HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Frank Seidel
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by Frank Seidel » Mon Dec 03, 2018 2:59 pm

Dear all,

we have released the latest maintenance updates for HALion 6.2.10 and HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15
The update provides new features like HIDPI support, definable bigger macropages and a new player view
for HALion Sonic and HALion Sonic SE, as well as a lots of improvements including a special Dorico fix for HALion Sonic SE.
More details can be found in the version history!
You can download the new version of HALion 6.2.10 and HALion Sonic 3.2.10 via Steinberg Download Assistant.
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/co ... stant.html

HALion Sonic SE can be downloaded from our support page:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/do ... _se_3.html

Version History
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... istory.pdf
Frank Seidel | Product Planning Manager
Vitrual Instruments and Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Beim Strohhause 31
20097 Hamburg

valsolim
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by valsolim » Wed Dec 05, 2018 1:25 am

Hello, Frank,

thank you so much for the new HALion update and also for the announcement! However, on my system (Windows 10 x64, nVidia GTX 950) there is something wrong with the library icons in HALion 6.2.10. Now my library selection window looks like this:
Wrong Custom Library Icons.png
(29.95 KiB) Not downloaded yet
As you can see, most icons are completely invisible and the few visible ones became oddly scaled. I have tested all flavours of HALion (standalone, plugin, VST2 and VST3 version) and this UI glitch is always there. I suspect that the recent HiDPI related changes are responsible for this problem. Can I do anything to overcome it?

I should mention that I do not have a HiDPI monitor.

Best regards
--
Miloslav
Cubase Pro 9.5, Dorico Pro 2, HALion 6, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10, Plogue Bidule, Cognitone Synfire, Celemony Melodyne, MeldaProduction, ToneBoosters, Voxengo, Steinberg MR816csx, Presonus DigiMax FS, ART HeadAmp 6 Pro, IK Multimedia ARC 2, Adam Audio A7X + Sub10, AKG K271 mkII, TC Electronic Konnekt 24D, Steinberg UR22, Audix D2, D4, D6, i5, ADX-51, Sennheiser e614, 2x Shure SM137, Røde NT1-A, DPA 4099 S/U, Roland FC-300, Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX49

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by JMCecil » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:23 am

All of my personal content is gone from the library after the update. Now only the default libraries are shown.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by JMCecil » Wed Dec 05, 2018 2:56 am

I sort of figured it out. It's looking to a file location I was using way back in the H4 days. Is there some kind of preference or configuration migration being done by the installer? I'm basically having to repoint every single library.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by jaslan » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:24 am

I had some "duplicates" like this also. I do think that through the iterations of Halion, the libraries were getting installed in different locations. I had some in the user\appdata folder and some in the program data\Steinberg\vstsound folder.
I used the library manager to move ALL the libraries to the program data folder because that is where the newest installer was putting them. It has not been causing problems.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by jconstantine » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:02 am

Should I need to install the 30 GB content? or it's the same as previous version?
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,Nvidia GForce GT710,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,RME AIO,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2017,Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.8, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Kronos2, Avid Artist Mix,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by JMCecil » Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:29 pm

jaslan wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 3:24 am
I had some "duplicates" like this also. I do think that through the iterations of Halion, the libraries were getting installed in different locations. I had some in the user\appdata folder and some in the program data\Steinberg\vstsound folder.
I used the library manager to move ALL the libraries to the program data folder because that is where the newest installer was putting them. It has not been causing problems.
These are my libraries, not the stock ones. So far I can't delete the wrong entries. Probably because it can't find that location.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Fantacyzer
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:07 am
Contact:

Application Only Installer

Post by Fantacyzer » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:01 pm

With the HALion_6.1.15 update Steinerg provided an Application Only Installer, without the large Content. Could you please do the same for the 6.2 update?

misohoza
Member
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: Application Only Installer

Post by misohoza » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:13 pm

Fantacyzer wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:01 pm
With the HALion_6.1.15 update Steinerg provided an Application Only Installer, without the large Content. Could you please do the same for the 6.2 update?
According to the installation guide you don't need to download the content if you're updating from Halion 6.1.15.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1793
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Application Only Installer

Post by Puma0382 » Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:58 pm

misohoza wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:13 pm
Fantacyzer wrote:
Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:01 pm
With the HALion_6.1.15 update Steinerg provided an Application Only Installer, without the large Content. Could you please do the same for the 6.2 update?
According to the installation guide you don't need to download the content if you're updating from Halion 6.1.15.
Are you assuming this, by reason of it not being explicitly mentioned under 'Update HALion from HALion 6.1.5'..?

Here's what I see:-

Update HALion from HALion 6.1.15:
• Download and open the HALion 6 – 6.2.10 (or higher)
<--- this is the latest app update
Update HALion from HALion 6.1 (or lower):
• Download and open the HALion 6 – 6.2.10 (or higher)
• Download and open the Content Update from HALion 6.0.x - 6.1
<--- listed in the SDA as a 292 MB download

No mention anywhere specifically about 'Content HALion 6.2' - which is what is listed in the SDA as a 30 GB download. What's it got, do I need it, does it update existing content, etc, etc...
Last edited by Puma0382 on Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10, Studio One v4.5.4, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

intarsia
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:02 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Application Only Installer

Post by intarsia » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:26 am

Puma0382 wrote:
Thu Dec 06, 2018 9:58 pm
No mention anywhere specifically about 'Content HALion 6.2' - which is what is listed in the SLA as a 30 GB download. What's it got, do I need it, does it update existing content, etc, etc...
I'm wondering the same thing. Anyone know?

User avatar
Frank Seidel
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by Frank Seidel » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:03 am

Dear all,

With HALion 6.2 and HALion Sonic 3.2 the deliverables are splitted into application installer and VSTsound content.
VSTsound content will be installed by double click on any VSTsound file in a folder OR click open in Steinberg Download Manager
after download has finished.

1. If you already have HALion 6.1.15 or HALion Sonic 3.1.15 installed you only need to download and install HALion 6 - 6.2.10 or
HALion Sonic 3 - 3.2.10. Both are application installers.

2. Content HALion 6.2 and Content HALion Sonic 3.2 is the factory library of the instruments.
You need it for a fresh installation only. We have also renamend the entries in the SDA:
Content HALion 6, Content HALion Soinic 3. Hope this is more clear.

3. Content Update from HALion 6.0.x - 6.1 is for installation lower than HALion 6.1.15 or HALion Sonic 3.1.15
Please install HALion 6.2.10 / HALion Sonic 3 -3.2.10 first. After download the Content Update click on "open" or
double click on any VSTsound file in the download location.

4. Please read also the Installation Guide. It always contains important information.

Thanks
Frank Seidel | Product Planning Manager
Vitrual Instruments and Content
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Beim Strohhause 31
20097 Hamburg

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1793
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by Puma0382 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:00 pm

Frank Seidel wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:03 am
Dear all,

With HALion 6.2 and HALion Sonic 3.2 the deliverables are splitted into application installer and VSTsound content.
VSTsound content will be installed by double click on any VSTsound file in a folder OR click open in Steinberg Download Manager
after download has finished.

1. If you already have HALion 6.1.15 or HALion Sonic 3.1.15 installed you only need to download and install HALion 6 - 6.2.10 or
HALion Sonic 3 - 3.2.10. Both are application installers.

2. Content HALion 6.2 and Content HALion Sonic 3.2 is the factory library of the instruments.
You need it for a fresh installation only. We have also renamend the entries in the SDA:
Content HALion 6, Content HALion Soinic 3. Hope this is more clear.

3. Content Update from HALion 6.0.x - 6.1 is for installation lower than HALion 6.1.15 or HALion Sonic 3.1.15
Please install HALion 6.2.10 / HALion Sonic 3 -3.2.10 first. After download the Content Update click on "open" or
double click on any VSTsound file in the download location.

4. Please read also the Installation Guide. It always contains important information.

Thanks
Ok..! Excellent, that's quite clear now - thank you @Frank Seidel (and HALion team.!)
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10, Studio One v4.5.4, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

blaueswunder
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by blaueswunder » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:25 pm

does halion now work with cubase 10?

Oh Captain my Captn
Junior Member
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:09 pm

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by Oh Captain my Captn » Mon Dec 17, 2018 12:53 pm

Yes

blaueswunder
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by blaueswunder » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:43 pm

nice one!!!!!

Now I only wait because of cubase own bugs for the first maintenance update :)))

Noel1978
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:19 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by Noel1978 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 12:46 am

Installed the update yesterday and now HS3 standalone wont open and my daw crashes when trying to load vst. Even the library manager wont open. :evil:

TN Caver
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by TN Caver » Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:56 pm

Where do I find which version I have installed? The Get Info on my Mac tells me it's HALion 6, version 2.5.10.35. How do I map that to a 6.x.x version?
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Cubase Elements 9.5.10 Build 79 | HALion 6 | NI Komplete 9
Homebrewed hardware: Intel i5-3570 @3.40 GHz, 8G RAM

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3246
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10, HALion Sonic 3.2.10 and HALion Sonic SE 3.2.15 Maintenance Update

Post by jaslan » Sat Jan 26, 2019 10:15 pm

TN Caver wrote:
Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:56 pm
Where do I find which version I have installed? The Get Info on my Mac tells me it's HALion 6, version 2.5.10.35. How do I map that to a 6.x.x version?
I think that is the Standalone version number. Open the program and click on the "Steinberg" symbol and select "About" it should show you the base version and the standalone version there at the bottom.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Roger F
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion 6.2.10

Post by Roger F » Sat Feb 16, 2019 4:46 am

Can't import .HSB or .FXP still Sigh "Files not supported"

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests