Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
samferrari
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:26 am
Contact:

Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by samferrari » Tue Nov 20, 2018 1:47 am

Hey!

Do you guys work with Dolby Atmos in Nuendo?
I'm searching for informations like, needed equipment, room sizes, setups, system requirements, market, etc, etc.
For example, what is the price for an Dolby RMU? It's difficult to find.

Where can I find reliable information? Any idea?


Best!
Sam

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3708
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:04 am

From what I can tell once you get into Atmos for motion pictures the cost is so high you might as well reach out to Dolby directly to get information.

I could be wrong of course.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2445
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Fredo » Tue Nov 20, 2018 8:46 am

Let me Google that for you.
https://www.rspeaudio.com/Dolby-Atmos-S ... s/2276.htm

Nuendo supports Dolby Atmos panning (including heights) without RMU; the only thing you can't do is object based panning.
There is a Theatrical and a consumer RMU; for the Theatrical, your studio needs to be Dolby Certified, the consumer RMU only works for authoring BlueRay.
The RMU requires additional hardware. and of I recall it correctly, it's around 10.000€ ex VAT.

Studio build is another can of worms ....

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3708
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:05 pm

There was a recent update to the software suites though, in September this year. I'm too tired to go through it again but here's the link and there may be something in there that changes something about.... things...:

https://developerkb.dolby.com/support/s ... lable-v3-0
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2445
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Fredo » Tue Nov 20, 2018 3:35 pm

Basically nothing changed, except that you do not have to buy the Dell certified server for running the RMU.
That being said, you still need a solid machine to run the multiple MADI-cards.
(Oh ... they support Dante also now)

Fredo

samferrari
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 1:26 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by samferrari » Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:52 pm

Perfect, Mattias and Fredo. Thanks.

Do you guys already work with Atmos?

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3708
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Nov 23, 2018 5:11 pm

I don't, unfortunately.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Bernhard
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Bernhard » Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:57 pm

No need for an RMU on Nuendo Mac with Production Suite v3:

---> Support for Nuendo with the Dolby Atmos Production Suite via the Dolby Audio Bridge virtual Core Audio driver <-----

128 Objects/Beds, no insert plugins needed

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2445
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Fredo » Sun Nov 25, 2018 1:23 pm

That's nice. Didn't know that.
Are you sure it's only for Mac? Thought that the Production Suite was available on both platforms.

Dunno why, but obtaining clear information from Dolby always seems to be a problem...

Fredo

Hugh
Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Hugh » Sun Nov 25, 2018 10:03 pm

Hello,
Dunno why, but obtaining clear information from Dolby always seems to be a problem...
Ha! That's the understatement of the week!
Calling (name omitted to protect the guilty) directly on his cell, it's still clear as mud.
Hugh

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 410
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by Dog and Pony » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:52 am

Are you sure it's only for Mac? Thought that the Production Suite was available on both platforms.
As of September 25th, Mac only. Which seems really odd.

https://developerkb.dolby.com/support/s ... uirements-
5 systems with N7, N8, Cubase 9.5, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Dolby Atmos in Nuendo

Post by McSound » Wed Dec 12, 2018 2:56 am

They said "have been tested" on that page. And the next article tells about os/browser supporting atmos : windows 10/ microsoft edge .
https://developerkb.dolby.com/support/s ... lby-atmos-
It's clear that it's not clear)
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests