVI Falcon | CC121 | PUSH 2 | UR28M | HS7 monitors | DT770 | DT1990

PinkSodaMusic
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by PinkSodaMusic » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:13 am

mbiermann wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 2:20 am
So, it looks like 4 is out and available now. I bought 3 a month ago anticipating the free upgrade to 4. I logged in to the shop to download 4 and I am being asked to pay a $99 upgrade fee. What gives?
Hi,

Open eLicenser Control Centre - Actions (tab) - and hit - Maintenance .

you should have the Absolute 3 turning into ABS 4.

thats what I did.

cheers
PC.i7 6850K 4Ghz, 32GB, Palit GeForce GTX 1050,2x1TB SSD UR22MK2 KRK R5 Panorama P6 Cubase 9.5 ABS3 Wavelab ele KOMPLETE 11 ETC.

PinkSodaMusic
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by PinkSodaMusic » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:30 am

Sadly - its true - yes - the poorest of upgrades of ABSOLUTE Collection...
Many will have by now the expansions that have been added to the collection..anyway..

Padshop Pro 2 ....????? really??? whats new???----nothing I can see...

Only GA5 has really been upgraded.

I really think Halion 6.5 or 7 ..if it comes this year should be a free upgrade...OR ....to be honest ..anything added to the ABS4 should be free this year..
I actually dont think many will be upgrading to 4 ...anyway..
If the sales will be poor ...free upgrades will be rolling....so to get more sales....

I was hoping for some sort of drum...string..modeling module to join Halion instruments...
...ohh well...will have more time to spend with NI Reaktor 6 and have fun there...Komplete 12 ULT is Amazing...
PC.i7 6850K 4Ghz, 32GB, Palit GeForce GTX 1050,2x1TB SSD UR22MK2 KRK R5 Panorama P6 Cubase 9.5 ABS3 Wavelab ele KOMPLETE 11 ETC.

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by StefK » Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:09 am

Leonard_A wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:11 am
Over the years I bought most of the absolute plugins and expansion sets individually.
...
Absolutely unfair to customers who already have more the one plugins and/or expansions packs.
Sort it out, Steinberg.
I agree with your view and comments, very poor cost model for users.

On the flip, I kind of like how UAD $offsets the plugins you already own, against bundles purchased that already contain your plugins.
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

BatteryPack
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Central IL
Contact:

Re: Absolute 4

Post by BatteryPack » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:12 am

PinkSodaMusic wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:30 am
Only GA5 has really been upgraded.

I really think Halion 6.5 or 7 ..if it comes this year should be a free upgrade...OR ....to be honest ..anything added to the ABS4 should be free this year..
I actually dont think many will be upgrading to 4 ...anyway..
If the sales will be poor ...free upgrades will be rolling....so to get more sales....

I was hoping for some sort of drum...string..modeling module to join Halion instruments...
Steinberg really messed up with this. The LEAST they could do is give all of us who have owned and upgraded throughout the years to the newest versions, the next updates to HALion for free. This is just really a mind boggling experience.
Why would they think that just throwing in a few expansions that have been out for at least a couple years or longer and adding only GA5 to the Absolute collection justifies even the $100 price upgrade if you own Absolute 3??
It seems like they don't care about the long time customers who have consistently upgraded every year when they put out something new. The first time I didn't upgrade to the newest version of Cubase was ver. 10 and it looks like I might have to continue that if they just keep giving incremental updates to everything - VST's included.
  • Cubase 9.5.2 Pro
    Absolute 3 VST Collection
    Panorama P4
    ATH-M50x
    Live 9.7.6
    Push 2
    Windows 10
    i7 6700HQ
    32GB DDR4 Ram
    256GB SSD
    500GB SSD SAMPLE DRIVE
    GTX 970m 3GB


Post Reply

Return to “VST Sound Instrument Sets and Content Sets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests