How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by Martijn70 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 10:56 pm

I am looking for a way to randomize my fx plugins.

In Ableton this is possible with the device randomizer so I was wondering how can this be done in Cubase.

For instance randomize the feedback (within a certain area) of a delay plugin or any other parameter on any fx plugin.
Is there a way to do this in Cubase?

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by NoMad92 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:07 pm

you can use the midi plugin "autolfo" but it's not very user friendly because you have to know the midi cc of the controller you wanna randomize (so any vst that doesnt support midi automation wont work).

and you cant automate more than 4 controllers as there are only 4 slots in the midi plugins insert.
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by soundpeaks_net » Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:18 pm

Yeah, no such thing in Cubase. I think it is possible as some built in exclusive DAW feature, but it is not a VSTi standart.
You can draw some random curves in automation lines fields.

For example to replace FL Studio's patcher, I draw different lines for different parameters for envelopes of an VSTi, than render selection and put it into sampler.

Or you can search VSTi that has built in randomization, Massive has it or Atlantis.
Randomness for delay/reverb feedback, I doubt it has some artistic value though. If feedback in delay goes under 0 and than back to 100 you will hear nothing, the delay's buffer is empty now because feedback was near 0.

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by Martijn70 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:17 pm

NoMad92 wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:07 pm
you can use the midi plugin "autolfo" but it's not very user friendly because you have to know the midi cc of the controller you wanna randomize (so any vst that doesnt support midi automation wont work).

and you cant automate more than 4 controllers as there are only 4 slots in the midi plugins insert.
Thanks for the answer does not sound very user friendly butI will try the auto lfo.

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by Martijn70 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:20 pm

soundpeaks_net wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:18 pm
Yeah, no such thing in Cubase. I think it is possible as some built in exclusive DAW feature, but it is not a VSTi standart.
You can draw some random curves in automation lines fields.

For example to replace FL Studio's patcher, I draw different lines for different parameters for envelopes of an VSTi, than render selection and put it into sampler.

Or you can search VSTi that has built in randomization, Massive has it or Atlantis.
Randomness for delay/reverb feedback, I doubt it has some artistic value though. If feedback in delay goes under 0 and than back to 100 you will hear nothing, the delay's buffer is empty now because feedback was near 0.
I really need it for effects because I want to cange for instance the feedback between 40 and 70% of the feedback so no drastic results just to make things a little bit less static and add some more variaton

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by soundpeaks_net » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:00 pm

Draw automation, no other options. Plus this way of randomization doesn't give you steady result. Sometimes it can have good results, sometimes not. Every audio mixdown gonna be different.

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by Martijn70 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:39 pm

Draw automation is possible but with randomize options (plugins) you can easier look for happy accidents and take these things out and use that instead of drawing automation.

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by NoMad92 » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:35 pm

If 3rd party plugins is OK for you, then Cableguys Midishaper (24€) is an "autolfo" but better...
you can use common shapes (sine, square, ramps...), and random shapes.
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by Martijn70 » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:21 pm

Thanks I will checkout the Cableguys midishaper

wxyz
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 19, 2011 8:26 pm
Contact:

Re: How to randomize Fx Plugins

Post by wxyz » Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:41 pm

You could use a modular vst

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests