Add the ability to assign to a single controller, multiple parameters.

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Add the ability to assign to a single controller, multiple parameters.

Post by aitte » Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:31 pm

Starts at 45 seconds in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTD-F6cMgvc

EDM producers need to control tons of parameters simultaneously to create risers, tension and release, etc.

Ableton really nails that with its Rack Macros, which let you control multiple parameters from 1 knob, and then you simply automate that single knob to do it all in a single automation lane (rather than 10 lanes!). Cubase has nothing like it. :cry:

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by omniphonix » Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:26 pm

I feel like this should be an easy one, just make VST Quick Controls and Track Quick Controls able to be mapped to multiple parameters.
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 64GB DDR4 3200 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT76 9SG | Core i9-9900K | 64GB DDR4 2666 | RTX 2080 8GB | 2x PM981 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 | 860 QVO 2TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by aitte » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:24 pm

omniphonix wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:26 pm
I feel like this should be an easy one, just make VST Quick Controls and Track Quick Controls able to be mapped to multiple parameters.
That's a great idea! Something like this:

- Add "Multi-Control" as an option in the target dropdown menus for VST/Track Quick Controls.
- When chosen, bring up a special window which lets us select multiple target parameters, ranges, directions and bezier curves (linear 1:1, curved, etc). To completely configure exactly how the multi-control controls all those parameters.
- Let us name the multi-control manually, such as "Filter Tension" or whatever, so that we can later recognize what it's for.
- Add a special button next to any control mapped to "Multi-Control", which brings up the editor window again to let us tweak those mappings.

Please Steinberg, think about it... this would be amazing! :o

hesca116
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by hesca116 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:36 pm

omniphonix wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:26 pm
I feel like this should be an easy one, just make VST Quick Controls and Track Quick Controls able to be mapped to multiple parameters.
+1

aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by aitte » Wed Nov 29, 2017 11:15 pm

hesca116 wrote:
Tue Nov 28, 2017 5:36 pm
omniphonix wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 9:26 pm
I feel like this should be an easy one, just make VST Quick Controls and Track Quick Controls able to be mapped to multiple parameters.
+1
+1 from this guy too, 7Skies (known producer):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uivZ0WxrBGA

At 6:20, he speaks about multi-parameter macro knobs and that they were a large reason for him to move to Ableton Live.

Please @Steinberg, help us out! :o

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by tepa » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:55 pm

Midi Macro are present in many virtual synth and sampler, it's a very powerfull tool for so many area, it's not limited to EDM ;)

Sure the one in Ableton is great.
Add easy/fast step Midi Macro into Quick Control would be very nice.

+1 for Midi Macro feature
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by WellBassd » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:29 am

Yes, this is very important

and there should be a feature like this in Cubase

They need to code a whole set of modulators to be able to rise to the level people need Cubase at

LASERJAKK
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:26 am
Location: Brasil
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by LASERJAKK » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:19 pm

+1 Good Idea

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1672
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by mozizo » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:12 pm

+1
looks like nice idea for easy and fast workflow
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by aitte » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:53 pm

:-) I wonder if Steinberg listens.

N_K
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by N_K » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:17 am

+1

For comparison, the way grouping and macros work in Live is very convenient, M4L takes it even further, and controlling multiple parameters (anywhere in the project) is possible in FL as well with Dashboard etc. 



Though, it must be said, modularity like that can get complex fast. In a big Live project with many custom M4L controls, or the equivalent in FL, it becomes easy to forget how and why all the links and dependencies were set.

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by ANeeman » Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:37 pm

+1

It should be simple to develope this, I guess. ;)
I imagine that any controller can be linked to any VCA slider and you can link any count of controls to one VCA slider.
Maybe Steinberg developers can do more and better than any other DAW's devs - I mean any controller can be linked to any other controller. And then we need a window of map to see visually what is linked to where.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.3.0, HSO, Native Instruments: KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collectors Edition
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by aitte » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:37 am

Well if this is added, we need a window to properly choose the destinations, direction, and strength for each target parameter. So for example "Filter Cutoff: Positive, Linear, 30% strength", "Reverb Mix: "Negative, Curved, 80% strength" etc. That way, moving the "multi" quick control up, would raise the filter at a positive strength of up to 30%, and would lower the reverb negatively up to 80%.

Properly setting up the targets like that would let us move a knob and get the exact results we want. This would be so awesome. It could sit under Cubase's existing Quick Controls area.

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by soundpeaks_net » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:05 pm

Yes, I am praying fore this feature appear in Cubase. To modulate more than one parameter with one rotary.

And also if you select more than one MIDI track, Cubase shoud pass CC controls to next track. It sohuld be mandatory. I don't get why I can play few VSTi but I can not send CC message to few of them.
I would like to be able to control few Quick controls with one rotary without messing and duplicating Generic Device.

elchoco000
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:15 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by elchoco000 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:11 am

and there is no workaround for this at the moment?

i've read some things about "device panel" and "generic device" or something like that ... but haven't found a step by step to achieve with something like FM8 for example, is there a way?

aitte
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 12:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by aitte » Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:53 pm

elchoco000 wrote:
Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:11 am
and there is no workaround for this at the moment?

i've read some things about "device panel" and "generic device" or something like that ... but haven't found a step by step to achieve with something like FM8 for example, is there a way?
Good question... Where have you heard this? Does anyone know if there's a workaround?

Stealth
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by Stealth » Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:27 pm

aitte wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:53 pm
Does anyone know if there's a workaround?
You can assign 2 parameters to 1 midi controller knob/slider with the Generic Remote. But you can't do more than 2 and you can't assign percentages of amount like in Ableton Live.

As an EDM producer I've been requesting this feature for years! If Steinberg just added this feature to the Quick Controls Cubase would pretty much be the perfect DAW for EDM production IMO.

Its sad seeing big name EDM producers who were Cubase power users like Virtual Riot and Deniz Koyu (now KO:YU) abandon Cubase for Ableton...
Last edited by Stealth on Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, OSX Mojave 10.14, Cubase 9.0.4

Electrochimp
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by Electrochimp » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:39 am

+1
This feature really is a must in this day and age (should really have been present from about 5 years ago, but hey, steiny can still get the finger out and catch up with Ableton in this regard). Abletons implementation of this feature is perfect, and incredibly powerful, especially with being able to specify the range of the control knob for each parameter.
Unfortunately you can find a thread on this forum from 2015 requesting the exact same thing with a long list of replys with "+1s" and "me too's" after it and still nothing. It seems like such an obvious and powerful feature to implement that I wonder if there is some code issue within the program that has prevented them from including it. Would be an easy win for any update. C'mon steinberg, its clear that a large prortion of your customers would love this feature by virtue of the fact that many people have posted here since 2015 requesting the exact same thing - why not? I still use Ableton mainly but could see me shifting to cubase more permanently rather than for occasional projects if this feature was present and fluently implemented like ableton.

Stealth
Member
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by Stealth » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:28 pm

Electrochimp wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:39 am
Unfortunately you can find a thread on this forum from 2015 requesting the exact same thing with a long list of replys with "+1s" and "me too's" after it and still nothing.
Yup.
viewtopic.php?f=228&t=69761
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014), 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, OSX Mojave 10.14, Cubase 9.0.4

User avatar
soundpeaks_net
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by soundpeaks_net » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:01 am

Yeah, Cubase is pretty a place where are no "dead" place now, click anywhere and you will activate something. But Automation and Macros are maybe the most demanded things here. They did it with an automation, now it's perfect to me (despite virgin territory still sucks), now I am waiting hard for Macros rotaries!

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by tepa » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:53 pm

aitte wrote:
Fri Jan 05, 2018 9:53 pm
elchoco000 wrote:
Mon Jan 01, 2018 1:11 am
and there is no workaround for this at the moment?

i've read some things about "device panel" and "generic device" or something like that ... but haven't found a step by step to achieve with something like FM8 for example, is there a way?
Good question... Where have you heard this? Does anyone know if there's a workaround?
If you are on PC you can use MIDI-OX for free, there is Plogue Bidule to macro control or some other stuff like Lemur with surface control but they are not free.
Now my easier/simple/faster way workaround (not free) is to macro with Remote Control from Blue Cat's Audio where you can assign up to 64 parameters in a macro control, each parameter have his own range, the ability to inverse, to curve/speed independently....
Not as clear and simple as is should be with a so welcome feature like a macro command in quick control but at least iam able to do what i want.
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

Egoadsr
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by Egoadsr » Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:51 pm

Oh yes nice suggestion, why not add another logical editor, the "automation control logical editor" within you can assign multiple control destination to one button, within you'll be able to create complex inter-modulated parameters. Like the range ( 0-127), if you want that your control is linked with your parameter ( control at 64, parameters at 64 ), some booleans operators, and an offset like function, i mean if your parameter is already driven by a range control and set to 80, you can assign another control to adjust the offset positive and/or negative, like +10 offset, so that your controlled will be min 80 and max 90... and maybe a way to link with auto LFO, note to CC midi inserts, curve mapping.
Last edited by Egoadsr on Fri Jan 19, 2018 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase v9.5 + some plugs +a soundcard + midi controllers + little guitars + a pair of M-audio BX5d3 + some good headphones + a good laptop to run Cubase ( this mythological sound software that make me believing when i was young it was an excalibur made by the gods of sound ).

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by tepa » Fri Jan 19, 2018 12:24 am

Yes Logical Editor is a powerful tool, i was using it for CC range automation, but i discovert a simple and so much faster way to assign, midi learn and config my CC midi into a macro command for multiple track (midi instrument and FX instrument) in one place. But in fact I still have some problems.

The problem with my last solution is that it need midi to control vst, so if an insert FX have no midi implantation, like my UAD plug (and many other FX Vst) i would not be able to control them in a macro.
Quick Control can easily control those few FX Vst like UAD inside my track but limited only to 1 track at a time, maybe make Quick Control behave like the Logical Editor with the function "Off/Global/Local" would be a good beginning.

Actually iam looking into Generic Remote in Devices setup trying a way to control multiple Insert FX at the same time.... But as i see Generic Remote don't have range CC value except maximum, i fear that i will have a limitation on that side, but iam into it just for few days...

For sure it would be so nice if Steinberg improve their Quick Control into something all in one to macro control for multi track with the ability to edit the range, the curve, etc... because i don't think that UAD and other company will update their plug with midi control compatible in the near future. And actually, from what i know, only Quick Control can "midi" control them with a single click learn.
Nuendo 10 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i9-9900K 4.8 Ghz / RAM 32G / RME UFX / RME FF800 / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

Evertone
Member
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by Evertone » Tue Jan 23, 2018 6:50 pm

+1
Even though I don't create EDM, I can see this being very useful.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

patcub
Member
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: The #1 Missing EDM Feature in Cubase

Post by patcub » Fri Jan 26, 2018 11:53 pm


Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests