Audio Output Malfunction?

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
Tegopole
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Audio Output Malfunction?

Post by Tegopole » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:05 am

Hi there,

I'm reinstalling my Cubase 9 Pro product from my old laptop to my new one. However, while the Audio Outputs notification says it's connected, no sound comes from anything inside the work space.

The speakers are set to Stereo, the device used is RealtekASIO, and the device outputs are HD Audio Outputs 1 / 2.

There are no other options when I click to change the audio device or the device outputs. Can anyone offer a possible solution?

Tegopole
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Output Malfunction?

Post by Tegopole » Thu Jan 03, 2019 9:59 pm

I've tried different possible solutions: restarting the software, updating my drivers, and (trying to) install a driver.

Restarting my software was just a quick check, but nothing was fixed. I may just reinstall the software, but I doubt that would change anything.

I updated my laptop and the drivers within it, but nothing changed.

Lastly, I've tried to import/download the driver I used to use, Realtek HD Audio Driver (instead of Realtek Audio Driver), but my laptop would download it only to delete it after the download. This is strange because I've researched supporting drivers for this laptop, Inspiron 7386, and that driver is supported.

At my last effort alone, I'll try to connect speakers to my laptop and see if that fixes the sound output issue.

If that doesn't work, I'll just continue using my old laptop; but it's life is close to an end, so I don't want to consider that solution.

Please, could someone help me out?

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3540
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Audio Output Malfunction?

Post by Prock » Sat Jan 05, 2019 1:27 am

A thought... try downloading and using the asio4all audio driver.

http://www.asio4all.org/

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Tegopole
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Output Malfunction?

Post by Tegopole » Sun Jan 06, 2019 5:15 am

I cannot show I thankful I am for your help just from typing.

I was ready to give up and see how long my old laptop would last.

Thank you very much!

Vcolborn
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:32 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Output Malfunction?

Post by Vcolborn » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:48 am

Hi, I am having a similar problem. Mine is a little different in that the only output option that is showing up is for the crappy little speakers that are built into my video display. The RealTek HD Audio is not in the list. RealTek works fine Band In a Box and other audio output. I have tried ASIO4All but that does not help, in fact the crappy speakers do not even show up. When attempting to use the latest Steinberg ASIO it just errors out and doesn't switch driver. Any ideas?

Windows 10, CUBase AI 10.0.10 Build 100

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests