Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
User avatar
bender-offender
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Contact:

Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by bender-offender » Wed May 23, 2018 3:06 am

There's a bug introduced in 9.5.30 where when you select an audio file in the Audio Pool, hit delete, and it no longer asks you to "remove from pool" or "move to trash". It says that the audio file is used in another pool and cannot be moved to the trash (which it is not and has the correct Path). The file is removed from the Pool but is still in the Audio folder in Finder. See the attached screenshot.

This is a horrible bug because I use Bounce In Place a lot, and since Cubase will bounce all the outputs connected to that instrument (VE Pro in this case) I am stuck with many, many unused and unnecessary audio files filling up my hard drive. Please fix this ASAP.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-05-22 at 7.11.17 PM.png
(25.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-05-22 at 6.57.46 PM.png
(26.11 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by bender-offender on Wed May 23, 2018 3:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
iMac Pro | Cubase 10.5 | Nuendo 10.0.20 | Mac OS Mojave | RME UFX+ | A couple PC slaves | VE Pro 7 | Purple Cape

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5.30 Bug introduced in Audio Pool

Post by compositor » Wed May 23, 2018 3:10 am

I saw that but it was in another Pool unless my understanding is incorrect.

Previously, I had exported selected tracks as referenced files into another project unless it means something else.

User avatar
bender-offender
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by bender-offender » Wed May 23, 2018 3:13 am

My Pool path has not changed. I opened the same project I used yesterday in 9.5.21 and had no problems with deleting files in the Pool. I even created a new, empty project to test and it has the same results.
iMac Pro | Cubase 10.5 | Nuendo 10.0.20 | Mac OS Mojave | RME UFX+ | A couple PC slaves | VE Pro 7 | Purple Cape

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by compositor » Wed May 23, 2018 3:22 am

The whole Pool could do with a complete overhaul in my view, in particular if there are no files why prefix _01 etc after the file; such an arcane way of working and no wonder people talk about products such as Studio One (I hope Presonus and Steinberg are good friends).

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 681
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Wow, 9.5.30 is a terrible update!

Post by AP » Fri May 25, 2018 11:51 am

bender-offender wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 4:08 am
AP wrote:
Fri May 25, 2018 2:11 am
There’s no audio pool issue on my system. Removing and trashing audio files is working.
Are you deleting an audio file straight from the Project window? If so, yes - it does go to the trash. However, if you have unused audio files in the Pool and you hit "delete", a dialog-box appears saying the file cannot be trashed because it's used in another pool.
I deleted files from the project window, in the pool and trash. No issue...
Cubase Pro 10.0.40. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3918
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Wow, 9.5.30 is an update!

Post by Prock » Fri May 25, 2018 11:12 pm

Fyi... no audio pool issues on my PC either. Removing and trashing audio files from the pool works as expected.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.10, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
hjwinge
Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Wow, 9.5.30 is a terrible update!

Post by hjwinge » Sun May 27, 2018 10:37 am

I had a few audiodropouts on .21, and its maybe fixed now. On the other hand, the new bugs in the pool is very serious and need to be fixed asap. So its a tradeoff, you loose some bugs but get new ones in return. Also the hole new DOP needs to be reverted to the old functionallity, but that is a design decicion from Steinberg.
Main studio: Cubase pro 10.0.3, Wavelab 9.5, mac pro middle 2012, saffire pro 40, waves 9, 10 and 11, t-racks, plugin alliance, superior drummer and komplete, and much more. Mackie D8B with probox DAW controller (MCU protocoll and Generic remote)

Classroom 1: imac with Cubase elements 10, saffire pro 40, behringer x32 as DAW controller MCU or MIDI/generic remote
Classroom 2: mac pro 2011, Cubase elements 10.5, protools 11, scarlet 18i20, 3d gen

jessenemitz
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:20 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by jessenemitz » Wed May 30, 2018 8:38 am

Totally agreed... I HATE the loose way direct offline processing works. IT GOES AGAINST EVERYTHING I FEEL ABOUT COMPUTER BASED AUDIO... the way CUBASE worked from 9 pro backward is absolutely fine. There was no reason to make this change. It literally just makes it a complete headache to understand if what I am looking at on the project grid is actually what is stored in the files... i make decisions and stick with them.. I don't want cubase storing millions of lines of XML trash data to make sense of reverting every change possible with wav clips. how ridiculous that they broke the SOLID way cubase used to allow you to keep mental track of your project view wav clips and the files being represented by them. When working with loads of tracks, this was the only way to keep the growing session data from exploding... that and backup project function to clear bad xml data... now to use 9.5 you have to close out and come back to get the same effect as 9.0 just sitting there working as designed...

Steinberg, you need to admit you made a mistake by allowing direct offline processing to fully REPLACE the working audio stem management tools... you need to include BOTH sets of tools that work side-by-side. That is the only way to move forward... otherwise I am stuck at 9.0 until you get your *flower* together.

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1310
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by silhouette » Wed May 30, 2018 10:56 am

No problems so far with audio pool. However agree about DOP.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 10.5 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335x2,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by Carvin Man » Thu May 31, 2018 2:01 am

I do think that the Audio Pool thingyy is mac only... No problem here across 3 Windows 10 computers.

GiovanniB
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by GiovanniB » Thu May 31, 2018 4:15 am

Carvin Man wrote:
Thu May 31, 2018 2:01 am
I do think that the Audio Pool thingyy is mac only... No problem here across 3 Windows 10 computers.
Windows 7 here, and I have the Audio Pool bug, as well as the one of Cubase not asking anymore if I want to delete newly created files of a session I'm not keeping.

Rolled back to 9.5.21 and everything is fine again.

beerbong
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by beerbong » Sat Jun 02, 2018 5:03 am

This is the main concern I have for applying the new patch. I am holding off until I have seen this issue addressed as my Audio Pool is something I can't afford to not working as expected.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

User avatar
Soft_machine
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 10:33 am
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by Soft_machine » Sun Jun 03, 2018 12:12 pm

Windows 7 and I have the Audio Pool bug too.
DAW: Cubase 10.0.40 build 284 (x64), Windows 7/64-bit
PC: Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5GHz, 16 GB RAM, Asus GT610-SL
Converters: RME UC

Additional gear:
Long Stereo Channel preamp, Korg nanoKontrol, Korg KP3+, Yamaha HS8 monitors, Novation mininova, Novation SL61 MK2, Novation launchpad, Yamaha CP-33

User avatar
silviastef
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by silviastef » Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:09 pm

+1. The bug 'used in Another Pool' reproduces here. (and its not used anywhere else - I've just created the file)
Windows 7 64 bit

lokotus
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by lokotus » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:19 pm

+1 this bug exists here too (New Project Cubase 9.5.3 on win10) - I create Audio Click Track which is certainly not used anywhere else and the Audio pool keeps telling me it can not delete those files because they are used in another pool :(( please fix !!!

Igorn
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by Igorn » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:46 am

+1 this bug is here too. And I've experienced it in several different sessions since updating to 9.5.3.

Igorn
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by Igorn » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:47 am

On another note... it's now almost October. This has been a bug since May. What happened to incremental updates Steinberg used to be so good about?

ccrmusic
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by ccrmusic » Fri Sep 21, 2018 9:03 pm

Igorn wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:47 am
On another note... it's now almost October. This has been a bug since May. What happened to incremental updates Steinberg used to be so good about?

I'd be surprised if another update comes out before Cubase 10 which should be around November.
Daw: Cubase 9.5.21
Audio Interface 1: Antelope Audio Zen Studio (USB) (Original 2014 model)
Audio Interface 2: Yamaha N8 Mixer(firewire)
Midi Interface: Edirol - UM-880
Keyboard Controller: Axiom 61 (Original Version)
OS: Windows 10 Pro (Latest Updates)
MB: MSI X99A Gaming 7 (latest Bios Updates)
CPU: Intel Core i7-5820k 3.30 GHZ (no Overclock)
Memory: 32GB - G.Skill Ripjaws 4 series - DDR4 SDRAM 2133 (no overclock)
Graphics Card: Nvidia 720GT - (latest NVidia drivers with the DRIVER ONLY .. Nothing else was installed from NVIDIA)
Hard-drive 1:(C drive) Adata SSD 512GB
Hard-Drive 2:(D Drive) Adata SSD 512GB (Samples & sound Libraries)
Hard-Drive 3:(E Drive) Seagate 2 Terabyte 7200rpm (For Recording/Mixing Projects)

mozart
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by mozart » Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:33 pm

Has this been fixed in 9.5.40. Couldn't see it in the version history.....
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

beerbong
Member
Posts: 798
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by beerbong » Tue Oct 16, 2018 4:23 pm

mozart wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:33 pm
Has this been fixed in 9.5.40. Couldn't see it in the version history.....
thanks for info.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

lokotus
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by lokotus » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:26 am

I would like to know this too, my SSD Harddrive is getting full because I can not delete unused files from the pool. This is getting ridiculous. If somebody assigned a CAN number, this would be cool to have...

User avatar
bender-offender
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by bender-offender » Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:35 pm

mozart wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:33 pm
Has this been fixed in 9.5.40. Couldn't see it in the version history.....
Not 100% sure, but I briefly tried this and it seemed to be fixed (again, not completely sure because this is Steinberg we’re talking about).

However, 9.5.40 seems to have some additional flaws, so in my opinion, I suggest staying with 9.5.21 or move to Logic (which is what I’m doing).
iMac Pro | Cubase 10.5 | Nuendo 10.0.20 | Mac OS Mojave | RME UFX+ | A couple PC slaves | VE Pro 7 | Purple Cape

mozart
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Pool Bug introduced in 9.5.30

Post by mozart » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:49 pm

bender-offender wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:35 pm
mozart wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 2:33 pm
Has this been fixed in 9.5.40. Couldn't see it in the version history.....
Not 100% sure, but I briefly tried this and it seemed to be fixed (again, not completely sure because this is Steinberg we’re talking about).

However, 9.5.40 seems to have some additional flaws, so in my opinion, I suggest staying with 9.5.21 or move to Logic (which is what I’m doing).
Thanks. I'll wait and see what happens with the next hotfix that fixes 9.5.4 to see if it's been fixed :lol:
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests