W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
aptmusic9
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:20 am
Contact:

W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by aptmusic9 » Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:48 pm

Will this have any noticeable impact on performance for Cubase users?

https://www.extremetech.com/computing/2 ... mode-users
Core i7 3930k
ASUS P9X79 PRO
Corsair XMS3 64GB (8x8GB)
Nvidia GT 640
RME HDSPe AIO
Focal Solo 6
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Cubase 10
User of Cubase since Cubase 5.0
http://www.andrewpooletodd.com

msy
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by msy » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:52 pm

Did you test it yourself?

I would also like to know this. I'm still on Win7 but will probably replace it with Win 10 Pro soon.

Ultimate Performance Mode is only available on Windows 10 Pro, which is the "workstation" version of Windows 10. It will not be available on laptops for instance.

I might do some tests on another computer if no one else has any information.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3794
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by Prock » Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:17 pm

msy wrote:
Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:52 pm
Did you test it yourself?

I would also like to know this. I'm still on Win7 but will probably replace it with Win 10 Pro soon.

Ultimate Performance Mode is only available on Windows 10 Pro, which is the "workstation" version of Windows 10. It will not be available on laptops for instance.

I might do some tests on another computer if no one else has any information.
I don't see a "Ultimate Performance Mode" available on my Win 10 Pro. Pretty sure it only available on Windows 10 Pro for Workstations which (I thought) was a separate version from Windows 10 Pro.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

msy
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by msy » Sat Feb 24, 2018 3:06 pm

I have Win10 Enterprise ready for installation, which I guess might contain the right version. Not sure though.. cant find a real explanation from MS.
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

msy
Member
Posts: 325
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by msy » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:08 pm

Just wanted to chime in on this one more time.
Windows 10 Pro for Workstation will NOT bring anything better for DAWs. Atleast if you don't have Xeon CPU's (read the article below).
It's focus is on other things like a new filesystem (ReFS), filesharing and hardware support.

https://blogs.windows.com/business/2017 ... kstations/
Cubase Pro 9.5.41 on Windows 7 using jBridge for 32bit plugins
HALion 6.3
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200
DAW: Intel Core i7 4790K @ 4.6 GHz |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Geforce 460Ti
Computer related hardware: UAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Lead 4, Eurorack (12U) via ES3/ADAT

Archost
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:10 pm
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by Archost » Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:59 pm

I have tested that performance governer with Windows 10 Insider preview, but there are no noticeable improvements.

mixtur
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2015 2:53 pm
Contact:

Re: W10 "Ultimate Performance Mode"

Post by mixtur » Fri May 04, 2018 1:25 am

Basically, "Ultimate Performance Mode" makes sure the OS is running the "Always On" powerscheme. That´s more or less it.
Just set it up this way yourself and save a few bucks on a less expensive version of windows.

Preliminary results suggests that the overall performance gain is negligible. However, the goal was really to reduce micro-latency so a real-time audio process could potentially benefit from reduced drop-outs etc. Again, just change your power scheme.

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest