Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
lordExtra
Member
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by lordExtra » Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:35 pm

I don't mind the flat buttons really - for where they make sense. Check this out:

https://www.autodesk.co.uk/content/dam/ ... 0x1080.jpg

This is conceptually perfect. A mix between flatness and depth and most importantly: exactly where it matters.

What turns me off is in Cubase is the 90s-design VST Rack as well as the bloody 3D look of the audio itself, that silly gradient on the clips. The way it looks now is probably 5-6 different GUIs in one. It's still very hard to give it a unified, monochrome look. Sigh.

An instead of making Cubase more pen compatible, they keep making certain things smaller. Great, but where's the benefit to that? Apparently they haven't quite noticed how cheap and large displays became ever since 20 years ago, the very era still visible in vital parts of C10.

An absolute disaster however is the colour system when it comes to automation curves, selections, clip manipulators and so forth. But that's gonna stay one for a while I fear...
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB, AMD FirePro 5100, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10 1903

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:02 pm

currentsound wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:19 pm
Winter Rat wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:53 pm

I don't get how flat style makes sense with Multi-Touch in other words why less flatness doesn't fit Multi-Touch?
Well if you look at Liine Lemur and most DAW control apps they are flat but they are also very small and on small screens like iPads. So if you had Cubase running on a touchscreen laptop, it would imagine it would be easier to click on everything if they were in high contrast and flat. It's more of the high contrast than the flatness. Unlike when you use the mouse, your hand is in the way of the screen all the time so having things high contrast makes it easier to see objects that are partially obstructed by your fingers and the easiest way to make things high contrast to each other is to make them flat.
Thank you. Sounds quite reasonable.
Well if the future of Cubase GUI is newspaper from 1930th I'll stay with 9.5 forever despite all the brilliant features that will be introduced later.
You can call me insane but I really can't work with GUI's like Ableton or StudioOne, I feel depressed. I like pretty much all those plug-ins which emulate hardware compressors, EQ's or just imitate hardware look because they look familiar from the first sight.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by 01w » Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:49 pm

it doesnt look like ableton at all.
even thou Ableton Live looks AWESOME!!
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

User avatar
Faramis
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:44 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Faramis » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:02 pm

too much make-up kills the make-up
win10_1909/Cubase pro 10.5/Wavelab Elements 10.0.5

Ambientdave
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:17 am
Location: Hampshire UK
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Ambientdave » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:45 pm

I like the new look,(well I am easily pleased,ha,ha) :lol:

But noticed there are 4 default colour presets,in Cubase 9.5 you had a lot more.I think overall the look is crisp.Trying out the black theme,its certainly easier to read text and data,personally
I haven't got into the customizing,but had noticed my custom presets,from 9.5 don't work in Cubase 10,not a problem,as I am only tweaking two things

But worth a mention,as I bet there are a lot of people out there with a lot more customized colour schemes,some might be pretty radical too :D
Windows 10 Pro, with Intel i5 340GHz, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD,500GB HDD
External drives : 1TB HDD (storage) 1TB SSD (for the libraries)
Monitors: two 21.5 inch Acer widescreens
Audio interface, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 2nd gen,monitoring through Beyerdynamic DT250 headphones.
Microphone: Rodes NT1A
Midi controllers: Akai MPK249 AND M Audio Oxygen 25,
Software: Cubase Pro 10 (latest version),various sound libraries and plugins

SKlogic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by SKlogic » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:48 am

It is no Ableton! The new cubase Interface is terrible!

User avatar
Anatomix
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Anatomix » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:20 pm

SKlogic wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:48 am
It is no Ableton! The new cubase Interface is terrible!
+100500
Anatoliy Anyn
Home Studio
Moscow, Russia

Kaya Orsan
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 9:41 pm

[Removed]

Post by Kaya Orsan » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:39 pm

[Removed]
Last edited by Kaya Orsan on Sun Nov 17, 2019 1:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vanhaze3000
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by vanhaze3000 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:59 pm

Opinions about DAW GUI'S : all so highly subjective, there will never be a DAW GUI that suits all.
Imho, i really like the new "flatter" GUI of C10 ; way less busy and screamy to my eyes than previous Cubase GUI's

Sidenote: I wonder if this flatter GUI design puts less strain on GPU /CPU than previous GUI ;)

Using a Dell external monitor via Displayport attached to macbook pro retina 2015, medium scaling is used in OSX Display Prefs.
Warm Regards.
Macbook Retina 2015 * OSX Mojave 10.14 (always latest version) * UA Apollo Twin Thunderbolt * Cubase 10 Pro (latest version) * Maschine Studio2 * Novation Impulse * Lots and lots of legal plugins.

fizbin
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:41 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by fizbin » Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:59 pm

shadowfax wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:10 am
Why do they change things that don't need changing?
A cynic might say - "So that it looks like more of an "upgrade" than it actually is."

That, or the folks in the GUI design department need to justify their existence.
Cubase 9.5 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 / 20i18 + OctoPre variously

James K
Member
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by James K » Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:15 pm

Dallon426 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:30 am
Oh man Then you guys will really dislike my color scheme. I for one like it!

12.JPG
Except for the coloured track headers I think it's perfect!
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

ResonantMind
Member
Posts: 949
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:39 am

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by ResonantMind » Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:20 pm

I like the new look. Only place I don't like the colours, is the export window. It should be inverted - bright background, dark text.

Other than that, I like the look, the darker flatter tone makes the audio events stand out more and easier to look at.... less things in the program are pulling at my eyes.

Airyck
Junior Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Airyck » Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:24 pm

First of all I like how Ableton Live Looks so I’m probably biased. I’ve used Cubase since VST 5 days and over the years slowly drifted away from it.

I came back to it with V 9.5 (from 8) and I thought the GUI was a horrible hodgepodge mess with graphics from SX era up to now. It honestly made me regret upgrading because it felt so visually all over the place that it was like working in some incomplete amateur program just slapped together (regardless of its superior features).

Luckily I fell one day inside of the free upgrade to v10. Its much much better IMO. The GUI is starting to have much more cohesiveness and it feels more like the professional program it is.

Flat vector graphics are so much better to me simply due to the fact that they can be scaled and allow for better contrast. I still have very good eye sight and non-vector graphics on retina or 4K displays looks very blurry to me. It messes with my eyes like I can’t focus because the graphics are inherently blurry. Maybe people who already have blurry vision don’t notice or care but it strains my eagle eyes and gives me a headache.

My only gripe is that they haven’t updated 100% of the program to the new flat graphics. When I saw that v10 was mostly graphic and GUI updates I was giving thanks to the Steinberg overlords above who heard my prayers and allowed me to continue our almost 20 year relationship. I just hope they update “ALL” of the program to match.

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Rkmusic » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:09 pm

If cubase looked like ableton I wouldn’t use it. I’m pretty sure it’s a powerful daw
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10.5-Pro Tools 2018

Stache
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Stache » Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:59 pm

It looks 1000000 x better than Ableton but must be honest the workflow is not as fast as Ableton

garymusic
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by garymusic » Tue Dec 04, 2018 7:45 am

I really like the look of Cubase 10. The look of the project window should be carried 100% though the interface. I made the FOCUS a teal color and it stand out nice. I can see at a glance what window is active. I use the right most color theam and looks great.
Cubase Pro 10.5,0, WaveLab Pro 10, Dorico 3.5, MacBook Pro i7, macOS 10.14.6, Apogee Ensenble Thunderbolt Interface, UAD-2 Plugins, Big Ben || Yamaha 01V96V2

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by KDEF2004 » Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:53 pm

Looks great to me.
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 10.0.10, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 11 Suite,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

User avatar
Vendimion
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Vendimion » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:14 pm

Not really fan of this new look...
Cubase 9.5 Pro, UR242 | Win 10, I7-4790K @ 4.00GHz, 16Gb | Code61, Motif XS8

x-pander
Junior Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by x-pander » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:59 pm

I also like the new look. Altho it dosent matter much since it keeps crashing. But at least it looks good!!

User avatar
Dallon426
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by Dallon426 » Wed Dec 05, 2018 10:21 am

ResonantMind wrote:
Fri Nov 30, 2018 6:20 pm
I like the new look. Only place I don't like the colours, is the export window. It should be inverted - bright background, dark text.

Other than that, I like the look, the darker flatter tone makes the audio events stand out more and easier to look at.... less things in the program are pulling at my eyes.
I think Every windows should be configurable. That would be nice
Lenovo Legion y730
Cubase Elements 10.5

garymusic
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Why Cubase 10 looks like ableton why!!!!

Post by garymusic » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:48 am

I would just like every window be consistent. Carry the "focus' lines on every screen. If you pick one color for the background then every screen including the HUB (which I really don't like) be the same same theme. I don't know the coding but they must not share the same code base like a style sheet.
Cubase Pro 10.5,0, WaveLab Pro 10, Dorico 3.5, MacBook Pro i7, macOS 10.14.6, Apogee Ensenble Thunderbolt Interface, UAD-2 Plugins, Big Ben || Yamaha 01V96V2

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jari Junttila, Jazzhands, luhovyr-777, tekno808, tomatoman, wjoyce and 6 guests