Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

All topics on Groove Agent
James K
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:57 pm

auggybendoggy wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:40 pm
I'm about set to buy a drum module. GA sounds good to me and then I heard about Superior Drummer. I went to their site and it's nearly 500.00. Now GA sounds even better. However, EZdrummer is priced closer to GA and but I don't know which is better.

I also agree with everyone, upgrades should be far less expensive than buying outright. I believe upgrades are to keep current customers on your platform. But when it's all the same price, people then start looking at sampletank, EZdrummer, and others. Hell, there's even Sonivox Tony Coleman kits that sounds damn good. Lacks all the fancy stuff but for 19.00 hahaha.

Still I love Cubase and am favoring GA5.
Choose the one that sounds best to you.

The acoustic kits in superior/ez drummer have a different flavour than the GA acoustic kits.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

jimzepellin
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by jimzepellin » Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:18 pm

I'm keeping my money.
If in doubt scream and shout.

Dilim
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Dilim » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:19 pm

jimzepellin wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:18 pm
I'm keeping my money.
+1.
MacPro(2013) Prism Titan, Logic Pro X ,Pto Tools 12, Groove Agent 4, VG2.UAD 2 Quad, TC Powercore.

User avatar
jaesm
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by jaesm » Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:49 am

I don't know. If they throw in one of their $35 t-shirts into the mix... :?
Cubase Pro 10.0.x / UR44 / Windows 10

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 369
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by NoMad92 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:02 am

jaesm wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 4:49 am
I don't know. If they throw in one of their $35 t-shirts into the mix... :?
dedicated to you personally then :D :D :D
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Winter Rat » Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:56 pm

I'm as greedy as they are, so you guess...
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

Niles
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Niles » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:05 pm

My go to drum sample player is GA4 hands down. But I won't upgrade for €99,-
I don't need extra kits or MIDI patterns because I use GA to create those for my own music. ;)
€49,- was an instant buy!

cnk
Junior Member
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by cnk » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:27 pm

Well, €99 is very expensive for an upgrade of a €179 product!
It should be around €49-59...

ruffindajungle
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by ruffindajungle » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:25 pm

Full GA4 owner, gonna pass this for now. Wake me up when you come up with a better offer...
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Erica synth Fusion box, Sh101, Ob-6, Rme UCX, E352 cloud terrarium

Hurmpie
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Hurmpie » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:42 pm

Allright, it's not just me.

Upgrading 3 versions (2 to 5) is only €20 more expensive than from 4 to 5,
by this logic I'll wait for version 7 or buy a complete new license v6 or later and use v4.x on my other computer and still save €20.

Most logical would be: 4 to 5 €45, 3 to 5 €90, 2 to 5 €135.

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Is Groove Agent 5 worth the upgrade?

Post by avviano » Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:12 am

I was very excited to see that Groove Agent 5 was finally released...

But what I have seen so far is disappointing (including the release videos on youtube). New feature(s) don't seem to justify a jump to 5 and given the comments so far, I guess I am not alone in suggesting the price really is too high! Ok, so there is another acoustic kit... I am sure top notch recording and sound. But why force us to buy into another acoustic kit? Not every one needs yet another acoustic kit!

The features don't really seem to blow any one away either... I am trying to make this comment as fair as possible, but it does seem like Steinberg just migrated the sampling feature from Halion to GA. For me the biggest drawback in GA is the Liliput style GUI. It's been mentioned so many times before. It was even printed as a negative review point in a well known Music Magazine. The buttons on both Halion and GA are too tiny!!! The UI is quirky and everything but intuitive. These concerns are simply ignored. The only button that has doubled in size after the release of GA5 is the "Add to Cart" button on Steinberg's new website! Just increase the size of the buttons by 3 mm, that would already help tremendously (same for the button sizes in Halion).

I was hoping that any regrets felt in comparing GA4 with Superior Drummer 3 would have vanished after the release of GA5. Unfortunately - in what I have seen so far - this doesn't seem to be the case at all.

Skinny upgrade for way to high a price! It leaves me wondering: Is this the update users really asked for in Steinberg's latest survey?
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 3 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS-5, Lorenz Acoustic F1-80 (1979!), Win 10

https://www.avviano.com
https://soundcloud.com/avviano

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by avviano » Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:30 am

@ Maggie: The full version of GA 4 is 138 € at Thomann. Considering that there is a grace period for free upgrades to GA5 (for recent purchases of GA4), this makes the the theoretical price difference between the full version of GA5 (138 €) and upgrade (99 €) a total of only 38 €.

If you sold your existing license of GA4 for 80 € on the secondary market a week ago, subsequently bought a new full version of GA4 for 138 € then upgraded for free to GA5 within the grace period, you could have actually gotten the upgrade for 58 €.

That's more like what people would be willing to pay, around 50 to 60 €.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 3 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS-5, Lorenz Acoustic F1-80 (1979!), Win 10

https://www.avviano.com
https://soundcloud.com/avviano

James K
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:56 am

99 Euro to Canadian is $147.85. I'm off the upgrade bus.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Tech-dance » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:57 pm

Agree - way too expensive (unless they are deliberately setting it high now and planning to drop it on Black Friday!) They must think we are all fools!

Elias1957
Member
Posts: 401
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Elias1957 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 7:06 pm

Resizing for me is to resize the buttons too.
The price? Maybe it's correct if you're a Steinberg employee, as a user ... hm ... no.
C10.5 Pro,WL Pro.10 / MacMini 2018 i7 32GB 10.14.6 RME UFX II / MacBookPro 2011 i7 10.13.4 8GB UR44

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by fiddler2007 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 9:53 am

Toontrack: wait 'tll the black Friday week-deals come along, got mine at 40% off i think. You can also find SD2 fairly cheap on Ebay, did that and then upgraded to SD3. Addictive Drums2 is also quite good, simpler to use. XLN also offers 50% off usually one week around Christmas. Drawback is their ONLY online copy protection functionality, why i did not buy the full pack, just one quite good percussion kit. -F

alfie75
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:30 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by alfie75 » Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:13 am

Unfortunately, very disappointing :( !! bought it as impulse buy and a complete waste of money as it should have been a maintenance update. Wish I could get a refund!! :x
2012 MacBook Pro 10.12.3, 16 GB RAM, Cubase 9, Logic Pro X, UAD Apollo Twin, Steinberg CC121, Softube Console 1

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Tech-dance » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:07 pm

alfie75 wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 10:13 am
Unfortunately, very disappointing :( !! bought it as impulse buy and a complete waste of money as it should have been a maintenance update. Wish I could get a refund!! :x
My gut feeling was there was too little to pique my interest for the update price. HALion 6 has live sampling. Just record the samples in Cubase or HALion 6 and import them into Groove Agent 4! We have become so lazy!

40W
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by 40W » Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:02 pm

I purchased GA5 outright feeling I needed more features than GA SE4 offered. So far, I'm not that impressed and would suggest others not to buy or upgrade until you try the demo (if they bother to release one that is).

A few things that bothered me:
> Same dated timestretch algorithm
> GUI resizes but buttons/icons do NOT & remain small
> Wave showing behind envelope should be a default setting (or at least a preference)
> More CPU hungry (buy around 15%) than GA SE4 with the same kit loaded
> States that you can Drag Drop samples from Groove Agent to Cubase but to date cant figure out how and manual doesn't explain either
> And yep that upgrade price. I for one wouldn't have done so at that price. And to think that the competition like Imageline offer free for lifetime upgrades on their flagship DAW. They make Steinberg look like outright greedy and anti consumer.

PS I wish the Groove Agent forums were more lively. It's almost a ghost town over here.
System: Windows 10 64bit [16GB Ram] i7

User avatar
JTRake
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 10:06 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by JTRake » Fri Nov 09, 2018 11:49 pm

Easy. No buy. Money saved :D
HW: Windows 10, Asus z270 Prime Motherboard, i7 7700, 16GB RAM, Nvidia 1070 gpu | RME Babyface | Novation 61SL MKII | Korg padKONTROL
SW: Cubase 9, Studio One 3, Halion 6, VSTi/Plugins from MCDsp, Toontrack, Plugin Alliance, Waves, Spectrasonics, Kush, U-he, Scuffham, Overloud, D16

votive
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by votive » Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:14 am

Not sure steinberg is on point or even being honest with this.

This is seems like a maintenance upgrade rather then a new branch.

User avatar
WTS
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 9:24 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by WTS » Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:17 am

There sure must be many super rich musicians that can afford GA5 . The update is too expensive .

James K
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:20 am

Also I just noticed that it's $99 in American dollars yet Steinberg is charging Canadians $150 Canadian.

Here's the currency conversion rate $99 USD = $130.6355 CAD
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

James K
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Sat Nov 10, 2018 4:27 pm

40W wrote:
Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:02 pm
I purchased GA5 outright feeling I needed more features than GA SE4 offered. So far, I'm not that impressed and would suggest others not to buy or upgrade until you try the demo (if they bother to release one that is).

A few things that bothered me:
> Same dated timestretch algorithm
> GUI resizes but buttons/icons do NOT & remain small
> Wave showing behind envelope should be a default setting (or at least a preference)
> More CPU hungry (buy around 15%) than GA SE4 with the same kit loaded
> States that you can Drag Drop samples from Groove Agent to Cubase but to date cant figure out how and manual doesn't explain either
> And yep that upgrade price. I for one wouldn't have done so at that price. And to think that the competition like Imageline offer free for lifetime upgrades on their flagship DAW. They make Steinberg look like outright greedy and anti consumer.

PS I wish the Groove Agent forums were more lively. It's almost a ghost town over here.
Is there any way you could show us that Groove agent 5 is 15% more CPU hungry than Groove agent se4? A screenshot or a video. This is important to me as Groove agent 4 is already quite CPU hungry. It needs is twice the amount of CPU that Addictive Drums 2 does and a quarter more than ezdrummer.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Gvanas46
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Gvanas46 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:15 pm

Not for me either - just too pricey!!
Very excited to readthere was an update. I'm a loyal Steinberg subscriber since the very first editiion of Cubase and have since gone on to add Halion, Groove agent,Orchestra, songwriter, guitar harmonics...etc I remember the upgrade from GA to GA4 wan't that expensive. Having read the reviews it would appear that GA5 doesnt warrent the upgrade price. perhaps best to miss a generation or look elsewhere? Come on Steinberg...reward your loyal users please dont "USE" them for simple profit gain....if you want to keep us - treat us well, or we'll walk.

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests