VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
bswylie
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:40 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by bswylie » Wed Apr 11, 2018 11:32 am

+1 for me too.

Pro Tools is so much better at this - I'm not a PT user but this is so frustrating not having peak and VU in the same way Pro Tools does - it's a no-brainer.

The other thing I'd like Steinberg to add at the same time is a gain reduction meter next to the Peak/VU meter - again - the same as Pro Tools has. So much more useful (practically, not just visually) than the Cubase metering.

The meters in Cubase look like kids' toys unfortunately - which is strange because I find most other parts of Cubase amazing.

And while I'm on about the topic of the mixer - I don't know if anyone else feels similarly - but I find it a little more difficult than I'd expect to "visually view / align" the inserts and sends down a channel and match to a fader and track name - i.e. visually view the channel from top to bottom. I love the dark look of Cubase but I don't think it would be too hard to add some more visual GUI cues to make it easier to view the entire channel stack. It used to be really easy in the Cubase SX3 era. Maybe there's an option I haven't seen in C9.5.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by alexis » Wed Apr 11, 2018 2:55 pm

The only thing I know of to help with vertical viewing difficulties is to click once anywhere in the vertical channel. That makes it turn a shade of gray that is a *miniscule* bit different, making the vertical channel stand out from its neighbors a *minute* amount.

I'd love to read here about a better way!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Panther
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:33 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by Panther » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:59 pm

ultradust wrote:
Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:02 am
For some engineers, peak meters are of little to no use on channels. When using a console, they tend to look at calibrated VUs and would like to do the same in Cubase. These users would like the ability in Cubase to switch any audio meter between peak reading and VU, or to display multiple meters in thinner lines...
...

Cubase users shouldn't have to buy third-party meters just to get per-channel averaging analysis. It's a fairly basic, fundamental requirement - almost as important as having faders in the mixer.
+1
Things are moving along nicely... if you're not in a hurry to get somewhere.
  • Cubase Pro 9.5.50 on Windows 7 Pro (x64)

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by avviano » Sat May 05, 2018 12:38 am

+1
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 3 (Halion 6). UR-824, Win 10
https://soundcloud.com/avviano

MaxNorman
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by MaxNorman » Sat May 05, 2018 2:30 am

+1
Windows 10 Pro. Asus/Intel 6 core I7. 32Gig RAM. Antelope 32 HD.

okrocks
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 6:05 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by okrocks » Mon May 14, 2018 4:35 pm

+1
TR

ctothel
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by ctothel » Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:12 am

+1

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by djw » Sat Jul 28, 2018 10:30 pm

I would like this too.


bswylie
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:40 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by bswylie » Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:40 am

Revisiting this again - as it has still been bugging me, especially how this should be standard for mixing. I know we mix with our ears - but all the great consoles also have loudness meters, and often peak reduction meters too.

The reason I’m visiting this again - saw the maintenance update recently released, and remembered that Steinberg usually releases their next gen updates annually around November / December (the steps to either point updates or next version - expecting 10 next this year).

To be honest - although I have no idea what will be in the new release, this is one of the few things right now that will make me update. I’m really hoping this will be included, along with some more flexibility in the inserts routing capability for each channel. It is 2018 after all.

Please Steinberg - I will always be a Cubase fan - but I’d really love some improvements in the Mixer department.

User avatar
Faramis
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:44 pm
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by Faramis » Thu Nov 01, 2018 8:40 pm

vu meter/peak meter
+1
win10_1903/Cubase pro 10.0.50/Wavelab Element 10.0.5
Asus B450M-Plus/R7 1700X @3.4ghz/G-Skill ddr4 16gb-2133MHz /Evo 970 M.2 nvme 500gb+Crucial BX500 480gb SSD/MSI gt 710 1gb/Dell 1920x1080/
Umc202hd/Ath-m30x,AV 42,Maschine 2

n0xin
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by n0xin » Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:44 pm

+1

Mr.Greg
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:55 am
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by Mr.Greg » Mon Mar 18, 2019 2:42 am

+ 1!
It’s All About The Flow First

Cubase Pro 9.5.50/Late 2012 MacBook Pro 2.9 Intel Core i7 8GB/MacOS High Sierra/UAD Apollo Twin/Komplete Kontrol S25/Softube Console 1

User avatar
rgrover
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by rgrover » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:49 am

+1

zigzag
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by zigzag » Tue May 28, 2019 3:09 pm

+1

MGil
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by MGil » Fri Jun 07, 2019 7:37 pm

+1
Mac OS 10.13 - Cubase 10; Wavelab 9.5

kjbllc
New Member
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:12 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by kjbllc » Fri Aug 09, 2019 1:15 am

+123
cubase 10, windows 10 64 bit
lexicon u82s

Mrinj1
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 1:44 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by Mrinj1 » Sat Sep 07, 2019 3:08 pm

Just found out that Ableton has this opption. Realy hope that Cubase will come up with it soon

PuclinM
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2017 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: VU meter/Peak meter/both option for all audio channels

Post by PuclinM » Tue Oct 01, 2019 2:24 pm

+1

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests